[MODDB] easyPortal

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Cyborgzz
Registered User
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:30 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Cyborgzz »

domestictuners wrote:I only see 0"> as an issue

other than that age looks fine now, compared to earlier, it was nothing but pop-up after pop-up and scrolling ads on the page.

Clear Your Cache of your Browser and then Tell me
Cyborgzz
Registered User
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:30 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Cyborgzz »

Can no one Help me ??
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

Please note that we have a six hour bump limit.

When I browse to overall_footer.html directly, that stat codes shows up in it. If it's not there when you directly access the file through FTP, then your host must be adding it in each time the page loads. For some reason, they're inserting it into the middle of your HTML on the portal, and again at the bottom of the page. You'll have to take it up with your host.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
stainless_steelrat
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:17 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by stainless_steelrat »

Hey Nox, I've got the easyportal up and running on the pre-phpbb3 upgrade test site, works wonderfully... I've added a few necessary blocks, and some other customization. It's almost seemless when you flip from the phpbb2 site.

That said, one of the things I'm looking for, is the graphic display in the annoucement thread. Right now, it displays the text (as it should), however, the old portal could display a graphic. Any ideas on how to get that?
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

If the post length is too long, bbcodes are removed before it is trimmed. This prevents splicing through unclosed HTML.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
stainless_steelrat
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:17 pm

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by stainless_steelrat »

So other than, potentially just adding an additional "table cell" with the graphic stand-alone, are there any other suggestions....?

Basically, what I have on phpbb2, is,

text short paragraph, ... two, three lines.... then "graphic", then the "click to read more"..... The original mod for phpbb2, probably doesn't support bbcode either, since all the links for those graphics are done as a html call. Which given your answer makes sense.... (forces you to not have the bbcode split over the page truncate)....

Hum.... maybe I'll just have to figure a slightly different presentation, to get it to work right......

Thanks for the quick reply though.
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

You can always increase the length:

Code: Select all

// Length of news
$CFG['news_length'] = '200';
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.1

Post by Noxwizard »

Updated to 0.0.2. Changes include fixing permissions, some minor style changes, allowing smilies in the trimmed text, and adding an ACP tab.

There were no changes to the edits for the core phpBB files, so if you're on 0.0.1, you can just overwrite the portal files with the new ones. Check the DIY section of the install file to see how to add the portal tab in the ACP.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: [BETA] easyPortal 0.0.2

Post by Noxwizard »

This has been added to the MOD Database, please use that topic now.
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &t=1544935
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”