SEO MOD

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
ever-fresh
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates.
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by ever-fresh » Mon May 12, 2008 6:22 pm

shi_it... i am in a serious trouble regarding this code:
Find

Code: Select all

trigger_error('NO_TOPIC');
}
Add after

Code: Select all

$topic_title = $topic_data['topic_title'];
$forum_name = $topic_data['forum_name'];
The find line is 8 Times in viewtopic.php :evil: :evil:
do i Edit each time or just 1 time ?

XToF.be
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:52 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by XToF.be » Tue May 13, 2008 9:50 am

I changed to another host (bluehost). So I copied all the files from the old server to the new server, made a new database on the new server and created a username for the database. After this I changed my config.php file.
Since the .htaccess file was not included in the copied files of the old server (.htaccess on the old server is not shown in the ftp-program), I made a new .htaccess file. This file has only the code lines that can be found in the installation file of this MOD in it. To test it, I dropped this file on the old server in the root folder and there are no problems on my board. So this file should be ok.
At the moment my website is running on a temporary web adress:
http://69.89.31.234/~antforum/

When placing the .htaccess file on the new server, any link to a topic or forum generates an infite URL. e.g. http://69.89.31.234/~antforum/~antforum ... a12455e196

I tested if my new host supports mod_rewrite, so I checked the '/test-t1.html' page, which resulted in a 404 error.
I contacted my new host to ask if mod_rewrite is supported and they confirmed. When I asked if mod_rewrite is supported on the temporary web adress they answered: 'Yes it should'.
Can somebody give me some advice?

Bawls
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:28 am

Re: SEO MOD

Post by Bawls » Wed May 14, 2008 2:45 am

XToF.be wrote:I changed to another host (bluehost). So I copied all the files from the old server to the new server, made a new database on the new server and created a username for the database. After this I changed my config.php file.
Since the .htaccess file was not included in the copied files of the old server (.htaccess on the old server is not shown in the ftp-program), I made a new .htaccess file. This file has only the code lines that can be found in the installation file of this MOD in it. To test it, I dropped this file on the old server in the root folder and there are no problems on my board. So this file should be ok.
At the moment my website is running on a temporary web adress:
http://69.89.31.234/~antforum/

When placing the .htaccess file on the new server, any link to a topic or forum generates an infite URL. e.g. http://69.89.31.234/~antforum/~antforum ... a12455e196

I tested if my new host supports mod_rewrite, so I checked the '/test-t1.html' page, which resulted in a 404 error.
I contacted my new host to ask if mod_rewrite is supported and they confirmed. When I asked if mod_rewrite is supported on the temporary web adress they answered: 'Yes it should'.
Can somebody give me some advice?
Really can't give you any advice, but I too am hosted with bluehost and they support mod_rewrite

XToF.be
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:52 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by XToF.be » Thu May 15, 2008 3:10 pm

The reason for my problem was that the board was running on a temporary web adress. The board is working without any problems now.

pappfer
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:05 pm

Re: SEO MOD

Post by pappfer » Fri May 16, 2008 9:46 am

I'm having a different pagination error. When I'm browsing a topic and it has like 10 pages and I click on for example page 10 (within the topic) it only puts me on page 6 (it can't jump more then 5 pages).

Pagination works fine in viewforum, the problem only happens in viewtopic.

edit: I found another bug: in egosearch (/search.php?search_id=egosearch) if you clicked on the little orange icon to take you to the newest unread post it didn't.

Fix for it:
In search.php find:

Code: Select all

$view_topic_url = append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}viewtopic.$phpEx", "f=$u_forum_id&t=$result_topic_id" . (($u_hilit) ? "&hilit=$u_hilit" : ''));
Replace with:

Code: Select all

$view_topic_url = format_url($row['topic_title'], "t$result_topic_id", $start);

Bawls
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:28 am

Re: SEO MOD

Post by Bawls » Fri May 16, 2008 12:25 pm

Bawls wrote:Hey all,
I finished up installing this mod. It's working great, however I have one issue. When a topic notification email is received, the link to the topic reply (i.e.: http://specv.net/forum/11may08-updates- ... 1823#p1823) runs into a 404.

Any ideas?
After reading through all the pages, looks like this hasn't been fixed yet.

XToF.be
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:52 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by XToF.be » Fri May 16, 2008 12:54 pm

The SEO MOD is giving problems when displaying latest posts in an RSS feed. It's not the case when displaying topics. This is the error I get in my webbrowser that is caused by the SEO MOD:
Algemene fout
SQL ERROR [ mysqli ]

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'phpbb_topics t WHERE t.topic_id = p.topic_id AND t.topic_id = 1496' at line 3 [1064]

SQL

SELECT t.topic_title FROM phpbb_posts p phpbb_topics t WHERE t.topic_id = p.topic_id AND t.topic_id = 1496

BACKTRACE

FILE: includes/db/mysqli.php
LINE: 143
CALL: dbal->sql_error()

FILE: includes/functions_seo.php
LINE: 164
CALL: dbal_mysqli->sql_query()

FILE: viewtopic.php
LINE: 62
CALL: moved_topic()
These are the php code lines of the mentioned .php files:
FILE: includes/db/mysqli.php

Code: Select all

function sql_query($query = '', $cache_ttl = 0)
125 	{
126 		if ($query != '')
127 		{
128 			global $cache;
129 
130 			// EXPLAIN only in extra debug mode
131 			if (defined('DEBUG_EXTRA'))
132 			{
133 				$this->sql_report('start', $query);
134 			}
135 
136 			$this->query_result = ($cache_ttl && method_exists($cache, 'sql_load')) ? $cache->sql_load($query) : false;
137 			$this->sql_add_num_queries($this->query_result);
138 
139 			if ($this->query_result === false)
140 			{
141 				if (($this->query_result = @mysqli_query($this->db_connect_id, $query)) === false)
142 				{
143 					$this->sql_error($query);
144 				}
145 
146 				if (defined('DEBUG_EXTRA'))
147 				{
148 					$this->sql_report('stop', $query);
149 				}
150 
151 				if ($cache_ttl && method_exists($cache, 'sql_save'))
152 				{
153 					$cache->sql_save($query, $this->query_result, $cache_ttl);
154 				}
155 			}
156 			else if (defined('DEBUG_EXTRA'))
157 			{
158 				$this->sql_report('fromcache', $query);
159 			}
160 		}
161 		else
162 		{
163 			return false;
164 		}
165 
166 		return ($this->query_result) ? $this->query_result : false;
167 	}

FILE: includes/functions_seo.php

Code: Select all

141 function moved_topic($id, $type, $start = 0)
142 {
143 	global $phpbb_root_path, $phpEx, $db;
144 
145 	$path = (!empty($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'])) ? $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'] : getenv('REQUEST_URI');
146 	if (substr($path, 1, 10 + strlen($phpEx)) == 'viewtopic.' . $phpEx)
147 	{
148 		if ($type == 'topic')
149 		{
150 			$sql = 'SELECT topic_title
151 				FROM ' . TOPICS_TABLE . "
152 				WHERE topic_id = $id";
153 			$newid = "t$id";
154 		}
155 		else
156 		{
157 			$sql = 'SELECT t.topic_title
158 				FROM ' . POSTS_TABLE . ' p
159 					' . TOPICS_TABLE . " t
160 				WHERE t.topic_id = p.topic_id
161 					AND t.topic_id = $id";
162 			$newid = "p$id";
163 		}
164 		$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
165 		$topic_title = clean_url($db->sql_fetchfield('topic_title'));
166 		$db->sql_freeresult($result);
167 
168 		header('HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently');
169 		header('Location: ' . format_url($topic_title, $newid, $start));
170 		exit();
171 	}
172 	return;
173 }

FILE: viewtopic.php

Code: Select all

  50 // Do we have a topic or post id?
  51 if (!$topic_id && !$post_id)
  52 {
  53 	trigger_error('NO_TOPIC');
  54 }
  55 $id = $topic_id;
  56 $type = 'topic';
  57 if (!$topic_id)
  58 {
  59 	$id = $post_id;
  60 	$type = 'post';
  61 }
  62 moved_topic($id, $type);
ToonArmy wrote in the RSS MOD topic that there is a comma missing in the SQL statement. Can somebody give me some support to fix this so that I can use RSS on my board, please?

AllGo
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by AllGo » Fri May 16, 2008 6:34 pm

Change your moved_topic in functions_seo.php from:

Code: Select all

$sql = 'SELECT t.topic_title
             FROM ' . POSTS_TABLE . ' p
                ' . TOPICS_TABLE . " t
             WHERE t.topic_id = p.topic_id
                AND t.topic_id = $id";
          $newid = "p$id";
To:

Code: Select all

$sql = 'SELECT t.topic_title
				FROM ' . POSTS_TABLE . ' p,
					' . TOPICS_TABLE . " t
				WHERE t.topic_id = p.topic_id
					AND p.post_id = $id";
			$newid = "p$id";

XToF.be
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:52 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by XToF.be » Fri May 16, 2008 6:54 pm

Thanks a lot! Your code fixed the issue ;).

pappfer
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:05 pm

Re: SEO MOD

Post by pappfer » Fri May 16, 2008 11:30 pm

pappfer wrote:I'm having a different pagination error. When I'm browsing a topic and it has like 10 pages and I click on for example page 10 (within the topic) it only puts me on page 6 (it can't jump more then 5 pages).
I finally managed to fix this. Here's the fix:

In includes/functions_seo.php find:

Code: Select all

$page_string .= ($on_page == $total_pages) ? '<strong>' . $total_pages . '</strong>' : '<a href="' . append_seo_sid($base_url . 's' . (($i - 1) * $per_page) . $append) . '">' . $total_pages . '</a>';
Replace with:

Code: Select all

$page_string .= ($on_page == $total_pages) ? '<strong>' . $total_pages . '</strong>' : '<a href="' . append_seo_sid($base_url . 's' . (($total_pages - 1) * $per_page) . $append) . '">' . $total_pages . '</a>';

Ann_L
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:18 pm

Re: select forum from option box is not url rewritten

Post by Ann_L » Sat May 17, 2008 6:19 am

Ann_L wrote:On selecting a forum from the option box(jumpbox which lists all the forums) in the viewforum.php & viewtopic.php, the url goes to viewforum.php.. It is not called by the new url. Anyone have worked on it?
Any fix for this??

pappfer
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:05 pm

Re: SEO MOD

Post by pappfer » Sat May 17, 2008 3:56 pm

I'm using this MOD in a live environment with more than 15 000 users and almost 170 000 posts. I know this MOD is not supposed to be installed on a live environment. Although I tested it on my server before putting it on a live environment but I didn't notice most of the bugs what my users reported since it's going live.

I think I will be able to fix almost all bugs eventually but I'm puzzled what to do.
My concern is about what happening when an update for phpBB will be released (3.0.2).
If I change the code in a lots of places what will happen if I use the automatic update? I'm afraid it'll overwrite some of my modifications, that is why I'm considering removing this SEO mod (and uploading my previous backup).

What do you think should I look for and correct bugs (cause a phpBB update won't do any harm) or I'd rather upload my backup and remove SEO mod?

User avatar
mitthoo
Registered User
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: SEO MOD

Post by mitthoo » Sun May 18, 2008 6:23 pm

Hi,

I have porovista theme installed. Also i have user blogs installed on my forum.

the problem i have is a bit strange..

i'll show you

goto this page

http://forum.revolutioners.com/blog/Swo ... s_b-2.html

User Teest password 123456


and now move your mouse on Arcade or Blogs. and see the status bar.. the link is changing to something strange.. i don't know what is wrong. what is the fault..

please help. it is happening since SEO installed...

User avatar
mitthoo
Registered User
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: SEO MOD

Post by mitthoo » Mon May 19, 2008 5:15 pm

Got it working.. :D :D

User avatar
Damien Boyle
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by Damien Boyle » Tue May 20, 2008 5:40 am

Keep getting this error when i use print...

Code: Select all

General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'FROM phpbb_topics WHERE topic_id = 41' at line 2 [1064]

SQL

SELECT forum_id , FROM phpbb_topics WHERE topic_id = 41

BACKTRACE


FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 158
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: viewtopic.php
LINE: 55
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()
Any ideas?

Thanks alot

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”