Advertisement Management

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Fri Aug 29, 2008 6:34 pm

Then either your file edits are not in place or you've not correctly setup the ad you want to display.

User avatar
wingnut144
Registered User
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by wingnut144 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:54 pm

I have doublechecked the style/prosilver/template files to modify, and the changes are in there.........

User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:23 pm

Are you sure the ad is setup correctly so you are able to see it? You can disable the group rules to test it.

User avatar
wingnut144
Registered User
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by wingnut144 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:29 pm

Ok, I think I got it working. I'm curious though, if I set the ad priority to the same value for a number of different ads, will the MOD show each of them at different times when the pages refresh?

So if on 1 page view it shows ad 1, and then on a refresh of the page, will it then show ad 2 if the same priority is set?

User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:22 pm

Priority does not make it show in order. It selects a random one based on it's priority.

User avatar
wingnut144
Registered User
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by wingnut144 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:40 pm

Right, I wasn't asking if it was going to show them in order, but does it do random if multiple ads have the same priority?

User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:45 pm

Yes. If two have the same priority they have an equal chance of being shown.

User avatar
wingnut144
Registered User
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by wingnut144 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:49 pm

Oh, and it possible to have ads appear the a 'category' ?? instead of having to open the category itself and then browse to the forum, open that and see the ad?

Is it possible to have the ad appear in a category instead???

User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:11 am

You can put an advertisement anywhere by adding a new position.

TiTex
Registered User
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:27 pm

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by TiTex » Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:07 am

great mod :)

User avatar
wingnut144
Registered User
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by wingnut144 » Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:03 pm

EXreaction wrote:You can put an advertisement anywhere by adding a new position.
So, if I create a new position, and wanted the ad to show in that position inside a category, where would I ad the code for that position? :)

Thanks again for the help!!

User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:49 pm


Lloydr
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:59 pm

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by Lloydr » Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:35 pm

Im sorry, but i still can not get the module to show in the ACP, i can enable the module it and select it and config it in the ACP, but i cant see the module to play with it, i am now also trying the new version both on my site on my local machine and my live forums and nothing is showing on both

Any idea?

brimo
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 10:46 pm
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by brimo » Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 am

Hi, this mod works brilliantly for me, except for when placing a google ad below a forum post. I've checked everything and all seems OK but when I attempt to refresh the template I get this error
GENERAL ERROR

Could not open ./../styles/prosilver/template/colour_swatch.html
colour_swatch.html does not exist at that location, any suggestion as to what may be wrong?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
EXreaction
Former Team Member
Posts: 5666
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Name: Nathan

Re: Advertisement Management

Post by EXreaction » Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:49 pm

GENERAL ERROR

Could not open ./../styles/prosilver/template/colour_swatch.html
That is likely an error because of something with phpBB3. You should ask in the phpBB3 support forum. ;)

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”