Page 1 of 6

Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:30 pm
by Extensions Robot
Modification name: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin
Author: Derky
Modification description: This CAPTCHA plugin adds two columns, you can add options to each column. All the options will be displayed into one column, then the user has to sort the options from one to the other column, by dragging them with the mouse. If the options are dragged to the correct columns the CAPTCHA is solved.

Extension version available for phpBB 3.1!
If you're using phpBB 3.1.0 or higher, you have to use the extension:
customise/db/extension/sortables_captcha/

Live Demo
So how is this exactly working? Try it out now!

Installing is a Breeze
No more editing files with plugins. Just upload them and it works! See how

Translations
Already available in 25 different languages! Most translations are included in the download package but for the latest added translations see: The list of available translations and how you can submit yours.

Update to Latest Version
Please make sure you're running the latest version to support touch devices such as iPhone, iPad and Android based: Read more
Modification version: 1.0.5
Tested on phpBB version: 3.0.12

Download file: sortables_captcha_plugin_1_0_5.zip
File size: 338.47 KiB

Modification overview page: View

The phpBB Team is not responsible nor required to provide support for this modification. By installing this MOD, you acknowledge that the phpBB Support Team or phpBB Extensions Team may not be able to provide support.

-->Modification support<--

Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:30 pm
by DavidIQ
Modification validated/released

Notes:
THIS IS A MOD FOR phpBB VERSION 3.0.6 AND HIGHER

Please do not attempt to install or use this MOD on a version prior to 3.0.6.

Image

Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:30 pm
by Derky
Thanks! :D

The way to get rid of spam on your phpBB3 forum! This plugin is based on the default Question & Answer CAPTCHA so you can really make it suitable for your type of forum! For example if you have a cooking forum, then you can ask "What to include for tomato soup?"
Image
The user has to drag Bananas and Apples to the Throw away column to solve the CAPTCHA. :-)

Features:
  • Left and right columns can be renamed to anything
  • Multiple options per column allowed
  • Options are showed in random order
  • Multiple language support
Screenshots:
Tomato soup example ACP:
Image

Michael Jackson albums example ACP:
Make sure your audience know the answers. For example; this question should only be asked on a Michael Jackson fan site.
Image

So you can really customise it to your type of board. 8-)

Live Demo:
Posting page or Registration page.


subsilver2 template files:
*Download removed* subsilver2 template files are currently included with the MOD.


Translations
https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/s ... /faq/f_547


Best Captcha Plugin Competition:
This plugin was a candidate in the Best Captcha Plugin Competition, and it won the Team Choice!
Image

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:17 am
by PinoyEngine™
Wow! I found this very useful, anyway, can I just enable this plugin when my members are making new topic in a specified forum?

thanks in advance and more power.

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:58 am
by Derky
It is a replacement for the current 3.0.6 captcha, so it will only show up for guests. ;)

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:57 pm
by stokerpiller
This is brilliant, thanks for making this.
Hope you will get a teddy bear ;)

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:35 am
by Derky
Thanks, yeah I hope I win too. 8-)

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:00 pm
by ToonArmy
Could I suggest altering the checkboxes for the noscript version to radio boxes.

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:36 pm
by Derky
Well the problem with that, is that I'm using

Code: Select all

$options_left = request_var('sortables_options_left', array(0), true); 
to retreive the options. They are stuffed in an array. With radio boxes, the left & right box need to have the same names.
So I need to have complete redundant code (which I do not like for an extra noscript feature) for that request/validate part, or does someone know a better way to do it?

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:15 am
by Powerlord
I don't suppose there will eventually be an option to have multiple sortable sets?

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:08 am
by Derky
You can already add more then 1 question with multiple options, what do you mean exactly?

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:17 pm
by ToonArmy
Derky wrote:which I do not like for an extra noscript feature
Well I'd not use a CAPTCHA on my board that requires javascript, nor would I consider voting for it. ;)

You can achieve the required easily however. You will need a radio button for each item left and right, each with the same name but a different value 'l', 'r' or whatever you choose. I tested by creating an array of radios, like the following:

Code: Select all

<input type="radio" name="sort[value1]" value="l" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value1]" value="r" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value2]" value="l" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value2]" value="r" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value3]" value="l" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value3]" value="r" />
You can easily get the required data in one array using the following call to request_var() note that you do not need the multibyte option if you are not requesting multibyte data:

Code: Select all

request_var('sort', array('' => '')); 
You will get an array like this:

Code: Select all

array(3)
{
["value1"]=>  string(1) "l"
["value2"]=>  string(1) "l"
["value3"]=>  string(1) "r"
}

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:06 am
by stokerpiller
ToonArmy wrote:Well I'd not use a CAPTCHA on my board that requires javascript, nor would I consider voting for it. ;)
Why do you think this is so important?

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:16 am
by ToonArmy
stokerpiller wrote:
ToonArmy wrote:Well I'd not use a CAPTCHA on my board that requires javascript, nor would I consider voting for it. ;)
Why do you think this is so important?
Because I don't like javascript to be a requirement, and will quite often walk away from a site if it is.

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:00 pm
by Derky
I think you're probably using Firefox with the noscript addon. :P

Thanks for the code, I think I can let the JavaScript part also work with this code. :)