Anti-Bot Question

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
emtohio
Registered User
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: Portsmouth, Ohio
Name: Dave Stevens
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by emtohio » Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:11 am

thanks

emtohio
Registered User
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: Portsmouth, Ohio
Name: Dave Stevens
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by emtohio » Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:36 am

Found it thanks.

User avatar
harishkumar09
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:37 pm
Location: Bengaluru
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by harishkumar09 » Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:44 pm

We need Joe Belmaati's MOD called "spamwords" for phpBB 3.x. But everybody here keeps telling that the captcha in phpBB 3.x is so good its not been cracked. And there are also plenty of anti-bot mods to deal with bots. But what these people don't seem to understand is that there are plenty of human spammers around. Low cost spammers are hired from China who attack forums and flood it with porn and unwanted messages. Joe Belmatti's "spamwords" dealt with this problem very well. I used to get 100 spam messages created by humans everyday. After using this mod it dropped to zero. Also with this mod you can also enable guest posting.

So I am just wondering, how are you guys using phpBB 3.x coping with human spammers ? Or has human spamming come down dramatically (thanks to an increasingly prosperous China ? ). Should I disable the "spamwords" that I have installed in my phpBB 2.0.21 forum ?

What's the opinion of all you people out here ???
Love & Regards,
Harish Kumar.

User avatar
munque
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 7:51 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question & 3.07PL1

Post by munque » Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:35 pm

Just FYI - I don't think this mod is needed if you're on 3.06 or newer as the forum software now incorporates the custom questions.

But, if you are like me and had it in place prior and are too lazy to drop it, I just did the 3.07 update, using changed files, and there were no questions about file mods brought up. And the good old anti-bot mod still works after the update.

If they throw another update at us in the near future, I will probably just go with all new files and lose the mod.

carspecuk
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:20 pm
Name: Louis Barnes

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by carspecuk » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:25 pm

Hey everyone, im using the latest phpbb, 3.0.7 pl1 (i think) i have just insalled this mod but keep getting an error when entering the data into mysql,

Error

SQL query:

INSERT INTO phpbb_config( config_name, config_value, is_dynamic )
VALUES (
'enable_abquestion', '0', '0'
);

MySQL said: Documentation
#1146 -

I just dont understand... Also if anyone can help with the visual comfirmation, the CAPTCHA is not showing up on my registration, i am using a subsilver2 based template.. is there any modifications i need to make to this template?

Thanks everyone

Louis

wolfman24
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:07 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by wolfman24 » Mon Mar 22, 2010 2:30 pm

Since phpbb3.0.6 there is no need for this mod anymore, since it is part of phpBB itself (see captchas -> Q&A Plugin or so in ACP).

Chef_uk
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:15 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Chef_uk » Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:50 pm

You can't have both though, some like the cpatcha and the Q&A in the registration field.

cherryaa
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:54 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by cherryaa » Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:30 pm

Edited: I just found out how to use the plugin :roll:

MyFaveFreebies
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by MyFaveFreebies » Fri Apr 02, 2010 7:37 pm

wolfman24 wrote:Since phpbb3.0.6 there is no need for this mod anymore, since it is part of phpBB itself (see captchas -> Q&A Plugin or so in ACP).
I disagree. With an anti-bot question I had zero spam users. With the 3.07 latest update and integrated CAPTCHA I still have spam bots registering. There is still a need for this mod.

User avatar
onehundredandtwo
Registered User
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:07 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by onehundredandtwo » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:25 pm

I think the point wolfman24 was trying to make is that phpBB 3.0.6 and above has the same functionability with the Q&A CAPTCHA - it does the exact same thing as Anti-Bot Question but with a few extra features.

Try taking a look in CAPTCHA modules in the ACP. ;)
Need help preventing spam? Read Preventing spam in phpBB 3.0.6 and above

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by RMcGirr83 » Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:50 am

Chef_uk wrote:You can't have both though, some like the cpatcha and the Q&A in the registration field.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

wolfman24
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:07 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by wolfman24 » Sat Apr 03, 2010 10:36 am

@MyFaveFreebies: You didn't read my post very well, it is all in there. The Q&A catcha plugin from phpBB 3.0.6 on has the same and more abilities than this mod. You can have more than 1 question and you can even have questions for different languages. I was not talking about the graphical captchas, I was talking about the Q&A (Question & Answer) plugin in the captcha section. I used this mod here too, but from 3.0.6 it is unnecessary.

Chef_uk
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:15 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Chef_uk » Sat Apr 03, 2010 10:13 pm

Having read up about how spambots are getting through, some are coded to copy the question in to a search engine and retrieve the answer that way.

Could it be possible to have an image shown as the question with the question on it and still have the answer box to be filled out? The image could have anything as its background as long as a human can read it, it could even just be distoted a little.

http://clanptg.net/question.html

breastbuddies
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:42 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by breastbuddies » Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:55 am

I had a simmiliar mod on my earlier phpbb version. Have upgraded to ver 3...now struggeling to get this working. I searched everywhere for an answer now you are the only one left who I can turn to. PLEASE HELP

When inserting code into MYSQL on phpmyadmin, I get this error:

Error
SQL query:

INSERT INTO phpbb_config( config_name, config_value, is_dynamic )
VALUES (

'enable_abquestion', '0', '0'
);


MySQL said:

#1054 - Unknown column 'is_dynamic' in 'field list'


Can you please assist here. I am using polythylene as a template.

Address to board is www.breastbuddies.co.za/forum

Thank you in advance

breastbuddies
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:42 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by breastbuddies » Sun Apr 11, 2010 4:50 pm

MyFaveFreebies wrote:
wolfman24 wrote:Since phpbb3.0.6 there is no need for this mod anymore, since it is part of phpBB itself (see captchas -> Q&A Plugin or so in ACP).
I disagree. With an anti-bot question I had zero spam users. With the 3.07 latest update and integrated CAPTCHA I still have spam bots registering. There is still a need for this mod.
I have to go with MyFaveFreebies here. I also had zero spammers in over two yeras with this mod. If I can only get it to work.... :?

Is it possibly because I have Captcha turned on in the ACP?

Any help will be appreciated.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”