Quick reply for phpBB3

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
CMA
Registered User
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by CMA » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:46 pm

:/

there are no install.php at contrib/install/ so where can i found that folder from? i need it to run at phpbb root...

Code: Select all

Copy contrib/install/install.php to your phpBB root directory and run it. Delete the file after running!.
but i will go ahead and try

Code: Select all

UPDATE phpbb_users SET user_options = user_options + 2048;
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('allow_quick_reply',1);
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('allow_quick_reply_options',0);
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('allow_quick_post',0);
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('allow_quick_post_options',0);
is it alright to update it?

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2955
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by rxu » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:01 pm

CMA wrote:there are no install.php at contrib/install/
It should be there, but anyway please download and use bugfixed version from here.

User avatar
CrazyDave
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:15 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV. USA

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by CrazyDave » Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:21 pm

i am currently using the style AcidTech(blue) which is not based off of either prosilver or subsilver2 :?

so i know that the basic template changes you have to make in the install.xml file for prosilver or subsilver2 will not work with my style. :roll:

can someone help me refine the template changes for this particular style?

CMA
Registered User
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by CMA » Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:33 pm

rxu wrote:
CMA wrote:there are no install.php at contrib/install/
It should be there, but anyway please download and use bugfixed version from here.
no, i think its because i use localhost...

anyway thank you for link...

is there something wrong to see debug line such as

Code: Select all

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in D:\xxx\_xxxxx\xxx\install.php on line 94


after complete install...?

btw i found this as best quick reply mod compare to mini/evil quick post and advance quick reply...


edit: i notice that your mod did not disable phpbb's bored original quick reply... of course its not big deal...

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2955
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by rxu » Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:21 pm

CrazyDave wrote:can someone help me refine the template changes for this particular style?
Please read this post where you can find some info to solve the problem ;)
CMA wrote:Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in D:\xxx\_xxxxx\xxx\install.php on line 94
Just several posts above... here's the workaround :)

CMA
Registered User
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by CMA » Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:40 pm

well it already installed...

do i need to edit it then re-install it?

btw i use php5.3...

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2955
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by rxu » Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:53 pm

CMA wrote:well it already installed...do i need to edit it then re-install it?
Nope, if it works fine.

sbox1
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by sbox1 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:51 pm

I guess I'm a moron. Ive used many different types of CMS and Forum applications and never found one that made mods/plugins so complicated. (not the plugin/mod, but the phpbb3 system for implementing them. This mod is great)

I download the Quick Reply to use with phpBB3.0.6 default installation with prosilver theme.

I'd like to install it however there is no readme file with any instructions at all so I have no idea where to begin.

Ive uploaded the files from the /root folder to their respective locations.

Now what? There is a contrib/install/install.php file. When I upload the install.php to my phpbb3 root folder and run it I get this error: "You haven't modified files in according to Quick reply MOD installation instruction." the file is at http://domain.com/install.php (my forum is running out of the root of my domain)

Where are the installation instructions?

Thanks.

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2955
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by rxu » Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:33 pm


michaeldcoates
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:16 pm

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by michaeldcoates » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:13 am

rxu wrote:
drzflow15 wrote:anybody know the query for quick reply (so users have it set automatically and don't have to edit their profile for the QR box to appear)?
Sure ;)

Code: Select all

'UPDATE phpbb_users SET user_options = user_options + 2048'

Is this the same code i should 'Run SQL query/queries on database' in phpmyadmin if i have 3.0.6? i ask because i had to do a different thing to the install script when installing - i had to use 'user_options' => 232319, in my function_user.php file.

Thanks

ps, i may be stupid but i see people talking about a control panel for quick reply in ACP but i can't find it, can someone please point me in the right direction?
Last edited by michaeldcoates on Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

sama.van
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:19 am
Location: Japan, Mie-Ken
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by sama.van » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:55 am

I have a little problem with the quick reply box and you can see that here :

http://samavan.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=231

- there is a quick reply box on the top
- before the first message there like a very tall blank space.
- and on the bottom another quick reply box...
- there is also a quick reply link on the right of the postReply button but the quick reply box is already open...

Then.... hmmm Did I do something wrong somewhere?

And I just updated my forum to the 3.06 version (was 3.04 before) thinkinf it will fix it... but didn't change anything....

Could someone help me to resolve this problem?

Really thank you,

sama.van

User avatar
BMX DIRECT
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Poison city

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by BMX DIRECT » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:14 pm

ive had this mod installed for a while but have been unable to use it properly.
When the QR is implemented on the ViewTopic and Submit is pressed everything happens as it should but the Subscription to the topic is not passed on. Infact it also unsubscribes you if previously subscribed to the topic.
Anyone have an idea how to fix this?

sama.van
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:19 am
Location: Japan, Mie-Ken
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by sama.van » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:12 pm

sama.van wrote:I have a little problem with the quick reply box and you can see that here :

http://samavan.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=231

- there is a quick reply box on the top
- before the first message there like a very tall blank space.
- and on the bottom another quick reply box...
- there is also a quick reply link on the right of the postReply button but the quick reply box is already open...

Then.... hmmm Did I do something wrong somewhere?

And I just updated my forum to the 3.06 version (was 3.04 before) thinkinf it will fix it... but didn't change anything....

Could someone help me to resolve this problem?

Really thank you,

sama.van
hmm I didn't know the quick reply was enable only if you were loggued then I created a temp user account :

login : test
password : testphp

And you can do some test here : http://samavan.com/community/viewtopic. ... 2061#p2061

After the update to 3.06 I finally installed the last version of the Quick reply but now I have 3 boxes quick reply! O_O!!!

One on the top and 2 on the bottom O_O... What the hell... :shock:

I already purged the cache etc... but now this is the apocalypse overthere :o

Could someone help me please? :oops:

Is there a tutorial for uninstall the old version of the MOD? :geek:

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2955
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by rxu » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:32 pm

sama.van wrote:After the update to 3.06 I finally installed the last version of the Quick reply but now I have 3 boxes quick reply! O_O!!!
What did you do? Did you install the MOD 3 times? :shock:
BMX DIRECT wrote:When the QR is implemented on the ViewTopic and Submit is pressed everything happens as it should but the Subscription to the topic is not passed on. Infact it also unsubscribes you if previously subscribed to the topic.
Is "Notify me when a reply is posted" checkbox of QR form checked while you're watching a topic you're replying?

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2955
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Quick reply for phpBB3

Post by rxu » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:34 pm

michaeldcoates wrote:Is this the same code i should 'Run SQL query/queries on database' in phpmyadmin if i have 3.0.6?
Didn't get the point fully. That SQL query is to enable QR for all already existing users. Infact, the query has to be different:

Code: Select all

'UPDATE phpbb_users SET user_options = 2048 | user_options'

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”