SEO MOD

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
rwap01
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by rwap01 »

luazo wrote:I have 2 problem, please help me

First: I use it in a Vietnamese forum, I give an examle, my forum has a topic named "Diễn đàn Trung học TPHCM", so the link on the address is : http://www.forum.trandainghia.info/main ... TPHCM.html. But if you copy this link to another one. It becomes "http://www.forum.trandainghia.info/main ... TPHCM.html . I want to change its name to English like : á changes to a, ê changes to e, etc. How can I do that?

Second: A topic in my forum has 8 pages. So if I click on the name of the topic, It's ok. But when I click on the page number under the name of the topic, it shows me " The page cannot be displayed". And after 30 minutes, i discover the link is wrong. When I click on the number under the name of the topic, the link is " http://www.forum.trandainghia.info/main ... 29s160.php" and if I change the extension "php" to "html" like this "http://www.forum.trandainghia.info/main ... 9s160.html", it's ok. How can I change it automatically? Because my members will not know it.

Please help me with 2 problems above. Thank you very much :(
Have you looked at my
Essential Fixes Post - this includes fixes for foreign characters and also the problem of pageination that you have described (as well as a lot more bug fixes which you need to install).
User avatar
*Capmaster*
Registered User
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 5:00 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by *Capmaster* »

Too buggy. I did all the essential fixes and I still get a page load error trying to click on successive pages of a topic from forumview.

The sad thing is that it is so close to working ... after I initially installed it without the fixes, it was rewrituing the URLs like a champ. Then I tried the topic pages and .... :roll:

I'll wait for the sequel. This one isn't quite ready for primetime.
r4dsking
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by r4dsking »

I have a weird problem, when i have my forum in root under newposts if you click on page 2 it will go back to page 1.

http://www.r4ds-forums.com/search.php?s ... ive_topics

But if i change the directory of the forums it works fine. why would that be?

here in a different directory it works even tho it is the same files. click on threads with pages 1,2,3,4,5 will go to the correct page.

http://www.r4ds-forums.com/forum/search ... ive_topics
Last edited by r4dsking on Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
autinhyeu
Registered User
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:34 am
Location: Vietnamese
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by autinhyeu »

is this MOD work with thanks post MOD???
phpBB Community in Vietnamese: http://www.phpbbvn.com

Sorry, my English language is fine impossible
r4dsking
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by r4dsking »

.
Last edited by r4dsking on Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

SEO MOD and Advance Meta Tags MOD Conflict Issue.

Post by microtekblue »

Hello,

First I installed Advance Meta Tags Mod.

And Now I am trying to Install SEO MOD.

The Problem is happening with the SEO Mod where on the VIEWTOPICS.PHP edit, on the last part of the mod sheet, it says to:

Find
Tip: This may be a partial find and not the whole line.

Code: Select All
page_header($user->lang['VIEW_TOPIC'] .' - ' . $topic_data['topic_title']);
Replace With
Tip: Replace the preceding line(s) to find with the following lines.

Code: Select All
page_header($topic_data['topic_title']);


The Problem is that when I found the appropriate code it has ALREADY been altered by Advance Meta Tags MOD.

Here what it said:

page_header($user->lang['VIEW_TOPIC'] .' - ' . $topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text); // true, post_text added by Advanced Meta Tags MOD

So how Do I work around this?

What line do I put there so that Both SEO MOD and Advance MetaTags Mod work correctly?

All Help and Suggestions would GREATLY be appreciated.

The forum in question is healthnutritionforum.com

Thank all for the help in advance.

Thank you.
nadalbg
Registered User
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:58 pm
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by nadalbg »

I would like to know that too since i have installed advanced meta tags mod.
binary_gangster
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:39 am

Re: SEO MOD

Post by binary_gangster »

Try using

Code: Select all

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text);
See if that returns any errors... Obviously the SEO mod doesn't want the topic title to appear, but in order for the meta keywords mod to work, it needs the info from $first_post_text

Ideally, this will give SEO mod what it wants and just ignore the extraneous data
microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: SEO MOD

Post by microtekblue »

binary_gangster wrote:Try using

Code: Select all

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text);
See if that returns any errors... Obviously the SEO mod doesn't want the topic title to appear, but in order for the meta keywords mod to work, it needs the info from $first_post_text

Ideally, this will give SEO mod what it wants and just ignore the extraneous data

Hi, Thanks for that...but that code doesn't work either.

The only thing that seems to work is "page_header($topic_data['topic_title']);"

But then the Advanced Meta Tags Mod doesnt work properly.

Any other ideas? We need some thing that will make both Mods work correctly. As this will be a problem for anyone who tries installing both Mods.

These 2 mods are IDEAL for SEO purposes and this should be resolved for best results.

Thanks all for the suggestions and help in advance. :)
r4dsking
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by r4dsking »

How do i remove this mod from database?
microtekblue
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:10 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: SEO MOD

Post by microtekblue »

Good Question...I would like to know too..

Heres an Alternative solution to make your site seo friendly.

Check out http://www.phpbb-seo.com/

They also have a premod version of phpbb 3.0 so that you dont have to do anything, just install it and its ready to go.
Forsaker
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:16 pm

Re: SEO MOD

Post by Forsaker »

Got 2 wired problems with your SEO-Mod.

1) If i am in a forum and want to view Page X of a topic, it adds .php instead of .html to the end of file-name and gets a 404 Error.

2) If i am in a topic and want to scroll (for example) from page 1 to last(200) by clicking the number 200, it brings me to page 6. Next click on 200 bringts me to 10.

Demo : http://forums.diablogamer.com
phpbb 3.0.2
binary_gangster
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:39 am

Re: SEO MOD

Post by binary_gangster »

before you post your bugs, make sure you read

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p5716395
rwap01
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: SEO MOD

Post by rwap01 »

microtekblue wrote:
binary_gangster wrote:Try using

Code: Select all

page_header($topic_data['topic_title']) ,true, $first_post_text);
See if that returns any errors... Obviously the SEO mod doesn't want the topic title to appear, but in order for the meta keywords mod to work, it needs the info from $first_post_text

Ideally, this will give SEO mod what it wants and just ignore the extraneous data

Hi, Thanks for that...but that code doesn't work either.

The only thing that seems to work is "page_header($topic_data['topic_title']);"

But then the Advanced Meta Tags Mod doesnt work properly.

Any other ideas? We need some thing that will make both Mods work correctly. As this will be a problem for anyone who tries installing both Mods.

These 2 mods are IDEAL for SEO purposes and this should be resolved for best results.

Thanks all for the suggestions and help in advance. :)
The problem will be on how the advanced meta tags mod handles the page_header call - maybe copy the subroutine here and we can see how it parses its parameters.
adrianfan
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:51 am

Re: SEO MOD

Post by adrianfan »

Question: Where do I insert the following
$topic_title = $topic_data['topic_title'];
$forum_name = $topic_data['forum_name'];

after these
trigger_error('NO_TOPIC');
}
in viewtopic.php

As there are about 8 of the same code.

Sorry new to phpbb. Thanks in advance.

==EDIT==

Its ok already. Managed to find out which line to add in. Thanks for this wonderful MOD.!!
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”