Page 2 of 3

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:42 pm
by zackpack
hi!
great mod!
but how can i restrict the use of this functions only for admin?

ty

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:16 am
by kber
zackpack wrote:hi!
great mod!
but how can i restrict the use of this functions only for admin?

ty
change

Code: Select all

<div><label for="topic_url"><input type="checkbox" name="topic_url" id="topic_url"{S_TOPIC_URL_CHECKED} /> {L_TOPIC_URL}</label></div>
to

Code: Select all

<!-- IF U_ACP --><div><label for="topic_url"><input type="checkbox" name="topic_url" id="topic_url"{S_TOPIC_URL_CHECKED} /> {L_TOPIC_URL}</label></div>
<!-- ENDIF -->

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:22 am
by zackpack
ty man! :D

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:45 pm
by Senky
This is just visual restriction and users can post this still, but for common users this is enough. But next fine idea. I will collect them and include all in new version...

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:16 pm
by Joe_Joe
Two questions.
1, is this controlable from the ACP?

2, is not a question it's a problem. After install, all it does is put the URL in the topic, when clicked it opens like any other post. In other words it doesn't act as a link, it just opens the posting. And yes I did click the check box.

Thank you.
JJ

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:40 pm
by Senky
1. Not yet. What would you like to manage via ACP?
2. Can you please provide URL of your forum (and maybe some test account)? I will have look at it...
Another way, insert here how your url looks like. It must be http(s)://(www.)something.tld(/script_name.ex?parameter=value)

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:02 pm
by Joe_Joe
Senky wrote:1. Not yet. What would you like to manage via ACP?
It would make it easier to turn off on all but the forum you are going to use it in. I have a Forum in a Category for links. I don't want it to run in all the forums. Static info is the best way to give and find info.
It must be http(s)://(www.)something.tld(/script_name.ex?parameter=value)
I have no isea what that is. all I want is a link to an outside page: (http://www.domain.com) or htt://sitename.domain.com)

Thank you for your help, I don't post the site name or URL it's adult and private. Descretion the better part of valor.

Thank you.
JJ

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:48 am
by Senky
Joe_Joe wrote:...It would make it easier to turn off on all but the forum you are going to use it in. I have a Forum in a Category for links. I don't want it to run in all the forums. Static info is the best way to give and find info.
Yes, that can be done...

...I have no isea what that is. all I want is a link to an outside page: (http://www.domain.com) or htt://sitename.domain.com)...[/quote]
That should be parsed to redirection. Check if you have done all changes in viewtopic.php...

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:43 pm
by Joe_Joe
Senky wrote:
Joe_Joe wrote:...It would make it easier to turn off on all but the forum you are going to use it in. I have a Forum in a Category for links. I don't want it to run in all the forums. Static info is the best way to give and find info.
Yes, that can be done...

...I have no isea what that is. all I want is a link to an outside page: (http://www.domain.com) or htt://sitename.domain.com)...
That should be parsed to redirection. Check if you have done all changes in viewtopic.php...[/quote]

No problem with the english. It's the php language. You know what it means and I don't. But thank you for trying to help I removed the mod.

That does not mean I am not grateful for your help. It doesn't work the way I thought it would and I have no desire to learn what parse means, that's why I download Mods. I know nothing about coding.

Thank you again
JJ

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:10 am
by five075
thanks
great mod, used on phpBB 3.0.7-PL1

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:09 pm
by Trokal
does this work on phpbb v3.0.5?

also a suggestion for future release is to be able via ACP to set permissions on who can post topic links.
as this would really make this functional on a forum without having abuser abuse it (that's what I'm waiting for)
thanks again and good luck

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:10 am
by Senky
Trokal wrote:does this work on phpbb v3.0.5?
Really do not know. But I recommend you to update.
Trokal wrote:also a suggestion for future release is to be able via ACP to set permissions on who can post topic links.
as this would really make this functional on a forum without having abuser abuse it (that's what I'm waiting for)
thanks again and good luck
Yes, wait until the next version. I will change it into user's/group's permission...

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:37 am
by net83it
is it possible to create a topic-link that is showed at the top of the topic list, like announces?
thanks

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:29 pm
by Senky
Probably the priority of the topic should work normally, so if you set topic as announcement and topic-link, it should be announcement with redirection...

Re: Topic as link

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:15 pm
by Eragon
any update ? group permission, outside link etc.

thanks