Help converting webwiz 7.9 (ASP) to phpBB 3.0

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
Suggested Hosts
smudgeroo

Help converting webwiz 7.9 (ASP) to phpBB 3.0

Post by smudgeroo »

I am currently using webwiz 7.9 - which is an ASP based forum , but i will soon be moving the website to a PHP server, and would like to move to phpBB 3.0.x

is it possible to keep all my old posts / member accounts ?
AllenTriumph

Re: Help converting webwiz 7.9 (ASP) to phpBB 3.0

Post by AllenTriumph »

Don't know whether this is too late for you, but I recently converted my old Web Wiz forum to phpBB2 then upgraded to phpBB3.
If you still want help then I'll try and take you through it in layman's terms (I am a layman).
BritInVA

Post by BritInVA »

I'm also in process of moving from Web Wiz 3.9 (MS Access) to phpBB. Its a very small Community HOA site. Appreciate any guidance on how to do this too.

Thanks,
Mark
AllenTriumph

Post by AllenTriumph »

Okay. A few things before you start:
1. You need to set aside a clear day to make sure you can concentrate on the task at hand. You will need to take your Web Wiz forum offline while you do the conversion so that no posts are made during the time you are working.
2. You need to have full admin access to your SQL databases on your new phpBB forum server and a tool called phpMyAdmin. This is so you can import the old Web Wiz database tables into the new one.
3. You need to be able to download the Access database file from your existing forum to your PC and preferably be able to open it and modify it with Access or some compatible tool.
4. You need a tool to convert your Access db to a MySQL db. The tool I used was from Intelligent Converters (www.convert-in.com) for which I paid $29 - it was worth it, I wasted hours with a free one that didn't work properly.