ACP Announcement Centre

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by WheelGuy »

baloo wrote:4. I noticed that if I selected announcements on, it puts the block there even if there is no announcement. Is it possible to have it not show the block if it doesn't have an announcement to make ?
I decided to "test a theory" and found a very simple solution for this. I currently use Announcement Centre 1.1.3 on my forum and show same text to all users. Anyway, in order not to show the box when no announcements. In your overall_header or wherever you have the box to show,
change

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE announcement_centre.html -->
to

Code: Select all

<!-- IF ANNOUNCEMENT_ENABLE and ANNOUNCEMENT_TEXT -->
<!-- INCLUDE announcement_centre.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->
baloo
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by baloo »

Thanks for that WheelGuy. I'll give it a shot tonight.
User avatar
zkaraca
Registered User
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by zkaraca »

I have v0.3.0 of this mod installed and now i want to update it. I want to undo the edits (uninstall) for version 0.3.0 and install a clean new version. But i don't have the zip file for installing 0.3.0 anymore. Can i download this somewhere?
Asira.nl * Zeki.nl Just having some fun!
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by lefty74 »

why dont you upgrade to the latest version, the upgrade instructions are in the contrib folder.
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
User avatar
zkaraca
Registered User
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by zkaraca »

Because it is not correct or i am missing something. Upgrade from 030 to 100. There are no sql instructions for this update and i get an error:

Code: Select all

SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Unknown column 'announcement_text_bbcode_uid' in 'field list' [1054]
So, i use sql of latest version to add correct tables (even unused at this point maybe) but i get it to install.

Then i get:

Code: Select all

Unknown column 'announcement_enable_guests' in 'field list' [1054]
Also when i try 100 to 100b and it says to find this:

Code: Select all

	if ( !$config['announcement_show_index'] )
	{
		include_once($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/functions_announcements.' . $phpEx);
		get_announcement_data();
	}
in includes/functions.php but there is nothing like this in functions.php so i can't continue. I searched for keyword announcement to be sure and could not find the code above. So i want to undo all edits for 030 to do a clean install.

I am not sure now :? Maybe i have version 0.2.0? I can't check version nr anywhere?
Asira.nl * Zeki.nl Just having some fun!
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by lefty74 »

with regard to not finding the part in includes/functions.php, those are the correct upgrade instructions. i can only assume that when you have been upgrading your version of phpbb that bit was removed when merging code....

below is the old version:
v 0.3.0

hope that helps you more
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
User avatar
zkaraca
Registered User
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by zkaraca »

That is possible indeed. I tried updating phpbb to latest version and tried merging but it didn't work because all of the mods i have installed. Now i will try to fix the issues. Thank you very much ;) This is one of my favourite mods. Real nice work.
Asira.nl * Zeki.nl Just having some fun!
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by lefty74 »

you might as well go for version 1.1.3 then ;)
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
baloo
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by baloo »

WheelGuy wrote:I decided to "test a theory" and found a very simple solution for this. I currently use Announcement Centre 1.1.3 on my forum and show same text to all users. Anyway, in order not to show the box when no announcements. In your overall_header or wherever you have the box to show,
change

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE announcement_centre.html -->
to

Code: Select all

<!-- IF ANNOUNCEMENT_ENABLE and ANNOUNCEMENT_TEXT -->
<!-- INCLUDE announcement_centre.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->
Tried that out and it works as advertised. If the ACP is set to show announcement but there is no announcement it doesn't display anything.

BUT....

A couple of things it also disables. If there is a Birthday, it will only show if there is an announcement even though "Show Birthdays as announcement even if show site announcements is set to no:" is checked Yes.

Can't seem to show a guest message if there is no registered user message.

But like I said, your quick fix did do what was advertised so thanks for that.
WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by WheelGuy »

Give me a couple days and I'll see what I can accomplish. I'm not a programmer, but just a "trial n error" kind of person.
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by lefty74 »

[quote="baloo
Tried that out and it works as advertised. If the ACP is set to show announcement but there is no announcement it doesn't display anything.

BUT....

A couple of things it also disables. If there is a Birthday, it will only show if there is an announcement even though "Show Birthdays as announcement even if show site announcements is set to no:" is checked Yes.

Can't seem to show a guest message if there is no registered user message.

But like I said, your quick fix did do what was advertised so thanks for that.[/quote]
why dont you just install 1.1.3 and if there are no announcements to be shown, just turn it off and enable the option to still show birthdays.
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
baloo
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by baloo »

I have 1.13 installed today. We discussed this before. Ideally I want all guests to see an announcement all the time which says the same thing for the most part, register to access all the forums. Members see messages when they are available. Birthdays all the time to members.

That's what I am trying to achieve but I don't think ACP as it is allows that flexibility. For now I am turning off the messages which means everything works as I want it for members, but I can't control what the guests see.
WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by WheelGuy »

baloo,
Since you upgraded to the newer version, I posted a reply here: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0#p8308615
User avatar
**Danny**
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:56 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by **Danny** »

Thanks, this will be really helpful! :D
Jody74
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Post by Jody74 »

I need help please. When I make the changes to language/en/common.php I get this following error.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3769: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/common.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3771: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/common.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3772: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/common.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3773: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/common.php:1)
This is the change I'm making:
Open: language/en/common.php
Find
Tip: This may be a partial find and not the whole line.

Code: Select All
'AND' => 'And',

Add after
Tip: Add these lines on a new blank line after the preceding line(s) to find.

Code: Select All
'ANNOUNCEMENT_TITLE_GUESTS' => 'Guest Announcements local',
'ANNOUNCEMENT_TITLE' => 'Site Announcements local',
Can someone help me with this?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”