Could not find path to your former board.

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
Get Involved
Locked
Bunnes
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:50 am

Could not find path to your former board.

Post by Bunnes »

Thank you for your support and this great piece of code!

We run a 2.0.20 phpBB and want to upgrade to 3.0.

The 2.0 forum is at http://domain.tld/community/ - the new one is currently at http://domain.tld/phpBB3/
Everything installed fine, but the conversion troubles us:
Board path:
This is the relative path on disk to your former board from the root of this phpBB3 installation.
we tried all of the following:

../community/
../community
./community/
./community
/community/
/community
community/
community
/web/<full path on server>/domain.tld/community

but ALL variations generate the same Error:
Could not find path to your former board. Please check your settings and try again.
The DIR "community" is a real, existing dir, no symbolik link or anything "unusual".

What has to be done?

Cheers,
B.

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by karlsemple »

Are both forum folders in the web root or lower in the directory tree?
Image

BrianMcBohne
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:24 am

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by BrianMcBohne »

I have the same problem:

phpBB2 is installed in: http://host.mydomain.com, the new phpBB3 has been installed in http://host.mydomain.com/v3/, webroot is /www or /www/v3. i've tried any combinations, like:

..
../
../../www/
../../www

nothing works.

can anyone help me please?

Marcbrz
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 6:32 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by Marcbrz »

Convert in same host AND local host with same settings ..... result:

All releases convert fine except Gold in my case. Download a new copy and same result.

Board Path error.

Could not find path to your former board. Please check your settings and try again.
» ../xxxx was specified as the source path.


Need a hint

Tks

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69612
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by KevC »

What are the real addresses of the two boards?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Marcbrz
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 6:32 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by Marcbrz »

Ok, I can do that using ../../forum_name

Tks a lor

somedevilguy
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by somedevilguy »

i've been having the same problem as the first user on this subject.

i can't seem to point my Board Path to the right direction even though I know I am.

I'm going from http://www.marcblackwellphotography.com/lucas/board/ to http://www.marcblackwellphotography.com/phpBB3/

so i point it to: /board
or /lucas/board
and nothing works.

i get this error message:
Could not connect to the database, see error message below.
No error message given.

all my settings are correct...the same as i put in when i installed the board. it works perfectly but i need to merge it with the older version.

thanks for your help in advance,
peace.
-marc

somedevilguy
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by somedevilguy »

i also tried ../board
and that doesn't work.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69612
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by KevC »

somedevilguy wrote:so i point it to: /board
or /lucas/board
and nothing works.
You need
../lucas/board

The ../ means go back one directory so you have to go back out of /phpBB3 before you can go forward into the lucas and board folders.

Also check the info is correct. It's asking for phpBB2 info, most of which is n the phpBB2 config.php file.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

somedevilguy
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by somedevilguy »

ok, i tried that and it thought for a while then took me to a blank page.
what does that mean?

i've tried all my dsn's too.

phpnube
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:25 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by phpnube »

So can we not convert a forum on a different server? It has to be phpbb2 to phpbb3 on the same server? I was hoping to convert my old websites phpbb2 board to a phpbb3 board with all the same comments and posts. Any light shed on the subject would be helpful.
Thanks.

somedevilguy
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by somedevilguy »

i think i got it figured out.
thanks.

somedevilguy
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by somedevilguy »

i lied. now i'm getting a 500 internal error message.
ahhhhhhhh...what is that??

BrianMcBohne
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:24 am

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by BrianMcBohne »

i got it working with a really dirty hack:

the converter looks for the file "modcp.php". i just commented out all php statements in the index_convert.php, checking for that file.

then, the converter runs perfectly.

hope, that helps.

silbertanne
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:03 pm

Re: Could not find path to your former board.

Post by silbertanne »

I've got the same problem. Al RC's were working fine for me, only this one is giving me headaches.

http://forum.domain.tld/
was the phpbb2 and now phpBB3 is:
http://forum.domain.tld/phpBB3

So i figured it must be

Code: Select all

../phpbb3
or else

Code: Select all

../
but the converter thinks otherwise... any idea's?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Convertors”