Page 105 of 163

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:03 am
by ttkingdom
lefty74 wrote:did you point your browser to the install/index.php file after automod had installed it?
It says automod has been installed. Then I use the Automod tab in ACP to install this mod. Then Automod says ACP Announcement Centre has been installed.

But I don't know where to post my first announcement :(

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:03 am
by lefty74
ttkingdom wrote:It says automod has been installed. Then I use the Automod tab in ACP to install this mod. Then Automod says ACP Announcement Centre has been installed.
automod does not run the install/index.php file. when you installed this via automod you will see at the end a DIY instruction which is to point your browser to the install/index.php file. that completes the installation process.

only after you have done that, you will be able to see the announcements, the tab in the acp...

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:04 pm
by Clorith
I just installed this mod (using AutoMOD did not work for me, I kept getting errors relating to _edited/index.php), so I did it manually by uploading the content of root/ and running the install script.

Now, it installed perfectly, and it shows up in the ACP, but When I try to configure who can see it, it wont save it self ("Guest", "Everyone" and "Groups" all remain unchecked after I submit my changed), everything else saves though, even the selections in the group box. (The setting is not saved either it would appear, as I can not see the announcement box when set to "Everyone", nor when selecting all groups and choosing Groups).

I'm using Prosilver if this matters, but I did try subsilver2 as well, and I did refresh the templates, and purge my cache.

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:32 pm
by lefty74
could you please do me and in your config.php, pse try to change this:

Code: Select all

    // @define('DEBUG', true);
    // @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
to this

Code: Select all

    @define('DEBUG', true);
    @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
and then let me know what error messages you are getting when accessing the acp part of the mod.

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:45 pm
by Clorith
I'm not getting any error messages at all, so I don't know what could be causing this.

Edit: 12 queries are executed when I hit "Submit" on the config page, it just doesn't appear to be stored anywhere, I have a table called phpbb_announcement_centre which is entirely empty. See quoted data from a dump of the _config (only the announcement_ ones)
(`config_name`, `config_value`, `is_dynamic`) VALUES
('announcement_enable', 0x31, 0),
('announcement_show_index', 0x30, 0),
('announcement_enable_guests', 0x30, 0),
('announcement_show', 0x31, 0),
('announcement_show_birthdays', 0x30, 0),
('announcement_birthday_avatar', 0x30, 0),
('announcement_ava_max_size', 0x3430, 0),
('announcement_show_birthdays_always', 0x30, 0),
('announcement_show_birthdays_and_announce', 0x30, 0),
('announcement_show_group', 0x352c362c342c322c31322c31312c31332c31302c382c372c39, 0),
('announcement_align', 0x63656e746572, 0),
('announcement_guests_align', 0x63656e746572, 0);

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:28 pm
by lefty74
that's strange, can you please run the install/index.php file again, then uninstall the mod, then run the install/index.php file again and install again.

after that please refresh your templates/theme etc.

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:34 pm
by Clorith
I've done this, same result.

I should've mentioned I'm on 3.0.5 and I know this hasn't been tested yet.

Also, I was playing around a little, it seems it's not pulling config variables at all, I tried adding my own text box at the top of the announcements_centre.html file, and this worked, but when I tried using the variables to populate it, these just kept coming up empty, as if it's not reading these fields from the database at all.

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:11 pm
by lefty74
hi,
i have installed this with 3.0.5 numerous times without a problem :(

would you at all be able to set me up with a temp admin and ftp account so i can have a look as right now i do not know why it would not work?

cheers

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:14 pm
by Clorith
If anyone else is reading up on this, it was human error.

I had not completed all the includes, my bad :oops:

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:52 pm
by tlknowles
hmmm...

New install of 3.0.5
Using prosilver.
No modifications to this install.
Downloaded this Annoucement Mod as first.

I have done all the edits listed in install.xlm
I did not find any MySQL changes listed on the install.xlm doc.

I'm a real noob. So...I may be missing something.
Can anyone help?

TIA
tlknowles

EDITED to add
Disregard.
Installed successfully.

TY!

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:41 pm
by cactusranger71
Hi Lefty, Great job with this, it will come in handy. If I can get my announcement to show up! I have installed it and it shows up on ACP. The box shows up on my index as you can see below.
Image

However, nothing I do enables me to see an announcement! I add it, hit sumbit and after the green box with the "announcements updated", I go back in and there is nothing saved. No matter what, I can't get any announcement to show up on the main page....I am sure I am missing one simple thing. Any ideas?

Thanks

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:28 pm
by tlknowles
UPDATE
...I spoke too soon.

Installation was successful.
BUT!

I edited the sample message for Guest Announcements from the ACP, and logged out to view the change as a "guest", and am now getting the following

General Error
Language file ./language/en_us/mods/announcement_centre.php couldn't be opened.
Please notify the board administrator or webmaster: you@yourdomain.com

...which, is preventing me from being able to log in.

The option to "Return to the index page" ( link in upper right corner ) doesn't allow me to return; I'm stuck on the error page.




Now what can I do to repair this?

TIA
tlknowles

UPDATE...
Fixed.
Human Error: I forgot to upload the en files to en_us.
All is well.

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:13 pm
by lefty74
cactusranger71 wrote:Hi Lefty, Great job with this, it will come in handy. If I can get my announcement to show up! I have installed it and it shows up on ACP. The box shows up on my index as you can see below.
Image

However, nothing I do enables me to see an announcement! I add it, hit sumbit and after the green box with the "announcements updated", I go back in and there is nothing saved. No matter what, I can't get any announcement to show up on the main page....I am sure I am missing one simple thing. Any ideas?

Thanks
make sure you have doublechecked your edits!
you ran the install/index.php file?

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:13 pm
by lefty74
tlknowles wrote: All is well.
great :)

Re: ACP Announcement Centre

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:03 pm
by kmxak
I've got a Problem

i would have 2 massages 1 for the useres and 1 for the guest's
but it is only shown the users announcment

Settings
Show different Announcement to guests: Yes
Show Site Announcement to: Guests or everyone

but only show's the user announcment when i logged out.
the guest'S announcment is never shown

can u help me