Enable Browser Language Detection

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
User avatar
Martin Truckenbrodt
Registered User
Posts: 3045
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Franconia
Name: Martin Truckenbrodt
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Martin Truckenbrodt »

Hello GoBieN,
at the moment I'm a little bit busy. I will check it in August.

Have you tried my code?

Bye Martin
Free tutorial: Installing MODs in phpBB 3.0
Advanced Block MOD - Prevent spam on your phpBB 3.0 board with Stop Forum Spam, BotScout, Akismet, Project Honey Pot and several IP-RBL and Domain-RBL DNS blacklists!
My MODs
Use the official phpBB Ideas to vote missing core features!!!
User avatar
GoBieN
Registered User
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by GoBieN »

Martin Truckenbrodt wrote:Hello GoBieN,
at the moment I'm a little bit busy. I will check it in August.

Have you tried my code?

Bye Martin
This is with your code ;)
Ariane A
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Switzerland, by the Leman Lake
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Ariane A »

Hi,

I've done more tests on IE7 with the new code and it works fine for me.

Martin: the change you made concerns only IE ? or should I do once again some tests with FF and Opera ?

Thanks.

Ariane
Ariane
https://www.zeldaspalace.com - About the Legend of Zelda video games
User avatar
GoBieN
Registered User
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by GoBieN »

Ariane A wrote:Hi,

I've done more tests on IE7 with the new code and it works fine for me.

Martin: the change you made concerns only IE ? or should I do once again some tests with FF and Opera ?

Thanks.

Ariane
Hey Ariane A.
Could you perhaps try the new situation i tested where the result was not correct.
Thanks
User avatar
Martin Truckenbrodt
Registered User
Posts: 3045
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Franconia
Name: Martin Truckenbrodt
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Martin Truckenbrodt »

Hello,
the code change is not really browser related.

Next days I'm going to holiday. After it I will look more detailed to the problem.

One final tipp: If you change language settings in your browser you always should restart the browser.

Bye Martin
Free tutorial: Installing MODs in phpBB 3.0
Advanced Block MOD - Prevent spam on your phpBB 3.0 board with Stop Forum Spam, BotScout, Akismet, Project Honey Pot and several IP-RBL and Domain-RBL DNS blacklists!
My MODs
Use the official phpBB Ideas to vote missing core features!!!
Ariane A
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Switzerland, by the Leman Lake
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Ariane A »

GoBieN wrote:Hey Ariane A.
Could you perhaps try the new situation i tested where the result was not correct.
Thanks
Hi GoBienN,

My board has French (default) and English.
Which exact test would you like me to do ?

Bye.

Ariane
Ariane
https://www.zeldaspalace.com - About the Legend of Zelda video games
User avatar
Martin Truckenbrodt
Registered User
Posts: 3045
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Franconia
Name: Martin Truckenbrodt
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Martin Truckenbrodt »

Hello Ariane,
in your browser set the first langauge to english and the second one to french.
Restart the browser and check if the board menue is displayed in english.
But you have not to be logged in! (Guest user!)

Bye Martin
Free tutorial: Installing MODs in phpBB 3.0
Advanced Block MOD - Prevent spam on your phpBB 3.0 board with Stop Forum Spam, BotScout, Akismet, Project Honey Pot and several IP-RBL and Domain-RBL DNS blacklists!
My MODs
Use the official phpBB Ideas to vote missing core features!!!
Ariane A
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Switzerland, by the Leman Lake
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Ariane A »

It works fine with IE and FF.

But I found another case which doesn't work for me.

If I have Spanish, then English - and that's it. I should see English not French, but I see French in all my browsers...

This is crazy !
And everytime I close the browser and empty the cache - this is very important with IE.
Ariane
https://www.zeldaspalace.com - About the Legend of Zelda video games
User avatar
GoBieN
Registered User
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by GoBieN »

Ariane A wrote: Hi GoBienN,

My board has French (default) and English.
Which exact test would you like me to do ?

Bye.

Ariane
Hey Ariane, i did this:
Then i tried new situation !
Browser list from top to bottom:
1) FR-BE
2) FR-FR
3) EN-US
4) EN-GB
5) NL-BE
6) NL-NL

Autodetect chooses NL, so not correct !!!
You could try
1) NL-BE
2) NL-NL
3) EN-US
4) EN-GB
5) FR-BE
6) FR-FR

And see if it takes EN or FR ;)

merci bien
Ariane A
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Switzerland, by the Leman Lake
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Ariane A »

It takes French :(
Ariane
https://www.zeldaspalace.com - About the Legend of Zelda video games
bull219
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:39 am

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by bull219 »

Hello Martin!

First of, I would like to thank you very much for this great MOD! It is exactly what I was looking for.

All is working perfectly except one point: the button "New post", "Reply", etc. are still in English (default language). Did I forget something?

Thank you very much in avance for your kind support,
Best regards
User avatar
GoBieN
Registered User
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by GoBieN »

bull219 wrote:Hello Martin!

First of, I would like to thank you very much for this great MOD! It is exactly what I was looking for.

All is working perfectly except one point: the button "New post", "Reply", etc. are still in English (default language). Did I forget something?

Thank you very much in avance for your kind support,
Best regards
Funny you mention this, i have the same problem.
I noticed it before, but didn't pay attention to it.
I think this is more of phpBB bug then a bug by this mod.
Ariane A
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Switzerland, by the Leman Lake
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Ariane A »

GoBieN wrote:Funny you mention this, i have the same problem.
I noticed it before, but didn't pay attention to it.
I think this is more of phpBB bug then a bug by this mod.
I have this problem too. I hadn't noticed though.
We need to report this problem to phpbb if the error is from them, but I don't know.

Ariane
Ariane
https://www.zeldaspalace.com - About the Legend of Zelda video games
Hyakkidour4n
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:40 pm

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by Hyakkidour4n »

Looks like just what I need , but I am wondering : the forum says mods for 3.0.x, but the tags for the mod say 3.0.1. Is this just a little mistake, or does it mean the mod doesn't work with 3.0.2 ?

I'd like to know before trying, as a safety. Thanks in advance for any answer about this.
User avatar
GoBieN
Registered User
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Enable Browser Language Detection

Post by GoBieN »

Hyakkidour4n wrote:Looks like just what I need , but I am wondering : the forum says mods for 3.0.x, but the tags for the mod say 3.0.1. Is this just a little mistake, or does it mean the mod doesn't work with 3.0.2 ?

I'd like to know before trying, as a safety. Thanks in advance for any answer about this.
I don't see any raeson why this would not work on 3.0.2 ;)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”