[RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emails

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Locked
dm6
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by dm6 » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:01 pm

Thanks prime, that was my assumption, but figured I'd check.

Also, wonderful work on this MOD....it makes it a lot easier for my users who are having difficulty letting go of a listserv and joining a forum.

RLHoldenSr
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Robin Holden Sr
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by RLHoldenSr » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:55 pm

PrimeHalo Need Help :mrgreen:

I installed the [RC] Prime Notify last night using the Automod and it worked fine.

There was another option once installed that did not work:
Available Changes: MOD Name: Prime Notify Add-on: User's Choice (Install this MOD)
When I installed this I got a one error and I did the failed mod manually. But it still would not install completely.

Then I was getting errors:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /includes/template.php(230) : eval()'d code on line 183

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /cache/tpl_XiPhone_index_body.html.php on line 183
I did like the idea allowing members to turn of the mod if so desired but hopefully I can add it later.

I ended up undoing everything (Both Mods) manually as the uninstall did not work.
When I finished I re-installed the [RC] Prime Notify mod and all was back to normal.


And now today the when we go to post messages the server seems to hang on the edit screen after selecting submit, but the message somehow still gets posted somehow.

Then we eventually get this error:

General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

MySQL server has gone away [2006]

BACKTRACE

FILE: includes/db/dbal.php
LINE: 264
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: includes/functions_posting.php
LINE: 1360
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_transaction()

FILE: includes/functions_posting.php
LINE: 2645
CALL: user_notification()

FILE: posting.php
LINE: 1144
CALL: submit_post()
Last edited by RLHoldenSr on Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RLHoldenSr
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Robin Holden Sr
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by RLHoldenSr » Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:34 pm

When I just tried to use IE to submit the post, the message screen just sat there and when I clicked submit again I got this message:
At least one new post has been made to this topic. You may wish to review your post in light of this.
The message had been posted. It just seems to be hanging for some reason?

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2833
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by primehalo » Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:47 pm

The first errors you mentioned are usually caused by either not clearing the board's cache after installing a MOD, or by an incorrect edit to one of the template files, such as having an IF withount an ENDIF.

Strange that the AutoMOD uninstall did not work properly. But if everything was manually uninstalled properly, there should be no problems. When installing the user choice add on, one edit you have to make is in the includes/prime_notify.php file, changing this line:

Code: Select all

	define('PRIME_NOTIFY_USER_CHOICE', false);,/code]

If you no longer have that add-on installed, make sure this define was set back to false. Otherwise, I'd recommend completely removing the MOD and see if it still hangs.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

RLHoldenSr
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Robin Holden Sr
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by RLHoldenSr » Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:04 pm

This is the one that would not install and I made the change manually and it still would not continue with the install.

MOD Name:
Prime Notify Add-on: User's Choice (Install this MOD)

Error and I added it manually:


Add After

//-- mod: Prime Notify ------------------------------------------------------//
$prime_notify->alter_ucp_prefs_sql($data, $sql_ary);
//-- end: Prime Notify ------------------------------------------------------//

The Find specified by the MOD could not be found

RLHoldenSr
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Robin Holden Sr
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by RLHoldenSr » Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:11 pm

Yes that line is set to false.

I keep a complete website backup on my hard drive and the server so all I had to do was copy the modified files back to the server and remove the files that were copied to the server.

When I did the prime notify re-install it was a clean start again.

I disabled:
define('PRIME_NOTIFY_BBCODES', false); // Keep BBCodes (helps show how the message is supposed to be formatted)?

define('PRIME_NOTIFY_ALWAYS', false); // Notify user even if they've already received a previous notification and have not yet visited the forum to read it?
and it seems to be running /posting faster.
primehalo wrote:The first errors you mentioned are usually caused by either not clearing the board's cache after installing a MOD, or by an incorrect edit to one of the template files, such as having an IF withount an ENDIF.

Strange that the AutoMOD uninstall did not work properly. But if everything was manually uninstalled properly, there should be no problems. When installing the user choice add on, one edit you have to make is in the includes/prime_notify.php file, changing this line:

Code: Select all

	define('PRIME_NOTIFY_USER_CHOICE', false);,/code]

If you no longer have that add-on installed, make sure this define was set back to false. Otherwise, I'd recommend completely removing the MOD and see if it still hangs.[/quote]

miow
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by miow » Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:27 pm

Hi there!

I'm very glad about this mod. But i have a little question:
Is there a possibility to shorten the message in the topic notify?
So i just want maybe 300 letters in the Email.

Did anyone have an idea for that?
Thank you very much!

Greetz, miow

(using phpbb 3.0.8)

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2833
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by primehalo » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:04 am

Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

miow
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by miow » Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:55 pm

Thanks alot, pal! ;)
Thanks alot!

miow
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by miow » Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:49 pm

Ah just a question more:
Is it possible to add a short message IF the maximum of the message is reached?
Like: "...[the message reached its maximum of 1024 letters]"
Or something similar....

That would interessting me very much!
Thank you!

Greetz, miow

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2833
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by primehalo » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:26 am

Well, you would first need to check if the text is long enough to cut off, so something like

Code: Select all

if (strlen($text) > 1024)
{
    $text = substr($text, 0, 1024);
    $text .= "...[the message reached its maximum of 1024 letters]";
} 
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

miow
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by miow » Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:07 am

Ok, this is really cool!
My Problems are solved! :!: !

Maybe a btw question: What for is {VISIT_MSG} ? Just a little question and not really important, because i just found no declaration oder translation for it.
EDIT: Ahhh, lol, i guess i got it. It's only shown if 'PRIME_NOTIFY_ALWAYS', false. Right?
Anyways => Thank you very much for all your support! I'm happy now! ^^ ;)

Your, miow


Edit #2: Ok i just forgot something to ask.
Uhm... in this line:

Code: Select all

$text = substr($text, 0, 1000);
For what stands the 0 (zero)?
To set to "overread" the first letters of a message or is it for a "minimum" of letters in a message?

EDIT #3:
And could it possible to add a link (to the post) after the following line??

Code: Select all

$text .= "...[the message reached its maximum of 1024 letters]";

andrew vanis
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by andrew vanis » Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:21 am

How can I move the topic/author/message section to the top of the notification? (so its the first thing one would read)

Also, I would like to edit other text in the notification

- I have a feeling one answer will address both issues -

Cool MOD!! Thanks!!

miow
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by miow » Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:27 am

That's easy. Just look into dir: language/xx/email/prime_notify_yyy.txt

xx stands for your language (like de or en) and yyy for topic, forum and so on.
There u can edit all what u want. ;)

EDIT:
Ah i forgot something. If you're using german language or generally "umlauts" like äöüß, the signs will display in the notify mail as an error. So use normal utf-8 standard w/o "special characters".

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2833
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC] Prime Notify - Put the message in notification emai

Post by primehalo » Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:06 am

Search Google for PHP substr and you will find a link that explains the function.

You can't add actual links because phpBB sends e-mails as plain text, not as HTML. The best you can do is add a URL which most e-mail clients will convert to a clickable link.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”