After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.3.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Harry_Harry
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Name: Harry Freeman

After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Harry_Harry »

Hello!
After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly. I show a screenshot.
Attachments
tab_wrong.png
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18446
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by david63 »

I believe that is normal behaviour if all the tabs cannot be displayed on the screen width. Try making your screen display wider.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
Harry_Harry
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Name: Harry Freeman

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Harry_Harry »

david63 wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 11:38 am
I believe that is normal behaviour if all the tabs cannot be displayed on the screen width. Try making your screen display wider.
I don’t quite agree as there was no such thing in 3.3.0.
Attachments
tab_right.png
Last edited by Harry_Harry on Sat Aug 08, 2020 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18446
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by david63 »

Harry_Harry wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 11:45 am
I don’t quite agree as there was no such thing in 3.3.0.
There is (just tested it) - and as far as I can recall this has been the case since phpBB 3.1
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
Harry_Harry
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Name: Harry Freeman

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Harry_Harry »

There is (just tested it) - and as far as I can recall this has been the case since phpBB 3.1
I'm sorry, but I've never had this before.
Harry_Harry
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Name: Harry Freeman

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Harry_Harry »

Up to 3.3.1 container

Code: Select all

<div class="pointer">
   <div class="pointer-inner"></div>
</div>
always closed like this and not after the menu

Code: Select all

<div class="pointer">
   <div class="pointer-inner"></div>
     <ul class="dropdown-contents dropdown-nonscroll"....  
</div>
Mellx1
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:45 am

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Mellx1 »

Just update my board to 3.3.1,yeah the dropdown style is not good.
Get Unlimited Google Drive Storage. This is not a Team/Shared Drives.
Tread
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:52 pm

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Tread »

Not really hard to fix :roll: its an typo max should be min-width
acp.png
User avatar
GIK-Team
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 4:49 pm
Name: Georgii Leoshko
Contact:

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by GIK-Team »

The problem is similar in the main template:
2020-08-08_233345.png
Harry_Harry
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Name: Harry Freeman

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Harry_Harry »

So far I came up with it. I did it like that. Just no hassle. Let's see what will happen next.
In file
phpBB/adm/style/admin.js
in the tab management function

Code: Select all

/**
* Responsive tabs
*/

Code: Select all

item = ul.append('
<li class="tab responsive-tab" style="display:none;">
   <a href="javascript:void(0);" class="responsive-tab-link">&nbsp;</a>
   <div class="dropdown tab-dropdown" style="display: none;">
      <div class="pointer">
          <div class="pointer-inner" /></div>
      </div>
<ul class="dropdown-contents" /></div></li>
').find('li.responsive-tab'),
Just added second tag </div> after closed block <div class="pointer-inner" /></div>

In the end, this is how it happened: <div class="pointer-inner" /></div></div>


I understand that this is not entirely true, but it works ;)
User avatar
HaioPaio
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:39 pm

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by HaioPaio »

I would appreciate a response from the development team if this is either a known an tolerated problem or a new and surprising behaviour.
Both reasons would be acceptable to me, other than "silence" and "smart" behaviour.
User avatar
GIK-Team
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 4:49 pm
Name: Georgii Leoshko
Contact:

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by GIK-Team »

Harry_Harry wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:03 pm
Just added second tag </div> after closed block <div class="pointer-inner" /></div>

In the end, this is how it happened: <div class="pointer-inner" /></div></div>


I understand that this is not entirely true, but it works ;)
I did the same, but without the backslash ;)

Code: Select all

<div class="pointer-inner"></div>
And twice in
/styles/prosilver/template/forum_fn.js
Line: 462
Line: 816
Harry_Harry
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Name: Harry Freeman

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Harry_Harry »

GIK-Team wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:09 pm
Harry_Harry wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:03 pm
Just added second tag </div> after closed block <div class="pointer-inner" /></div>

In the end, this is how it happened: <div class="pointer-inner" /></div></div>


I understand that this is not entirely true, but it works ;)
I did the same, but without the backslash ;)

Code: Select all

<div class="pointer-inner"></div>
Hi!
This is it works and it's good. All perfectly! I am sure they and we will find a why in the future if strong need be. 8-)
User avatar
GIK-Team
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 4:49 pm
Name: Georgii Leoshko
Contact:

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by GIK-Team »

Harry_Harry wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:26 pm
Hi!
This is it works and it's good. All perfectly! I am sure they and we will find a why in the future if strong need be. 8-)
Yes, this will definitely be fixed in the future, but we somehow need to live now. It is one thing when it is in the administrative part, and quite another when it affects users of our sites.
Tread
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:52 pm

Re: After upgrading from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 in ACP, the tab began to work incorrectly

Post by Tread »

The issue is they used max-width it should be min-width ;)
Post Reply

Return to “[3.3.x] Support Forum”