Page 7 of 12

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:17 pm
by domestictuner
am am having a problem uninstalling the mod, everything is successful except this.
styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html
Find

<li class="icon-home"><a href="{U_INDEX}" accesskey="h">{L_INDEX}

In-Line Find

This MOD has an invalid instruction, or an in-line find operation failed.
i noticed in the zip that the prosilver.xsl has a duplicate in the toplevel of the zip and in the contrib folder and does not have the same number of additional files as the sub silver, i'm not sure if that is the issue.

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:50 pm
by ChriZathens
Are you trying to uninstall using Automod?

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 10:26 pm
by blombardo
I'm new to this stuff... and I have no interest in coding - no desire to manually edit anything...

The most I am willing to do is:

1 FTP some files to a certain location
2 MAYBE edit permissions
3 Browse to the correct installation directory
4 fill in the blank answers - click a few buttons...


I have installed AUTOMOD and it does NOT correctly install this 'add homepage' mod... I have spent the past 90 minutes working on it failing numerous times;Whats the deal?

Here is my exact error: I do not understand it... I do not know how to fix it - if you reply please use FULL WORD DESCRIPTIONS and NOT any shortened versions... I will be 'googling' every word you say because I'm pretty sure 95% of replies here are gibberish to me.

If the fix involves me having to use editors to modify code... I'm not interested in this mod... Why cant it just install nice and easy like others do?
SQL Queries
Error:Duplicate entry 'show_homepage' for key 1
INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage', '0')
Error:Duplicate entry 'show_homepage_in_new' for key 1
INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage_in_new', '0')
Error:Duplicate entry 'homepage_url' for key 1
INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_url', 'http://www.your_own_site.com')
Error:Duplicate entry 'homepage_title' for key 1
INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_title', 'Your homepage title')

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:45 am
by domestictuner
ChriZathens wrote:Are you trying to uninstall using Automod?
yes, the install failed when i installed with automod, i think due the the way i unzipped it. But now i am trying to get it out of the automod installed mods to start again from scratch.
And can you help me with the theme, the one i am using is Getaway Darkblue. The forum is at www.ccclassics.org/forum

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:58 am
by ChriZathens
THE FOLLOWING POST APPLIES TO BOTH OF YOU..

Ok, let's take one step at a time...
  1. I don't think that it is the way you unzipped it that caused the installation to fail.. It is most probably because your template is different than the standard prosilver
  2. This error:
    This MOD has an invalid instruction, or an in-line find operation failed.
    The problem here is that a find operation failed. If the mod had invalid instructions then it would not have been validated by the MOD team in the first place.
  3. SQL Queries
    Error:Duplicate entry 'show_homepage' for key 1
    INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage', '0')
    Error:Duplicate entry 'show_homepage_in_new' for key 1
    INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage_in_new', '0')
    Error:Duplicate entry 'homepage_url' for key 1
    INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_url', 'http://www.your_own_site.com')
    Error:Duplicate entry 'homepage_title' for key 1
    INSERT INTO phpbb3config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_title', 'Your homepage title')
    This has happened because the sql has already run and running it again would cause duplicate entries. Bottom line is that as far as the database is concerned, all needed is done
Unfortunately, your mistake is that you should not try to uninstall in the first place, right after you got the error. You should have posted here and we could easily solve the issue (within 10 minutes)
OK, so, now... Since you got the sql error, I assume that the sql part is installed.
I suggest you do that:
  1. Try to install it again
  2. Post here the output of automod (any errors that you get)
  3. Post here in code tags the following files:
    # includes/functions.php,
    # includes/acp/acp_board.php
  4. The find in overall_header.html will fail because that template is different. The think you have to do to install in that template is:
    - Download styles/getaway/template/overall_header.html through ftp.
    - Open it using a descent text editor (Notepad + is recommended)
    in that file find:

    Code: Select all

    <div class="navrow">
    Add, after:

    Code: Select all

    		<!-- IF S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE and U_HOMEPAGE --><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" <!-- IF U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE -->title="{U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE}"<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW -->onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;"<!-- ENDIF -->>{L_HOMEPAGE}</a> &#8226; <!-- ENDIF -->
  5. Save the file and upload again overwriting the old - unedited - one.
BUT do those in the order I posted. First do step b so that I can understand what is going on so far and then we will continue.

@blombardo ---> Do you want to install it or uninstall it for good?

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:34 am
by blombardo
Thanks for the fast reply ChriZathens -

I have attempted to install 3 times and got to the same point each time: (a correct install according to automod)- and no ACP 'button' options.

#1 General question: to help me clean up extra files I dont need...
The old installation files were NOT able to be deleted..
I moved them on my server to a place called 'DELETE ME' and no matter what I try - I cant delete them...
I've spent almost 90 minutes just trying to delete the old files;any ideas?
-#2 General question that may solve my problem:
The 'file edit' section listed tons of things to change -- and under it says' success' -
so Does that mean I do not have to manually edit all that because AutoMod Automatically edited all of it?
(Or do i still have to edit something someplace...)

If automod DOES do all those fixes... then the problem is elsewhere:
#3 Specific Question regarding an error I WAS able to find when installing 'part 2 ' of your addon (though this may be only a tutorial thats not needed I am not sure... see details below the code for more info)


FIND: in /functions.php (not found - I cant find anything even close)

Code: Select all

/*		Some examples to help you understand what you should put here:
		 1. If your forum home is http://www.yoursite.com/forum and your homepage is at http://www.yoursite.com/site, you could simply put ../site in the following line  
		 2. If your forum home is http://www.yoursite.com/forum and your homepage is at http://www.yoursite.com/, you could simply put ../ in the following line
		 3. If your forum home is http://www.yoursite.com/forum and your homepage is at http://www.yourothersite.com/, you could directly add the address (http://www.yourothersite.com/) in the following line
		 For this mod let's presume we have example 1 */ 
		 
		'U_HOMEPAGE'			=> "../site",
REPLACE:

Code: Select all

'S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE'		=> ($config['show_homepage']) ? true : false ,
		'S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW' => ($config['show_homepage_in_new']) ? true : false ,
		'U_HOMEPAGE'			=> $config['homepage_url'],
		'U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE'		=> $config['homepage_title'],

So in summary perhaps I didn't fully install it; maybe I missed a few steps:

1: install with automod- (worked - no errors - but also NO ACP buttons in ANY of my 5 active styles)

2: choose DETAILS (of this mod) and click 'install' down near the bottom. a 'cant find' error in includes/functions.php" - - I have tried to figure out where to manually put the text - but I cant figure it out.

3: choose DETAILS (same place as #2) and 'apply' this mod to different styles. I have no clue what the "Apply these changes to this template" area is for. If this is a three step installation process it would be nice to mention that up in your front post;

I expected a one step install and a working button in my ACP after about a 3 minute install...
What I got was a mess that I've spent 5 hours with now - but I appreciate your support... it is probably something I just don't know to do... a step I missed...
Thanks.

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:59 am
by ChriZathens
Generally, if you don't have a lot of mods installed, the installation with Automod should cause no problems at all. The only exception is the one edit that is required in overall_header.html, if your style is not prosilver.
You said that you have 5 different styles. If one of them is prosilver, then you're gonna have 4 files which may cause trouble.
But all the other parts of the installation are style independent. Overall_header.html, however, is in most cases different in different syles, so, logically Automod cannot locate the piece of code that the install file tells it to edit, since in a different style that piece of code may not exist at all... ;)
My best guess right now is that after a lot install-uninstalls things might have gotten a bit messy. The best thing I can do right know to make this work for you:
  1. Write if you have other mods
  2. Do you have any other languages besides en-gb?
  3. Post here in code tags all the files that need to be altered:
    # includes/functions.php,
    # includes/acp/acp_board.php,
    # language/en/common.php,
    # language/en/acp/board.php,
  4. Also paste your default style's overall_header.html (If your default style is not prosilver, then provide a link for me to download that style so that I will be able to perform my tests.)
I will look into these files and - hopefully - correct them. After you paste them again in your server, the mod should work fine for your default style.
Once we've gone that far, we will make the proper changes in your other styles, too.

P.S.: I never really use Automod for my installations (my mod, however installs fine in a vanilla installation otherwise it would not have been validated). I have tested it, though, in the past and I never faced problems even with a lot of mods, BUT my style is prosilver.

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:13 am
by blombardo
1:Other mods: (None that work - - I cant get ANY mod working... Been running the forum fine for 2 years and now people are pestering me for mods... lol) - Add homepage link in header - contact admin - display last post - nv advanced last topic title
2: languages: only english
3: files that need to be altered: um... NO CLUE... thats why im here... I have no idea what needs altered.
4: mergenine: WoW Alliance BB3: http://www.mergenine.com/dload.php?acti ... file_id=37

default style's overall_header.html



Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="{S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}" lang="{S_USER_LANG}" xml:lang="{S_USER_LANG}">
<head>

 
<link href="{T_THEME_PATH}/wowhead.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />  
<script src="http://www.wowhead.com/widgets/power.js" type="text/javascript"></script>  
<link href="{T_THEME_PATH}/armory.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />  
<script src="./wowhead/js/armory.js.php" type="text/javascript"></script>  
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset={S_CONTENT_ENCODING}" />
<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="{S_USER_LANG}" />
<meta http-equiv="content-style-type" content="text/css" />
<meta http-equiv="imagetoolbar" content="no" />
<meta name="resource-type" content="document" />
<meta name="distribution" content="global" />
<meta name="copyright" content="2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group" />
<meta name="keywords" content="" />
<meta name="description" content="" />
{META}
<title>{SITENAME} &bull; <!-- IF S_IN_MCP -->{L_MCP} &bull; <!-- ELSEIF S_IN_UCP -->{L_UCP} &bull; <!-- ENDIF -->{PAGE_TITLE}</title>

<link rel="stylesheet" href="{T_STYLESHEET_LINK}" type="text/css" />

<script type="text/javascript">
// <![CDATA[
<!-- IF S_USER_PM_POPUP -->
	if ({S_NEW_PM})
	{
		popup('{UA_POPUP_PM}', 400, 225, '_phpbbprivmsg');
	}
<!-- ENDIF -->

function popup(url, width, height, name)
{
	if (!name)
	{
		name = '_popup';
	}

	window.open(url.replace(/&/g, '&'), name, 'height=' + height + ',resizable=yes,scrollbars=yes,width=' + width);
	return false;
}

function jumpto()
{
	var page = prompt('{LA_JUMP_PAGE}:', '{ON_PAGE}');
	var perpage = '{PER_PAGE}';
	var base_url = '{A_BASE_URL}';

	if (page !== null && !isNaN(page) && page > 0)
	{
		document.location.href = base_url.replace(/&/g, '&') + '&start=' + ((page - 1) * perpage);
	}
}

/**
* Find a member
*/
function find_username(url)
{
	popup(url, 760, 570, '_usersearch');
	return false;
}

/**
* Mark/unmark checklist
* id = ID of parent container, name = name prefix, state = state [true/false]
*/
function marklist(id, name, state)
{
	var parent = document.getElementById(id);
	if (!parent)
	{
		eval('parent = document.' + id);
	}

	if (!parent)
	{
		return;
	}

	var rb = parent.getElementsByTagName('input');
	
	for (var r = 0; r < rb.length; r++)
	{
		if (rb[r].name.substr(0, name.length) == name)
		{
			rb[r].checked = state;
		}
	}
}

<!-- IF ._file -->

	/**
	* Play quicktime file by determining it's width/height
	* from the displayed rectangle area
	*
	* Only defined if there is a file block present.
	*/
	function play_qt_file(obj)
	{
		var rectangle = obj.GetRectangle();

		if (rectangle)
		{
			rectangle = rectangle.split(',')
			var x1 = parseInt(rectangle[0]);
			var x2 = parseInt(rectangle[2]);
			var y1 = parseInt(rectangle[1]);
			var y2 = parseInt(rectangle[3]);

			var width = (x1 < 0) ? (x1 * -1) + x2 : x2 - x1;
			var height = (y1 < 0) ? (y1 * -1) + y2 : y2 - y1;
		}
		else
		{
			var width = 200;
			var height = 0;
		}

		obj.width = width;
		obj.height = height + 16;

		obj.SetControllerVisible(true);

		obj.Play();
	}
<!-- ENDIF -->

// ]]>
</script>
</head>
<body class="{S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}">

<a name="top"></a>

<div id="wrapheader">

	<div id="logodesc">
		<table width="100%" cellspacing="0">
		<tr>
			<td><a href="{U_INDEX}">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a></td>
			<td width="100%" align="center"><h1>{SITENAME}</h1><span class="gen">{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</span></td>
		</tr>
		</table>
	</div>

	<div id="menubar">
		<table width="100%" cellspacing="0">
		<tr>
			<td class="genmed">
				<!-- IF not S_IS_BOT --><a href="{U_LOGIN_LOGOUT}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_login.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_LOGIN_LOGOUT}</a>&nbsp;<!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- IF U_RESTORE_PERMISSIONS --> &nbsp;<a href="{U_RESTORE_PERMISSIONS}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_login.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_RESTORE_PERMISSIONS}</a><!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- IF S_BOARD_DISABLED and S_USER_LOGGED_IN --> &nbsp;<span style="color: red;">{L_BOARD_DISABLED}</span><!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- IF not S_IS_BOT -->
					<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
						<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_PM --> &nbsp;<a href="{U_PRIVATEMSGS}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_message.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {PRIVATE_MESSAGE_INFO}<!-- IF PRIVATE_MESSAGE_INFO_UNREAD -->, {PRIVATE_MESSAGE_INFO_UNREAD}<!-- ENDIF --></a><!-- ENDIF -->
					<!-- ELSEIF S_REGISTER_ENABLED --> &nbsp;<a href="{U_REGISTER}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_register.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_REGISTER}</a>
					<!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- ENDIF -->
			</td>
			<td class="genmed" align="{S_CONTENT_FLOW_END}">
				<a href="{U_FAQ}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_faq.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_FAQ}</a>
				<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH -->&nbsp; &nbsp;<a href="{U_SEARCH}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_search.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_SEARCH}</a><!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- IF not S_IS_BOT -->
					<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_MEMBERLIST -->&nbsp; &nbsp;<a href="{U_MEMBERLIST}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_members.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_MEMBERLIST}</a><!-- ENDIF -->
					<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->&nbsp; &nbsp;<a href="{U_PROFILE}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_profile.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_PROFILE}</a><!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- ENDIF -->
			</td>
		</tr>
		</table>
	</div>

	<div id="datebar">
		<table width="100%" cellspacing="0">
		<tr>
			<td class="gensmall"><!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->{LAST_VISIT_DATE}<!-- ENDIF --></td>
			<td class="gensmall" align="{S_CONTENT_FLOW_END}">{CURRENT_TIME}<br /></td>
		</tr>
		</table>
	</div>

</div>

<div id="wrapcentre">

	<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH -->
	<p class="searchbar">
		<span style="float: {S_CONTENT_FLOW_BEGIN};"><a href="{U_SEARCH_UNANSWERED}">{L_SEARCH_UNANSWERED}</a> | <a href="{U_SEARCH_ACTIVE_TOPICS}">{L_SEARCH_ACTIVE_TOPICS}</a></span>
		<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
		<span style="float: {S_CONTENT_FLOW_END};"><a href="{U_SEARCH_NEW}">{L_SEARCH_NEW}</a> | <a href="{U_SEARCH_SELF}">{L_SEARCH_SELF}</a></span>
		<!-- ENDIF -->
	</p>
	<!-- ENDIF -->

	<br style="clear: both;" />

	<!-- INCLUDE breadcrumbs.html -->

	<br />

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:24 am
by ChriZathens
ChriZathens wrote:Post here in code tags all the files that need to be altered:
# includes/functions.php,
# includes/acp/acp_board.php,
# language/en/common.php,
# language/en/acp/board.php,
These are the files that need to be altered. Using an FTP program download it in your pc and paste their contents here in code tags ;)

EDIT: I now notice that your style is for phpbb 3.0.3. What version of phpbb are you using in your board?
EDIT2: Your style is subsilver2 based. So:
  1. After downloading the mod on your desktop extract its contents. You will get the following:
    - A directory called contrib
    - Install_mod.xml
    - licence.txt
    - modx.prosilver.en.xsl
    Inside contrib/styles/subsilver2/theme/images there is a gif file : icon_mini_home.gif
    Copy this image to your server in the same directory (your_phpbb_path/styles/m9wowabb3/theme/images/) You may change its colors in a photo editing program like photoshop to match the image with your styles colors.
  2. In your overall_header.html:
    Find:

    Code: Select all

    <a href="{U_FAQ}"><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_faq.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_FAQ}</a>
    Before, add:

    Code: Select all

    				<!-- IF S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE and U_HOMEPAGE --><a href="{U_HOMEPAGE}" <!-- IF U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE -->title="{U_HOMEPAGE_TITLE}"<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF S_SHOW_HOMEPAGE_IN_NEW -->onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;"<!-- ENDIF -->><img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_mini_home.gif" width="12" height="13" alt="*" /> {L_HOMEPAGE}</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;<!-- ENDIF -->
  3. Save the file and upload it in your server replacing the old - unedited copy of it.
After this your template edits (for your default template) is done.

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:54 am
by blombardo
oh wow... this is not exactly easy is it lol -- You must really enjoy doing this stuff to help people out like this --
I was about to say my 'automod' was broken- but I finally found ONE mod that actually installed perfectly - then worked... (acp auto redirector)

I'm using PHPbb #3.0.5 - But there are ZERO world of warcraft related themes existing - Cant find any others (and its IMPOSSIBLE for me to make one with my current skill level)



WTH?
Your message contains too few characters.
I am getting that error when I try to post the info to you.. I think it means I'm trying to post TOO MANY characters...


6100 lines of code....

I zipped all four files and put them on my site:
http://www.nightmareguild.org/backup/mod.rar

Hope that works for you.

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:34 am
by ChriZathens
Well, when I have time I try to help... After all my mods are simple enough and people rarely face troubles... ;)
Give a few minutes and I will fix the files. Are those files "vanilla" phpbb or edited?

While waiting, I suggest you read this article (If you had tried the manual way it would have taken only about 15 minutes to install and not 5 hours):
[Tutorial] How to install a MODX modification
;)

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:48 am
by ChriZathens
Double posting on purpose here, just to demonstrate how long it took to edit these files ( 5 minutes)
The only properly edited file was includes/functions.php
OK, here are all files, edited

[The extension zip has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

There are also sql commands that need to run:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage', '0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('show_homepage_in_new', '0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_url', 'http://www.your_own_site.com');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('homepage_title', 'Your homepage title');
Are they done?
If you don't know, before doing anything post back...

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:48 am
by blombardo
I read that tutorial actually... a few times - along with many others..... and inthe end I decided I had no interest in doing ANY manual editing - and when I saw the automod that KEPT A RECORD of all things - and DID IT ALL BY ITSELF I thought ==perfect!

Well apparently - Auto Mod doesnt do it ALL... That would be a nice fix for Phpbb4 (or whatevers next) to allow me to use the ACP to click 'install new themes/mods' -it goes online - gets them - downloads them - installs them and I have to do nothing but click next next done...

If those files are modified at all -- I sure as heck did not do it... Automod may have because according to the program- the mod DID install... They just don't work...

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:55 am
by blombardo
No Never did anything with SQL - If those commands were run it was done by automod when it failed to make this thing work the first 3 times...

I cant find any link in my control panel to run 'php my admin' looks like im gonna have another 9 hours invested trying to figure it out... lmao took you a few seconds to fix that... -- I'd have no clue what to even look for... Why on earth it didnt just WORK through the automod program is beyond me...
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0&t=588697 is where I'll be for the next hour or so.

edit= oh I have to log into my SERVER control panel to find the sql thingy... man...

Re: Add Homepage link in header

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:00 am
by ChriZathens