[MODDB] mChat

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

jimcarrel wrote:I do not completly understand "when I go to forumname.com" .
the phpBB3 forum only works from "/index.php".
Now, when I type in my "forumname.com", I get a totally white page.
But, when I type in my "forumname.com/index.php", I get the forum.
on my index.php, I edited it as below:
/* ============= mChat Start ============= */
if(!defined('MCHAT_INCLUDE'))
{
define('MCHAT_INCLUDE', true);
$mchat_include_index = true;
include($phpbb_root_path.'mchat.'.$phpEx);
}
/* ============== mChat End ============== */

// Output page
page_header($user->lang['INDEX']);

$template->set_filenames(array(
'body' => 'index_body.html')


Is this "formname.com" the only thing on your website? Or do you also have regular html pages. (which would run from index.html)
I don't see my index.html in the root dir anymore. There is an index.htm and index php
Thank you for your generous help!
On edit, I noticed if I remove the index.htm from the root, the page comes up correctly at forum.com
But...the instructions call for Copy: root/mchat/index.htm to mchat/index.htm
I just uploaded it to the root dir, was that not right? Was I supposed to create a subfolder in the root dir named mchat? And load files into that. I didn't do that because I received this instruction in another mod:
In the xml file, root refers to whatever folder your forum is installed in (where it's index.php file is located), ie. if your forum is installed in htdocs/phpBB3/, then substitute that for root and copy files over from there
.
owentuz
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 3:09 pm

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by owentuz »

Yes, that's it :D "Root" is the main folder, so it would be "root/mchat/index.htm"

If you open the mchat zip package you downloaded, you'll notice that the folder called "root" contains a few subfolders; the contents of those should go in the appropriate subfolders (it sounds like you've already done most of that), and any folders that don't already exist (like "mchat") just need to be copied into the root directory.
Last edited by owentuz on Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by Hippie459MN »

Well, Here goes. Gonna give it a try. :)
jimcarrel
Registered User
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by jimcarrel »

forumntn,
Now I understand now what you did.
You copied the index.htm for the mchat into the index.htm for your website.
that is why it was blank.

In your example you have a folder: forumname
That is your main website.
Under that folder is a folder where phpBB3 is installed (called root, in the install instructions)
under the phpBB3 folder you have,
adm
cache
download
files
images
includes
language
mchat
store
styles.
Grace--Getting what I don't deserve
Mercy--Not getting what I do deserve
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by Hippie459MN »

Installed and works great but I cant get it exclude certain bbcode. I put em in the exclude certain bbcode spot in mchat.php but they still show up. Just disabled bbcode for now.

I love the chat by the way. :D

The root folder is the main folder your phpBB is installed in. You will find index.php, posting.php, config.php, etc..., your styles folder, language folder, etc... in your 'root' folder.
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

jimcarrel wrote:forumntn,
Now I understand now what you did.
You copied the index.htm for the mchat into the index.htm for your website.
that is why it was blank.

In your example you have a folder: forumname
That is your main website.
Under that folder is a folder where phpBB3 is installed (called root, in the install instructions)
under the phpBB3 folder you have,
adm
cache
download
files
images
includes
language

mchat
store
styles.
And I have:
folder:forumname
adm
cache
cgi-bin
docs
download
files
images
includes
language
store
styles

NO Mchat folder
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

WORKS!! I am going to make a NOOB checklist and post it somewhere. We noobs need to KNOW that we need to create a dir for these files!
Now....
How do I make that HUGE chat box thinner?
And can I change the text of the "MINI chat"?
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by Hippie459MN »

forumntn wrote:WORKS!! I am going to make a NOOB checklist and post it somewhere. We noobs need to KNOW that we need to create a dir for these files!
Now....
How do I make that HUGE chat box thinner?
And can I change the text of the "MINI chat"?
Assuming your using ProSilver based style. I havent looked at the subsilver2 css but im sure its the same.

Open mchat/mchat_prosilver.css
Find:

Code: Select all

div.mChatRowLimit {
  overflow: auto;
  width: 100%;
  height: 200px;
}
Replace the 100% with something smaller
You can change the height to by changing the height. I changed mine to 400 and worked for what I needed. :)

Open language/en/mods/mchat_lang.php
Find:

Code: Select all

  'MCHAT_TITLE' => 'MINI Chat',
Just replace the MINI Chat with whatever you want.

Hope that helps. :)
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

Changed the height fine to 150
And the name..looks great!
Thanks!
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

A couple of questions:
-Is it possible to turn off guest permissions and only have registered guests.
-And, can it be ONLY on the Mchat page and not at the head of all pages?
Ok, three
Is there a way to automatically only have 5 lines or so that are visible and the rest are not stored?

it's working great. Thanks!
autinhyeu
Registered User
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:34 am
Location: Vietnamese
Contact:

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by autinhyeu »

Thanks for this MOD, it's very great ;)
Regards!!!
phpBB Community in Vietnamese: http://www.phpbbvn.com

Sorry, my English language is fine impossible
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

This mod is working great. LOVE IT! Thanks for developing it.
-I've tried this below to get rid of chat box for guest in index_body.html in /public_html/forumname/styles/montains2/template, saved, uploaded, refreshed temp in acp and nothing changes. guests still see chat.

<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
<!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->



Also, can I make the chat only on the Mchat page? and not on the index page too?
Thanks again for a great mod!
owentuz
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 3:09 pm

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by owentuz »

I'm not sure why that would be, but check all your <!-- IF --> statements open and close properly? It's a slog, but it's usually something simple like that.

If you want to get rid of the chat on the index page, though, just don't add the line <!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --> into the index template. You'll probably want to replace it with some kind of link to mchat.php, though - there's one on the top right of your index page, but it's not necessarily that noticeable.
User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by mej284 »

forumntn wrote:This mod is working great. LOVE IT! Thanks for developing it.
-I've tried this below to get rid of chat box for guest in index_body.html in /public_html/forumname/styles/montains2/template, saved, uploaded, refreshed temp in acp and nothing changes. guests still see chat.

<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
<!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->



Also, can I make the chat only on the Mchat page? and not on the index page too?
Thanks again for a great mod!
If you want it just on the Mchat page then delete the above code from the index_body.html.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style
forumntn
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:57 am

Re: [RC3] mChat

Post by forumntn »

This is what I have copied to here and still mChat doesn't go away if I logout.
<!-- ENDIF -->
<!-- IF S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
<!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->

<!-- INCLUDE forumlist_body.html -->

<!-- IF not S_USER_LOGGED_IN and not S_IS_BOT -->
This is the right dir to have it in isn't it:
index_body.html in /public_html/forumname/styles/montains2/template
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”