Auto Groups

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
free4trample
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Auto Groups

Post by free4trample » Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:51 am

When I installed phobb3 i used phpbb1_ table prefix instead of default phpbb_. I have added 1 in the sql query so db was altered using pbpbb1_ table prefix. I see no change to ACP at all. there is no place to setup Autogroups post counts etc. My question is: will AutoGroups work with table prefix phpbb1_ instead of phpbb_ or do I have to reinstall my phpbb?

thanks

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16417
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by david63 » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:52 am

free4trample wrote:My question is: will AutoGroups work with table prefix phpbb1_ instead of phpbb_
As long as you have the correct table prefix it will work with any table prefix.

There are two things that you need to be aware of;

1. You will need to purge the cache.

2. You will only see the "new" options in the user groups that you have created - they do not appear in the default groups
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

krustik
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:09 pm

Re: Auto Groups

Post by krustik » Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:06 pm

will i be able to move all users from group "a" to a group "b" using this MOD?

Thanks

User avatar
MaxHeadroom
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by MaxHeadroom » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:32 pm

Hi Jelly,

just wondering, will you in a future include the ability have a timebased move to groups (better explained here)?
The swedish word for speed is 'fart'.
If you don't want to drive to get money, why are you in a cruise server? -dougie-lampkin

MaxHeadroom.nu - FZ.se - C L C & Server status - My stats: LFSw, QS
Image

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:51 pm

MaxHeadroom: It is not currently planned.

krustik: Yes, you could do that.

Pavobe: I don't really understand you, but I don't plan that feature either.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

pavobe
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by pavobe » Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:08 pm

A_Jelly_Doughnut wrote:I don't really understand you
My idea is not related to global moderators. I have to mods groups. Moderators and GModerators. If I add an user to GMods everything is all right: forum permissions, mod permissions and user permissions. But in Moderators grup it should be something like that: If I add MOD permissions to any user in one or few forums, he is automaticly added to Moderators group. Why? Because he have to get more permissions, for example ignoring flood limit etc.

And now? Is it better?

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sat Mar 08, 2008 12:29 am

No, that feature is not planned
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16417
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by david63 » Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:30 am

Hi AJD

I have installed this mod and so far I have it working as I want. I have one group for new members with less than 10 posts and another group for full members with 10 or more posts and they move to and from the groups as I would expect. The only issue I had was with my moderators who went into the full members group but setting that group not to be their default group fixed that issue.

My query now is about permissions. Am I correct in thinking that I set the default "Registered members" group to have minimum permissions and my new "Full members" group to have the permissions that Registered members originally had and then my "New members" group to have whatever permissions that I deem necessary i.e. somewhere in between "Registered members" (no permissions) and "Full members" (full permissions).
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:47 am

david63: Yes, that is all correct.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

User avatar
Stitch625
Registered User
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by Stitch625 » Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:03 pm

Well it's me again. Been a while since I have had a problem but I did post about this a long time ago but no solution was resolved. Now that my board is picking up I am beginning to notice this problem more often.

Myself, I have like 1700 posts
My Moderator has like 655 posts

Now whenever I delete a topic where either myself or my moderator has posted in, we get demoted to the respective group for our post count.

Example.

Group 1 has settings of min post = 500 max = 999
Group 2 has settings of min = 1000 max = 10000

Now when I delete a topic I have posted in, my default group changes to Group 2 since I meet the requirements.

When I delete a topic that my moderator has posted in his default groups fall back to Group 1 since he meets the requirements for that group.

Isn't there a way to make the default group stick for the admin and moderator so I don't have to always go back and reset the default groups ever time I delete a topic?

Thanks

nizouille
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 8:55 am

Re: Auto Groups

Post by nizouille » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:45 am

Would it be possible to add the feature to auto group based on a custom profile field ?
Any plans about this ?

Benjamin

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:25 pm

nizouille: It would be rather difficult and is not currently planned.

stitch625: Erg. I realize this is a problem for people, but I'm just not sure what to do about it. An exception list would not be practical, code-wise. And there is no good way to determine if a user is an admin or moderator unless that user is currently logged in. Best solution I see at the moment is to remove the automatic group default feature :?
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16417
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by david63 » Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:04 pm

Could you have a "Exception" group. i.e. you create a group into which you enter users that you do not want to be treated as ordinary users and the processing ignores these users.

Just a thought.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

CorporateGoth
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:39 pm

Re: Auto Groups

Post by CorporateGoth » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:25 pm

I installed this mod, but it kept screwing up when I had a minimum without a maximum value specified. For example I had something that would add someone to a group with a minimum of 4 warnings, with no maximum (ie. I want them in the group if they have 4+ warnings, and out if not).

I ended up modifying the 'matching' code inside the auto_group function to be like this:

Code: Select all


                if ($user_id == ANONYMOUS)
                  {
                      continue;
                  }
  
                  // If there is no limit, skip it.
                  if ((int) $data['group_min_' . $column] == 0 && (int) $data['group_max_' . $column] == 0)
                  {
                      continue;
                  }
  
                  // If they are outside the thresholds ...
                  if (($data['group_min_' . $column] != 0 && $value < $data['group_min_' . $column]) ||
                      ($data['group_max_' . $column] != 0 && $value > $data['group_max_' . $column]))
                  {
                      $remove_groups[$group_id][] = $user_id;
                  }
                  else if ((($data['group_min_' . $column] != 0 && $value >= $data['group_min_' . $column]) ||
                            ($data['group_max_' . $column] != 0 && $value <= $data['group_max_' . $column])) &&
                           (!isset($remove_groups[$group_id]) || !in_array($user_id, $remove_groups[$group_id])))
                  {
                      $add_groups[$group_id][] = $user_id;
                  }
This properly does the adding, but will ignore any limit with a value of '0'. Basically turning '0' into 'undefined' or 'limit not enforced'. It works properly now, and I can have a minimum limit without a maximum limit and it is all good.

Just figured it might help some people, or it could be put into the mainline for a future version.

PreZ :)

User avatar
Stitch625
Registered User
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Auto Groups

Post by Stitch625 » Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:14 am

Ok Jelly,

Thank you for your response.
I guess it really isn't too big a deal but hopefully you can come up with a fix for this. One thing that really bothered me is that some of the regular users that had posted to the topic I deleted had their avatars removed and replace by my default avatar. The default avatar is automatically assinged when a user registers until they change it. Not sure if this is due to the mod but I am almost sure it is because this has never happened before and I think this was the first time I removed an entire topic since I installed this mod. Something you may want to look in too.

Thanks Jelly.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”