[MODDB] easyPortal

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
User avatar
domestictuners
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by domestictuners »

First I must say Thank You to Noxwizard for bringing this excellent portal to phpBB3. I had it on my phpBB2 board, before it fell victim to a disgruntle ex admin.

I have no installed the new EzPortal to my phpBB3 installation, and everything works just as it did before. With that being said i do have a few questions maybe you can explain in more detail.

1. How do I had links to the portal_body.php - Since phpBB3 is still new to me i am not aware of all the coding changes anymore. I copied a few lines before and after the PHP link and was still unable to get anything to show up.

2. If i do add a link to the page do i have to do a refresh of the template?


NM on either I figured it out, I feel so stupid, because I answered my own questions !!!
DJ Skitzo
Registered User
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:25 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by DJ Skitzo »

Thanks, I'm going to give this a go on my own forum now :)
User avatar
1234homie
Registered User
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:17 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by 1234homie »

It a great mod i waiting for new updates but thsi version have small bugs
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

The next release was going to mainly just be the ACP add-on, which is on hold for the time being. What are the bugs? If they're small, I can put out an update for it.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
MrC
Registered User
Posts: 857
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Ivo
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by MrC »

Is there an easy way to have the portal as the startpage instead of index.php.
Since i use a windows server i can't use the .htaccess file
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

I don't know how to have IIS change it's directory index default, sorry.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
DJ Skitzo
Registered User
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:25 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by DJ Skitzo »

MrC wrote:Is there an easy way to have the portal as the startpage instead of index.php.
Since i use a windows server i can't use the .htaccess file
You could possibly do what I did.
I went through all of my forum files running a find for "index"
If the index it found was referring to the main forum index then I replaced it with forum, however you have to be careful as their is another index for the admin panel aswell.

I don't have a mod file or any set of instructions on which find and replaces to do or anything though so that is the best I can help you.
User avatar
domestictuners
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by domestictuners »

Live site running this portal, man I love it.

I added it to 8 of my 10 styles in less than an hour.

http://www.clan-soc.net
bouncybeatz
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:35 pm
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by bouncybeatz »

Hi
Really nice portal you got here thanks i love it. but i have a problem when i installed it i had a test poll just seeing what it looked like on my new skin then i deleted it and made a proper poll but now it dont show up on the portal for some reason any idea,s why?
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

Make sure that settings in portal.php point to the correct forum for the poll.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
User avatar
domestictuners
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by domestictuners »

Hint
When changing the forum number only change the number inside the brackets:

array(2) only change the 2 to the number you need, leave the array part.
DJ Skitzo
Registered User
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:25 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by DJ Skitzo »

I have a couple of questions about customising this MOD.

1. Is it possible to make the "Recent Topics" block so that it only shows the latest newly created topics rather than show the last replied to at the top?

2. With the "Recent Topics" block is it possible to set it so that it only checks for new topics in which the user has permission to view? Rather than at the minute it checks all forums and does not show a permissions error until the member clicks on to view the topic. My forum has a moderator only section and normal members can see topic titles which they shouldn't.
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

  1. You would need to change the query in fetch_posts() to sort by topic_time instead of topic_last_post_time.
  2. I already know about this one, and am just waiting for the other "small bugs" that a user said a few posts back. You can fix it by doing the following:
    Open: portal.php
    Find:

    Code: Select all

    $forums_auth_ary = array_keys($can_read_forum);
    Replace With:

    Code: Select all

    $forums_auth_ary = array();
    foreach($can_read_forum as $key => $forum)
    {
        if($forum['f_read'] != 0)
        {
            $forums_auth_ary[] = $key;
        }
    }
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
DJ Skitzo
Registered User
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:25 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by DJ Skitzo »

Thanks for the help, both changes work perfect :D
stainless_steelrat
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:17 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by stainless_steelrat »

Got the portal installed today.... have to admit, this one is the closest thus far I've seen to the original ezportal.

I've taken over admin' a v2 board, and I'm trying to update it to v3 stuff. Finding a portal was important, but I have a few questions.... I'm trying to recreate some features from the original v2 portal...

1) there's code that creates a link on the portal page (next to the recent topics header), to indicate the "new posts" from the last time you have logged in. I've been able to get the link reproduced, but it doesn't show the post count, just the a href code.... here's the original code from the v2 portal.php

Code: Select all

if( $userdata['session_logged_in'] )
{
	$sql = "SELECT COUNT(post_id) as total
			FROM " . POSTS_TABLE . "
			WHERE post_time >= " . $userdata['user_lastvisit'];
	$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
	if( $result )
	{
		$row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
		$lang['Search_new'] = $lang['Search_new'] . " (" . $row['total'] . ")";
	}
}
Is there some way to reproduce it on the new portal?

Also I have a weather link from the weathernetwork on there, which allows you to pick various cities, etc... It's trying to call a java script, but it doesn't seem to work right... also the code is cookie based, and presently with testing it's giving me a line error on the cookie code.

Code: Select all

<!-- Begin Weather Button -->
	  <table  width="100%" class="forumline" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="1" border="0">
	   <tr>
		<th class="thTop" height="25" align="left"><span class="genmed"><b>Current Weather</b></span></td>
	   </tr>
	   <tr>
		<td class="row1" align="center"><span class="gensmall">
			<script language=javascript>
			var LocationID = getCookieValue('city');
			if (LocationID == '' || LocationID == null){
				LocationID = "CAON0696";
			}
			</script>
<script language=javascript src='http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weatherbutton/wxbutton.js'></script><br>
<select name="weather" onChange="changeCity(this)">
<option value="CAON0696">Select City</option>
<option value="CAON0029">Aurora</option>
<option value="CAON0696">Toronto</option>

</select>
		</td>
	   </tr>
	  </table>
So far so good though.... At least it's starting to come together now. <G>


EDIT: Dec 15th.... I've gotten the second question working. I found a whole chuck of javascript that was in the original phpbb2 board's overall_header, as part of the style I was using. That was where the cookie refresh/storing was for the various things for that weather network stuff. Also when calling the stuff on the portal.php, I had to add the

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
// <![CDATA[
 -- insert script code here
// ]]>
</script>
As a wrapper to get it to read it properly. Now, I'm storing the value properly, and the selection change actually does change the info going to the city script.
Last edited by stainless_steelrat on Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”