Anti-Bot Question

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Hippie459MN » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:10 am

Jaztar wrote:V1.2.0 DOES NOT WORK WITH v3.0.5.

Upon the registration page it does not show the row / field to enter confirm code, however upon Submit, it requests the confirm code. I went in to ACP and disabled this MOD. Registration works fine now.

How do I go about removing the MOD from phpbbv3.0.5?
This does work on 3.0.5 as I am running it on 3 of my personal boards without a problem and I have installed it for about 15 others and they all work just fine. Double check all of your edits and also dont forget to do the style edits.

User avatar
onehundredandtwo
Registered User
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:07 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by onehundredandtwo » Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:23 am

Jaztar wrote:V1.2.0 DOES NOT WORK WITH v3.0.5.

Upon the registration page it does not show the row / field to enter confirm code, however upon Submit, it requests the confirm code. I went in to ACP and disabled this MOD. Registration works fine now.

How do I go about removing the MOD from phpbbv3.0.5?
onehundredandtwo wrote:3.0.6 will have a similar feature to this MOD already built-in, so if you can wait until then...
3.0.6 RC2 just came out as well, so I'll leave it up to you on whether it's worth installing now. As for the edits, Hippie459MN is correct, and make sure you do the style edits for your style, instead of prosilver.

And to uninstall, just undo all of the edits in the MODX file. ;)
Need help preventing spam? Read Preventing spam in phpBB 3.0.6 and above

highpowersites
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by highpowersites » Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:24 pm

I downloaded this but don't see how to install and use it.

Thanks,
Scott

highpowersites
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by highpowersites » Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:27 pm

Would it be possible to get someone to install this for me? I will pay of course.

Scott

User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Hippie459MN » Sun Sep 27, 2009 5:05 pm

highpowersites wrote:Would it be possible to get someone to install this for me? I will pay of course.

Scott
Might want do read up a bit...

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 16&t=61611

and

http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/how-to- ... ification/

Hope that helps. :D

User avatar
onehundredandtwo
Registered User
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:07 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by onehundredandtwo » Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:11 am

and any changes that are made to prosilver should be done to yourstyle instead. ;)
Need help preventing spam? Read Preventing spam in phpBB 3.0.6 and above

zhihong
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:27 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by zhihong » Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:34 pm

Hippie459MN wrote:
Jaztar wrote:V1.2.0 DOES NOT WORK WITH v3.0.5.

Upon the registration page it does not show the row / field to enter confirm code, however upon Submit, it requests the confirm code. I went in to ACP and disabled this MOD. Registration works fine now.

How do I go about removing the MOD from phpbbv3.0.5?
This does work on 3.0.5 as I am running it on 3 of my personal boards without a problem and I have installed it for about 15 others and they all work just fine. Double check all of your edits and also dont forget to do the style edits.
I met the same problem as Jaztar did: upon the registration page it does not show the row / field to enter confirm code.

Where to do the style edits?

Wotty
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:35 pm

Where abouts should answer box appear ?

Post by Wotty » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:47 pm

Hi guys,
Where abouts on the registration page should the answer box appear :?:

Mine appears just below the "Board Index" link on the left hand side.

http://www.lancingindependent.co.uk/php ... er&coppa=0

I thought it would have appeared under the "Confirm Password" box.

Your comments please :)

User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Hippie459MN » Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:09 pm

Look in the contrib folder for the style edits if if they are not in the main install file. :roll:

Wotty, You placed the edits in the wrong place. Double check your edits.

User avatar
BucsFan
Registered User
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 2:41 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by BucsFan » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:05 pm

I would just like to say that I've had this mod installed on my board for several months and since installing it, I have not had a single spam bot registration... and thats with captcha disabled.
Hostgator - The very best webhosting available on the net
The most reliable uptime - The lowest prices - Excellent tech support

cs09
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:07 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by cs09 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:49 pm

Very good mod I must say, it worked great!

However, I have a question. How to put the position below the "confirm password" instead of below the "email address"? It just doesn't looks right for me..

Image

bicky1980
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:43 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by bicky1980 » Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:14 pm

Hello - I am using the Acid Tech Red style but obviously your instructions only cover the default styles - Could you point out where I need to insert the changes to make the question appear...The code for the style is as follows:

Code: Select all

[color=#FF0000]<!-- INCLUDE overall_header.html -->

<script type="text/javascript">
// <![CDATA[
	/**
	* Change language
	*/
	function change_language(lang_iso)
	{
		document.forms['register'].change_lang.value = lang_iso;
		document.forms['register'].submit.click();
	}
	
// ]]>
</script>

<form name="register" method="post" action="{S_UCP_ACTION}">

{$CA_BLOCK_START}
{$CA_CAP2_START}{L_REGISTRATION}{$CA_CAP2_END}
<table class="tablebg" width="100%" cellspacing="{$CA_SPACING}">

<!-- IF ERROR -->
	<tr>
		<td class="row3" colspan="2" align="center"><span class="gensmall error">{ERROR}</span></td>
	</tr>
<!-- ENDIF -->

<!-- IF L_REG_COND -->
	<tr> 
		<td class="row2" colspan="2"><span class="gensmall">{L_REG_COND}</span></td>
	</tr>
<!-- ENDIF -->
<!-- IF .profile_fields -->
	<tr> 
		<td class="row2" colspan="2"><span class="gensmall">{L_ITEMS_REQUIRED}</span></td>
	</tr>
<!-- ENDIF -->

<tr>
	<td class="row1" width="38%"><b class="genmed">{L_USERNAME}: </b><br /><span class="gensmall">{L_USERNAME_EXPLAIN}</span></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="text" name="username" size="25" value="{USERNAME}" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_EMAIL_ADDRESS}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="text" name="email" size="25" maxlength="100" value="{EMAIL}" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_CONFIRM_EMAIL}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="text" name="email_confirm" size="25" maxlength="100" value="{EMAIL_CONFIRM}" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_PASSWORD}: </b><br /><span class="gensmall">{L_PASSWORD_EXPLAIN}</span></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="password" name="new_password" size="25" value="{PASSWORD}" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_CONFIRM_PASSWORD}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="password" name="password_confirm" size="25" value="{PASSWORD_CONFIRM}" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_LANGUAGE}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><select name="lang" onchange="change_language(this.value); return false;">{S_LANG_OPTIONS}</select></td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_TIMEZONE}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><select name="tz">{S_TZ_OPTIONS}</select></td>
</tr>
<!-- BEGIN profile_fields -->
	<tr>
		<td class="row1" width="35%">
			<b class="genmed">{profile_fields.LANG_NAME}: </b>
			<!-- IF profile_fields.S_REQUIRED --><b>*</b><!-- ENDIF -->
			<!-- IF profile_fields.LANG_EXPLAIN --><br /><span class="gensmall">{profile_fields.LANG_EXPLAIN}</span><!-- ENDIF -->
		</td>
		<td class="row2">{profile_fields.FIELD}<!-- IF profile_fields.ERROR --><br /><span class="gensmall error">{profile_fields.ERROR}</span><!-- ENDIF --></td>
	</tr>
<!-- END profile_fields -->

<!-- IF S_CONFIRM_CODE -->
	<tr>
		<th colspan="2" valign="middle">{L_CONFIRMATION}</th>
	</tr>
	<tr>
		<td class="row3" colspan="2"><span class="gensmall">{L_CONFIRM_EXPLAIN}</span></td>
	</tr>
	<tr>
		<td class="row1" colspan="2" align="center">{CONFIRM_IMG}</td>
	</tr>
	<tr>
		<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_CONFIRM_CODE}: </b><br /><span class="gensmall">{L_CONFIRM_CODE_EXPLAIN}</span></td>
		<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="text" name="confirm_code" size="8" maxlength="8" /></td>
	</tr>
<!-- ENDIF -->

<!-- IF S_COPPA -->
	<tr>
		<th colspan="2" valign="middle">{L_COPPA_COMPLIANCE}</th>
	</tr>
	<tr>
		<td class="row3" colspan="2"><span class="gensmall">{L_COPPA_EXPLAIN}</span></td>
	</tr>
<!-- ENDIF -->

<tr>
	<td class="cat" colspan="2" align="center">{S_HIDDEN_FIELDS}<input class="btnmain" type="submit" name="submit" id="submit" value="{L_SUBMIT}" />&nbsp;&nbsp;<input class="btnlite" type="reset" value="{L_RESET}" name="reset" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
{$CA_BLOCK_END}
{S_FORM_TOKEN}
</form>

<!-- INCLUDE overall_footer.html -->[/color]
Thanks In advance - BTW good MOD!

Edited ***Sorted now*** - For anyone who's interested...This is how I did it...

Locate the following in your 'ucp_register.html'

Code: Select all

<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_CONFIRM_PASSWORD}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="password" name="password_confirm" size="25" value="{PASSWORD_CONFIRM}" /></td>
</tr>
and replace with...

Code: Select all

<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_CONFIRM_PASSWORD}: </b></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="password" name="password_confirm" size="25" value="{PASSWORD_CONFIRM}" /></td>
</tr>
<!-- IF S_ABQ_CODE -->
<tr>
	<td class="row1"><b class="genmed">{L_AB_QUESTION}:</b><br /><span class="gensmall">{L_AB_QUESTION_EXPLAIN}</span></td>
	<td class="row2"><input class="post" type="text" name="AB_Question" size="25" maxlength="100" value="{AB_QUESTION}" /></td>
</tr>
<!-- ENDIF -->
Was having problem with spam bots - This should do the trick now! thanks loads! :D
Last edited by bicky1980 on Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
darodent
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:28 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by darodent » Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:22 am

Great mod! I'm using this on my 3.0.5 board instead of the captcha and it's working like a charm.

Richazey
Registered User
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:03 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Richazey » Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:56 pm

Been using this a while and not had any spammer bots since then, thanks

w0rld_life
Registered User
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by w0rld_life » Thu Oct 22, 2009 5:18 pm

I have done as everything says... added the sql..

but the problem is that its not visible in the registration form... :|

Everything is fine in acp.. i can enable/disable and add the question/answer... :)

Im using MilkeyWay theme (subsilver2)....

So please help...

and i also have another problem... everything looks fine using firefox...but using ie when i go to the registration page everything is ZOOMED :?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”