Advanced Meta Tags

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Tripp »

Seems to be working to me. I went to your site, check on the index and it showed the global tags and I went to your rules topic and got:

Code: Select all

<meta name="keywords" content="MotoXtreme® Dot Info, every,.....and so on
<meta name="description" content="every motoxtreme 's members are advised to...and so on
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
MotoXtreme.info
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:11 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by MotoXtreme.info »

now i know what is this MOD for. . . u will not seeing those Tag . . .

thanks
User avatar
Akansu
Registered User
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Akansu »

I have a problem. When I use BBCODE for forum description in ACP the BBCODE is turning into unknown chars at head of explorer ..

Seemingly I can't describe... Images is here :

1-)BBCODE using in ACP

Image

2-)İt's forumlist_body
Image

3-)And problem is here:

Image
User avatar
wingnut144
Registered User
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by wingnut144 »

I'm not seeing the keywords being generated.

If I view the page source, I see:

<meta name="copyright" content="2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group" />
<meta name="keywords" content="" />

But nothing generated other than that.

Any ideas??

[edit] Nevermind......I figured it out..... :oops:
lfitzhugh
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:43 am

How do you set the global meta tags in ACP?

Post by lfitzhugh »

Jeeze, I'm :oops:

For anyone else in my condition, it is a new field in "Board Settings".

I have gone all over the ACP and don't see anywhere to set the meta tags. Maybe I'm blind, or its too late (or rather early)... but, I need help. Thanks, laurel
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Tripp »

Did you purge your cache?
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
epemehko
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by epemehko »

It's would be better, that keywords straight be taken from the prepared tables "SEARCH_WORDLIST_TABLE" and "SEARCH_WORDMATCH_TABLE" forum's engine, priority depending on the number of including of keyword in the theme of forum.

I'm sorry for my bad English.
catwalkchaos
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:51 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by catwalkchaos »

I have installed this, purged the cache and done the settings on the board settings page on acp but they aren't appearing on my board?
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Tripp »

catwalkchaos wrote:I have installed this, purged the cache and done the settings on the board settings page on acp but they aren't appearing on my board?
Can you link me to your board?
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
asdfasdf
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:18 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by asdfasdf »

Anyone tested this MOD in 3.0.4?
catwalkchaos
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:51 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by catwalkchaos »

Drugs wrote:
catwalkchaos wrote:I have installed this, purged the cache and done the settings on the board settings page on acp but they aren't appearing on my board?
Can you link me to your board?
www.catwalkchaos.com/forum
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Tripp »

catwalkchaos wrote:
Drugs wrote:
catwalkchaos wrote:I have installed this, purged the cache and done the settings on the board settings page on acp but they aren't appearing on my board?
Can you link me to your board?
http://www.catwalkchaos.com/forum
"topshop voucher, free topshop voucher, fashion advice, style ss09, fashion"

Are these your keywords you entered?
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
catwalkchaos
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:51 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by catwalkchaos »

yes they are
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Tripp »

catwalkchaos wrote:yes they are
Then it seems to be working as it should. Why do you think it's not working?
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
leclerc
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 10:44 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by leclerc »

...about the UTF solution....

first of all this one...

Code: Select all

$post_text = str_word_count($post_text, 1, 'šđžčćŠĐŽČĆäöüßÄÖÜáaâÁAÂéeeÉEEóoôÓOÔúuuÚUU1234567890');
...will not work below php version of 5.1.0 - I have 5.0.4 for example :) Beside that it doesn't fix the problem...

I'm not the php programmer but after 5 minutes ( for real !) studying of the php.net I have pretty simple solution that can be improved by someone who know something more about php coding...

just replace this one:

Code: Select all

$post_text = str_word_count($post_text, 1);
with this one:

Code: Select all

$post_text = explode(""", $post_text);
you can put anything you want in """ part, those chars will be skipped and not included in tags - just take a look for the description here:
http://pl.php.net/manual/pl/function.explode.php

it works (almost) fine on my forum. Just few more fixes needs to be done. This method override the number of words limit - it puts whole post in tags. And the second one, is to remove the "new line" code (in html br tag) from meta-tag and we're done.

Well, I hope that somone can get further with that than me....

regards,
Tom
Last edited by leclerc on Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”