After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.3.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Alfa967
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:06 pm

After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by Alfa967 »

Hi, I upgraded from 3.3.0 to 3.3.1 and I have mobile problems with the drop-down menus of posts not opening. It is impossible to modify, quote, etc.
Same problem in the PCA.
How to solve? Thank you
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18568
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by david63 »

David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
Alfa967
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:06 pm

Re: Dopo l'aggiornamento a 3.3.1 ho problemi con i menu mobili

Post by Alfa967 »

david63 wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:41 am
Known bug - https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-16568
Completely solved the problem. Thank you.
Swanny
Registered User
Posts: 457
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 2:11 am
Location: Canada

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by Swanny »

I was also having this problem, I thought it was just me until I got here. Glad to see I didn't do anything wrong and it's a known issue. I applied the fix and we're good again. Thanks!!
User avatar
mamba
Registered User
Posts: 538
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Australia

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by mamba »

Is everyone having this problem, or only some people?

Back when I worked as a systems analyst in IT, we used to do an old-fashioned thing called "testing".
Using 3.3, PHP version 7.4, MySQL 5.6, Host: HawkHost shared Linux, Style: Prosilver
User avatar
ssl
Registered User
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:15 pm
Location: France
Name: Fred
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by ssl »

Hi
Everyone. If you want to solve it, look here : https://github.com/phpbb/phpbb/pull/6033/files
Sorry for my English ... I do my best!
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18568
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by david63 »

mamba wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 3:09 am
Back when I worked as a systems analyst in IT, we used to do an old-fashioned thing called "testing".
And phpBB still does - it's called Release Candidate versions which members are asked to test - anyone can join in
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
mamba
Registered User
Posts: 538
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Australia

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by mamba »

david63 wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:51 am
And phpBB still does - it's called Release Candidate versions which members are asked to test - anyone can join in
Then how did an enormous and obvious bug like this get through? I mean, a few minutes testing this and it's apparent to anyone. How can you call this a tested version?

There's been a trend towards releasing lightly tested versions lately. It's not a good trend
Using 3.3, PHP version 7.4, MySQL 5.6, Host: HawkHost shared Linux, Style: Prosilver
User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 16052
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milano 🇮🇹 - Frankfurt 🇩🇪
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by 3Di »

mamba wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 11:43 pm
Then how did an enormous and obvious bug like this get through? I mean, a few minutes testing this and it's apparent to anyone.
Because we missed you as a tester, unfortunately. :P
To request support for our extensions you can also contact me here: phpBB Studio

Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you! 🚀
User avatar
ssl
Registered User
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:15 pm
Location: France
Name: Fred
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by ssl »

mamba wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 11:43 pm
Then how did an enormous and obvious bug like this get through? I mean, a few minutes testing this and it's apparent to anyone. How can you call this a tested version?

There's been a trend towards releasing lightly tested versions lately. It's not a good trend
Because no one is perfect!
Sorry for my English ... I do my best!
User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 16052
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milano 🇮🇹 - Frankfurt 🇩🇪
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by 3Di »

The explanation is simple.
After the first round of testing with version 3.3.1-rc1 there was also an update of JQuery from 3.4.1 to 3.5.1.

The change was incorporated directly into the final version like many others, there was no 3.3.1-rc2 version to test.

These are the drawbacks of the last few moments' safety fixes. So we take our toys and keep having fun, nothing happened. ;)
To request support for our extensions you can also contact me here: phpBB Studio

Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you! 🚀
User avatar
mamba
Registered User
Posts: 538
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Australia

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by mamba »

The explanation makes sense, it's typical of the sort of thing that happens in IT. Should have been caught, but whatchagonnado?

But guys, if this were a paid software, like vBulletin, heads would have to roll. :shock: The paying customers would make sure of that (ask me how I know, lol)
Using 3.3, PHP version 7.4, MySQL 5.6, Host: HawkHost shared Linux, Style: Prosilver
User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 16052
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milano 🇮🇹 - Frankfurt 🇩🇪
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by 3Di »

But this isn't paid-for software. :ugeek:
To request support for our extensions you can also contact me here: phpBB Studio

Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you! 🚀
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21670
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by RMcGirr83 »

mamba wrote:
Fri Aug 14, 2020 1:56 am
But guys, if this were a paid software, like vBulletin, heads would have to roll.
vBulletin had multiple security issues in the past that weren't cured for months so your statement is a falsehood. Just because something costs more than something else doesn't mean it's necessarily better.
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68279
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: After updating to 3.3.1 I have problem with mobile menus

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

not sure where you worked in IT but it must not have been in software testing.

just think about microsoft and their release policies in the past to see how software releases very often work out.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Post Reply

Return to “[3.3.x] Support Forum”