Anti-Bot Question

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
User avatar
CoC
Registered User
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:16 am
Location: Coventry
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by CoC » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:27 pm

magicked wrote:I also had a problem with this not liking some of my questions. I tried two different questions that both had single letter answers. They were:

What is the 3rd letter of the alphabet (english)?

That didn't work, so then I changed it to the 4th letter, which also didn't work.

I then tried a question that had a two word answer, and it liked that one.
Strange, I tried the exact same question and answer and registered just fine.
radr57 wrote:When I was trying to activate the anti-bot question in my ACP, I've got this error:

Snip

bacon tacon wrote:I've got exactly the same error - soon as I entered a question/reponse and submitted to activate Anti-Bot Question.
I believe it's because the cache wasn't purged before trying to set the answer and question, but I haven't had to time to check that theory yet.

User avatar
bacon tacon
Registered User
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by bacon tacon » Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:42 pm

Thank you CoC - that was it. Purging the cache is new to me and solves another problem I was having, I think.

Purge cache - delete all online /phpBB/cache/ files

Better still - in your ACP under the General tab find Purge the cache and hit Run now.
Last edited by bacon tacon on Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

radr57
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:21 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by radr57 » Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:52 am

CoC wrote: I believe it's because the cache wasn't purged before trying to set the answer and question, but I haven't had to time to check that theory yet.
Yep, that was it.

Orm
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:26 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Orm » Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:00 pm

I have a problem with this mod,
Everything under the “Admin control panel” -> “User registration settings” is fine: the switch is there, the question box and answer boxes are there.
But under “User registration panel” (through which a forum visitor can register to become a member) there are no extra boxes. Everything is as before installing the mod.
I have tried to reinstall the mod several times (now I made a clean phpBB3 install (before I used converting from php2 to php3) and installed this mod and it still doesn’t work)

I am a beginner but I inserted SQL queries under phpMyAdmin. After that I changed FTP files one by one - copied code text from instruction and pasted it on the right place in right files (after or before, just as said in the instruction)
If I saw that mod isn’t working, then I tried to purge the catch, delete catch files manually and after that switch question mod on again and determine the question and answers, but it didn’t help. At the same time, I haven’t tried to purge catch right after fresh mod installation – haven’t tried to purge catch and delete catch files manually before switching the mod in for the first time.
Can anybody please help me?
External phpBB3 forum of Estonian Paganism http://www.mentalworld.eu

Fridge
Registered User
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:41 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Fridge » Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:42 pm

Did you made the changes to your style templates ? Look for the files prosilver.xml and subsilver2.xml in the templates dir.
After finishing with that renew your templates and empty your cache in the admin panel.

@CoC, thnx for this mod, installed it and works fine Image
Don't have a spambot problem at my board but always handy to have when needed ;)

Orm
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:26 am

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Orm » Mon Jan 07, 2008 1:15 pm

Fridge wrote:Did you made the changes to your style templates ? Look for the files prosilver.xml and subsilver2.xml in the templates dir.
After finishing with that renew your templates and empty your cache in the admin panel.

@CoC, thnx for this mod, installed it and works fine Image
Don't have a spambot problem at my board but always handy to have when needed ;)
I didn't make changes to style templates. Thank You.
External phpBB3 forum of Estonian Paganism http://www.mentalworld.eu

Philthy
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:05 am
Location: Dawlish, Devon
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Philthy » Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:44 pm

Orm wrote:I have a problem with this mod,
Everything under the “Admin control panel” -> “User registration settings” is fine: the switch is there, the question box and answer boxes are there.
But under “User registration panel” (through which a forum visitor can register to become a member) there are no extra boxes. Everything is as before installing the mod.
I have tried to reinstall the mod several times (now I made a clean phpBB3 install (before I used converting from php2 to php3) and installed this mod and it still doesn’t work)

I am a beginner but I inserted SQL queries under phpMyAdmin. After that I changed FTP files one by one - copied code text from instruction and pasted it on the right place in right files (after or before, just as said in the instruction)
If I saw that mod isn’t working, then I tried to purge the catch, delete catch files manually and after that switch question mod on again and determine the question and answers, but it didn’t help. At the same time, I haven’t tried to purge catch right after fresh mod installation – haven’t tried to purge catch and delete catch files manually before switching the mod in for the first time.
Can anybody please help me?
I'm having the exact same problem.
Fresh install of 3.0 it all apears in the acp, and the database has been altered, and is storing the questions, it just doesn't appear on the registration page.
Go on ! it's not as steep as it looks.....

Fridge
Registered User
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:41 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Fridge » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:14 pm

Philthy wrote:I'm having the exact same problem.
Fresh install of 3.0 it all apears in the acp, and the database has been altered, and is storing the questions, it just doesn't appear on the registration page.
Did you read my answer tot that problem ?

Philthy
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:05 am
Location: Dawlish, Devon
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Philthy » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:20 pm

Fridge wrote:
Philthy wrote:I'm having the exact same problem.
Fresh install of 3.0 it all apears in the acp, and the database has been altered, and is storing the questions, it just doesn't appear on the registration page.
Did you read my answer tot that problem ?
I read it fridge, but haven't done anything to the styles and neither had Orm?
The install.xml didn't mention anything about changing these files. Did we miss something?
Go on ! it's not as steep as it looks.....

Philthy
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:05 am
Location: Dawlish, Devon
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Philthy » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:26 pm

Found it.
It seems the installation instructions are in two parts, with no reference to the template change in the first ? :(
Go on ! it's not as steep as it looks.....

Fridge
Registered User
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:41 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Fridge » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:27 pm

Orm got the message and you clearly didn't, there is a dir named templates and in that dir you will find 2 files named prosilver.xml and subsilver2.xml, they contain the changes to your style template file. ;)

Edit: you've got the message :D

boberonicus
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 7:30 am

Getting close...

Post by boberonicus » Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:25 pm

Hi,

I've installed this well designed mod (manually) and I'm pretty close to getting it working.

I'm able to create the questions in the admin panel, and I can see the question during registration. However, the answer text is pre-filled with the word "array" for some odd reason and the correct answer to the question is not accepted.

I queried the SQL database and confirmed that the answer was correctly associated with the "abanswer" field. No trailing spaces, etc. Cache was cleared and templates refreshed (there is no "renew template" option that I can find.)

Any ideas? The forum is:
http://openeichler.com/phpBB3


Thanks,

Robert

User avatar
brynhils
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:47 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by brynhils » Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:40 pm

The SQL doesn't seem to want to accept properly. I keep getting the following error in MyphpAdmin.
MyphpAdmin wrote: SQL query:

INSERT INTO phpbb_config( config_name, config_value, is_dynamic )
VALUES (

'enable_abquestion', '0', '0'
)

MySQL said:

#1054 - Unknown column 'config_name' in 'field list'

Tiberun
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:19 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by Tiberun » Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:29 pm

Found the answer...sorry

johnbarrick
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:46 pm

Re: Anti-Bot Question

Post by johnbarrick » Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:19 pm

I have made all the edits for mod version 1.0.4 to:
  • includes/ucp/ucp_register.php

    includes/acp/acp_board.php

    language/en/acp/board.php

    language/en/ucp.php

    language/en/common.php

    styles/prosilver/template/ucp_register.html

    styles/subsilver2/template/ucp_register.html


The MySQL changes have been made.

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value, is_dynamic) VALUES ('enable_abquestion', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value, is_dynamic) VALUES ('abquestion','','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value, is_dynamic) VALUES ('abanswer','','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value, is_dynamic) VALUES ('abanswer2','','0');
When I have the Anti-Bot Question turned on, there is no question that appears as part of the registration yet when trying to register there is the error for an incorrect response.

I purged my cache and the problem still exists.

Apparently I am missing something. Help!

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”