Changing Colors CSS files

For support and discussion related to templates and themes in phpBB 3.3.
Revelle

Changing Colors CSS files

Post by Revelle »

Hi! I'm new to coding and very frustrated right now. I never thought it'd be so difficult to change a hover color. Honestly, every time I've tried to edit a css file's colors.... nothing has changed. I'm so confused as to why I'm able to change a bunch of html colors (for extentions, themes, etc.) and nothing translate to the site. I even followed step by step the extention maker instructions when I was trying to do that.

Honestly I just want the red color gone. And IDK how to make that happen. Hopefully you can help.

HERE'S WHAT I'VE DONE

In both the theme that I'm using (public_html/styles/mystyle/theme/colours.css) and prosilver (public_html/styles/prosilver/theme/colour.css) I have edited all of the red #BC2A4D and replaced it with #859398. Below are the 8 instances I changed it in mystyle, though some of the instances in prosilver were different.... I still changed all of those the same way.

Code: Select all

.icon.icon-red, a:hover .icon.icon-red {
	color: #859398;
}

.error {
}

div.rules {
	background-color: #ECD5D8;
}

p.post-notice {
	background-color: #ECD5D8;
	background-image: none;
	border-color: #859398;
}

.posthilit {
	background-color: #F3BFCC;
}

dd.profile-warnings {
}

.pmlist li.pm_message_reported_colour, .pm_message_reported_colour {
	border-left-color: #859398;
	border-right-color: #859398;
}
  • I changed these codes using notepad++.

I uploaded them to my cpanel (I believe the cpanel is siteground's "site tools" at least)

Replaced the old files

Cleared my cache on phpbb, made sure the "Recompile stale style components" was "yes" (as far as I'm aware, clearing the cache and enabling that setting are redundant, but I tried them both anyway.)

I cleared my cache on google chrome.

I even tried an incognito tab.
Hover is still red.

What am I doing wrong? Thank you.
PlanetStyles.net