Page 7 of 29

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:45 pm
by Renodil
I always do that after every mod I add even if there is no DIY instructions telling me to. As I said. It shows up on prosilver with no problem. BTW this has been nagging at me for awhile now. What the heck is DIY an acronym for?

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:00 pm
by jtryptophan
cherokee red wrote:Sorry. I mis-read (time to clean the contacts ;) )
Did you follow the prosilver.xml instructions and purge the cache?
If so, can I have a link to your forum please?
Yes...my link is www.mobwarsforum.com. Currently, I have a make-shift navbar up under the logo since I can't seem to get Redbar to work.

And @ Renodil, DIY means : Do It Yourself ;)

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:11 pm
by stickerboy
@ Renodil - I honestly have no idea why it wouldn't show up. It works fine on the custom style I use on my own forum.

@ jtryptophan - You haven't made the edits to the template files yet or you have clicked the purge cache button in your ACP. That why it doesn't show up.

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:27 pm
by Renodil
That's odd. It seems to be working on my other styles now. This happened after I cleared my FireFox's private data.

Another question though. When it's first loading in it shows the bluish color of the prosilver style before the image loads in. How do I change that color to better reflect the color schemes of the other styles?

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:55 pm
by stickerboy
Edit the redbar class of the styles colours.css file. Change the background colour to match

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:27 pm
by Renodil
Thanks.

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:44 am
by Renodil
[quote="cherokee red"]Demo Board:
Here's another demo. This ones shows the redbar moving to 2 lines :)
http://www.sixstringromance.co.uk/home.php#link

How'd you do that? The 2 lines thing AND having the header and footer show different things? The top has links as well as drop down menu links and the bottom is a link to us thing. ::Excitedly and rapidly repeating:: I wanna know, I wanna know, I wanna know, I wanna know. :D

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:03 am
by stickerboy
The header menu on my website is one I picked up from the net - it's not part of the RedBar ;)
If you only want the RedBar to show in one of the places (header or footer), then only edit the template for the one you want it to show in - I might possibly create a switch in the board config for this.

The "link to us" link (which should be fixed now :P ) is a custom page I coded.
To get links rolling on to 2 or more lines, just add more links. Simple as that. You could actually use the RedBar as a side menu too. Just add a <br /> in the HTML code, before the loop ends :P

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:06 am
by Renodil
Two words. Novice coder. In other words, huh?

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:32 am
by stickerboy
What parts do you want clarified? There's not really much I can simplfy (except expand on the side menu part).

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:02 am
by Fridge
cherokee red wrote:The "link to us" link (which should be fixed now :P ) is a custom page I coded.
Looks very nice, would you be willing to make the code public......i'm very interested :)

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:19 pm
by stickerboy
Fridge - here ya go :mrgreen:
http://dev.sixstringromance.co.uk/viewt ... ?f=20&t=53
If anything doesn't work, give me a nudge in that topic ;)

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:23 pm
by Fridge
I did some coding myself, wasn't that hard :)
I will take a look at yours, maybe i forgot something or made mistakes in mine. example of the little thingie i made :D

I did peek a little in the source of your site though :P

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:42 pm
by stickerboy
Haha, very nice :D Like the style you have there. The round corners make it look really good.

Re: RedBar³

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:32 am
by Sigi1991
One Question about the mod.

I have a style, which is based on subsilver2, and when I enter some links, this is the output:
Image
:o

Who can I solve this problem?

btw:

Redbar Code for prosilver:

Code: Select all

   <!-- REDBAR -->
      <div class="redbar">
         <div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

         <div id="red-bar">
           <div style="text-align:center;">
            <!-- BEGIN redbar --><a href="{redbar.U_REDBAR_URL}" style="color: #{redbar.REDBAR_COLOUR};" title="{redbar.REDBAR_NAME}">{redbar.REDBAR_NAME}</a><!-- IF redbar.S_LAST_ROW -->&nbsp;<!-- ELSE --> &nbsp; <strong>‹</strong> &nbsp; <!-- ENDIF --><!-- END redbar -->
           </div>   
         </div>

         <span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
      </div>     
   <!-- REDBAR -->
Redbar Code for subsilver2:

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN redbar -->
   <table class="tablebg" width="100%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="0" style="margin-top: 10px;">
   <tr>
      <td class="row1">
         
<p class="redbar"><a href="{redbar.U_REDBAR_URL}" onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;" style="color: #{redbar.REDBAR_COLOUR};" title="{redbar.REDBAR_NAME}">{redbar.REDBAR_NAME}></a><!-- IF redbar.S_LAST_ROW -->&nbsp;<!-- ELSE --> &nbsp; <strong>‹</strong> &nbsp; <!-- ENDIF --></p>
      </td>
   </tr>
   </table>
<!-- END redbar -->