Advanced Meta Tags

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by microtekblue » Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:57 pm

ok sorry now I get it...

But how come the index page (index.php) still show:

<meta name="keywords" content="" />
<meta name="description" content="A short text to describe your forum" />


But the "Welcome to phpbb" Post shows it properly? Does the mod work only on topic posts?

Thanks

microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by microtekblue » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:21 pm

Never mind, I fixed it...for any1 interested your index page it won't show the keywords unless you put in something for Global Meta keywords and enable it.

But disable "Append Global Keywords" and "Add Global Keywords Position" so that your Posts have their own unique Keywords and Desc, which will help for SEO purposes.

nadalbg
Registered User
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by nadalbg » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:48 pm

microtekblue wrote:Never mind, I fixed it...for any1 interested your index page it won't show the keywords unless you put in something for Global Meta keywords and enable it.

But disable "Append Global Keywords" and "Add Global Keywords Position" so that your Posts have their own unique Keywords and Desc, which will help for SEO purposes.
Actually you should disable add global keywords position and turn on append global keywords,
in this way the generated keywords for the page will be before the global so in this way your page related keywords are before the global.

microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by microtekblue » Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:04 pm

Thanks for the suggestion but IMO you don't really want to do that, since it will defeat the purpose of having unique keywords.

However, Its good though if your board starts picking up useless and irrelevant keywords from the posts.

microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

SEO Mod Confliction help

Post by microtekblue » Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:00 am

Hello,

First I installed Advance Meta Tags Mod.

And Now I am trying to Install SEO MOD.

The Problem is happening with the SEO Mod where on the VIEWTOPICS.PHP edit, on the last part of the mod sheet, it says to:

Find
Tip: This may be a partial find and not the whole line.

Code: Select All
page_header($user->lang['VIEW_TOPIC'] .' - ' . $topic_data['topic_title']);
Replace With
Tip: Replace the preceding line(s) to find with the following lines.

Code: Select All
page_header($topic_data['topic_title']);


The Problem is that when I found the appropriate code it has ALREADY been altered by Advance Meta Tags MOD.

Here what it said:

page_header($user->lang['VIEW_TOPIC'] .' - ' . $topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text); // true, post_text added by Advanced Meta Tags MOD

So how Do I work around this?

What line do I put there so that Both SEO MOD and Advance MetaTags Mod work correctly?

All Help and Suggestions would GREATLY be appreciated.

The forum in question is healthnutritionforum.com

Thank all for the help in advance.

Thank you.

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Phil » Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:05 am

If I read that right, you'd want to do

Find:

Code: Select all

page_header($user->lang['VIEW_TOPIC'] .' - ' . $topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text); 
Replace with:

Code: Select all

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text); 
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by microtekblue » Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:21 am

Hi Thanks but I already tried that and it gives me an error:

http://www.healthnutritionforum.com/wel ... b3-t1.html

" Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ',' in /hermes/bosweb/web235/b2356/d5.justwant/public_html/healthnutritionforum/viewtopic.php on line 1597"

Please advise..

Thank you in advance for the help! :roll:

binary_gangster
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:39 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by binary_gangster » Sun Jul 27, 2008 6:20 pm

Check the file on that line and see if you pasted the code before or after something you shouldn't have...

sibaer
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:07 pm

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by sibaer » Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:41 pm

I have the exact same problem :? , I installed first the SEO Mod, and now the Advanced Meta Tags mode. At first, I did not know what to do about this last line which should be replaced in viewtopic.php. There were no errors, but I suppose the mod did not actually work. ;)

Now I saw the last post and have included

Code: Select all

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text); 
as you have suggested. Here's the error line I now get when running a topic:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ',' in /home/mtb96/public_html/forum/viewtopic.php on line 1605

Can you help, please? Thx :)

microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by microtekblue » Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:32 pm

So basically heres what does not work:

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text);

Only thing that is working seems to be:

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']);

Except that is for SEO mod, and then AMT mod doesnt work properly.

sibaer
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:07 pm

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by sibaer » Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:19 am

This is exactly the case in my forum, yes.

what is the added line

Code: Select all

,true, $first_post_text);
supposed to do, exactly?

Perhaps we could re-write this in some way, shape, or form? I would be more than grateful for advice from someone :)

User avatar
TheLastLegion
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by TheLastLegion » Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:30 pm

Is there a fix for this please?
OttoHost LLC - Solutions for the Web - http://www.ottohost.com
Live Support Around the clock • Ruby on Rails • Fantastico de Luxe • US Phone Support Available
Real 24/7 Support, 99.9% Uptime Guarantee, Fast Intel Xeon Quad Core Servers

adrianfan
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:51 am

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by adrianfan » Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:59 am

Hi All,

I had recently started using PHPBB3.

Installed Advanced Meta Tags and tested it with the following templates (Prosilver & Subsilver). They are working fine. However, when I am trying on another template(Tranquility), it does not work at all.

The following is what i got at the view source:
<meta name="keywords" content="" />
<meta name="description" content="" />
HTML Source code removed
==EDITED==
Found the problem. The template in question was for PHPBB3.0.1

After doing the template upgrade everything works GREAT.

Thanks!!!
Last edited by adrianfan on Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
alahamdan
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:37 am
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by alahamdan » Sun Aug 03, 2008 7:41 pm

Hello

Still No Fix for Utf Support?

Thanx

User avatar
Dr.Death
QA Team
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Advanced Meta Tags

Post by Dr.Death » Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:21 am

nope.

the function:

Code: Select all

$post_text = str_word_count($post_text, 1);
does not support utf8

http://de3.php.net/manual/en/function.s ... -count.php
Doc.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”