Page 3 of 12

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:20 pm
by ChriZathens
  1. This style is a bit different... Do this:
    Open styles/twilightBB/template/overall_header.html
    Find

    Code: Select all

    <li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_INDEX}" accesskey="h">{L_INDEX}</a>
    Inline find

    Code: Select all

    <li class="icon-home">
    Inline add after

    Code: Select all

    <a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a> <strong>&#8249;</strong> 
    So the final result should be this:

    Code: Select all

    <li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a> <strong>&#8249;</strong> <a href="{U_INDEX}" accesskey="h">{L_INDEX}</a>
    P.S.: Don't forget to clear your board's cache afterwards.
  2. There should be only one. In includes/functions.php, in section 'U_HOMEPAGE' you have written

    Code: Select all

    ../http://www.budoonline.co.uk
    You should either write

    Code: Select all

    ../
    or

    Code: Select all

    http://www.budoonline.co.uk
  3. Open language/en/common.php
    Find:

    Code: Select all

    	'FORUM_INDEX'			=> 'Board index',
    Replace with:

    Code: Select all

    	'FORUM_INDEX'			=> 'Forum index',

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:51 pm
by budo
thanks a lot, i have no idea how you know all that stuff. Anyway the single URL is working now and theres a forum index text instead of board index, however there is two homepage links now, one on top of other, this seemed to happen after your number 1 instructions? I may of done something wrong. Heres a pic of it, any ideas how i could fix this?

Image

Thanks a lot

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:03 pm
by ChriZathens
The homepage code is there twice
In your overall_header.html I see

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a><li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a> <strong>&#8249;</strong> <a href="{U_INDEX}" accesskey="h">{L_INDEX}</a> </li>
It should be

Code: Select all

    <li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a> <strong>&#8249;</strong> <a href="{U_INDEX}" accesskey="h">{L_INDEX}</a>

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:12 pm
by budo
Thank you :D

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:21 pm
by budo
Doh not quite sorted yet, :( it looks fine now but the directory trail thing doesnt work now (is it called breadcrumbs) e.g. forum index>general forum>general chat it just stays as forum index now no matter where abouts you are in the forum. Was since that last change i made, i noticed the code was slightly different than posted above before i changed it thought it would be ok but guess not...

thanks for help

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:22 pm
by ChriZathens
If you can paste here your overall_header.html (in code tags) I maybe able to help you more... ;)

EDIT: In fact let me paste the breadcrumbs part of overall_header.html, edited:

Code: Select all

		<ul class="breadcrumbs">
			<li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a> <strong>&#8249;</strong> <a href="{U_INDEX}" accesskey="h">{L_INDEX}</a> <!-- BEGIN navlinks --> <strong>&#8249;</strong> <a href="{navlinks.U_VIEW_FORUM}">{navlinks.FORUM_NAME}</a><!-- END navlinks --></li>
		</ul>
Screenshot
Image

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:38 pm
by budo
Sorted thanks for your time & help! :P

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:43 pm
by ChriZathens
Cool... :geek:

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:36 am
by seducerx
Any chance this might work in version 3.0.4 of phpbb?

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:37 pm
by ChriZathens
I can absolutely think of no reason why it shouldn't work...
But I would advice you to update to the latest version...

Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:14 am
by DavidIQ
MOD Updated to version 1.0.8
See first post for Download Link

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:45 am
by ChriZathens
Thanks a lot! :D
I have just updated the third post
It contains now a list of version's 1.0.8 features and a screenshot from the ACP... :D

Inside the package you will also find:
  1. Instructions about how to update from previous validated version.
  2. Subsilver2 instructions
  3. Subsilver2 instructions to update from previous validated version
  4. Greek (Hellenic) language edits
I hope you like this mod.

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:12 pm
by Ahri89
I LOVE enable/disable the mods, thanks you!! :D

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:27 pm
by lovelysummer
1.0.8 version folder does not contain 1.0.6 update to 1.0.8 instruction :cry:

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:24 pm
by ChriZathens
No, it only contains update instructions from the previous validated version.. But don't worry - this weekend I'll post update instructions. I'm not sure about Saturday, because I'm leaving for holiday and will be traveling almost all day, but by Sunday I will.. ;)

EDIT: OK, I wasn't sure about Sunday, either, so here you go:

Update 1.0.6 to 1.0.8
Sql:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage_in_new', '0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_title', 'Your homepage title');
Open includes/functions.php
Find:

Code: Select all

		'U_HOMEPAGE'			=> $config['homepage_url'],
Add before:

Code: Select all

		'S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW' => ($config['show_homepage_in_new']) ? true : false ,
Add after:

Code: Select all

		'U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE'		=> $config['homepage_title'],
Open includes/acp/acp_board.php
Find:

Code: Select all

						'homepage_url'			=> array('lang' => 'HOMEPAGE_URL',			'validate' => 'string',	'type' => 'text:40:255', 'explain' => true),
Add, before:

Code: Select all

						'show_homepage_in_new'	=> array('lang' => 'SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW',	'validate' => 'bool',	'type' => 'radio:yes_no', 'explain' => true),
add, after:

Code: Select all

						'homepage_title'		=> array('lang' => 'HOMEPAGE_TITLE',		'validate' => 'string',	'type' => 'text:40:255', 'explain' => true),
Open language/en/acp/board.php
Find

Code: Select all

	'HOMEPAGE_URL_EXPLAIN'
Add, after

Code: Select all

	'HOMEPAGE_TITLE'				=> 'Homepage title',
	'HOMEPAGE_TITLE_EXPLAIN'		=> 'This title will show when you have your mouse over your homepage link. If you donĀ“t want to show a title, just leave this field blank.',
Find

Code: Select all

	'SHOW_HOMEPAGE_EXPLAIN'
Add, after:

Code: Select all

	'SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW'			=> 'Homepage in new window',
	'SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW_EXPLAIN'	=> 'If you select "Yes" the link to your homepage will open in a new window',
Open styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE and U_HOMEPAGE --><li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" accesskey="y">{L_HOMEPAGE}</a></li><!-- ENDIF -->
Inline, find:

Code: Select all

accesskey="y">
Inline, before add:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE -->title="{U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE}"<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW -->onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;"<!-- ENDIF --> 
Refresh your cache from the ACP and you should be OK..
I hope I did not make any mistake (it is almost 2:30 am here...), so please make sure you backup your files prior of editing them and please let me know if the update was OK for you..