[Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Anti-Spam Guide
User avatar
darkonia
Registered User
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:10 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by darkonia » Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:49 pm

oh ok, thx to know, then i will test it at once, thx a lot
MMOG-Heaven - Das Gaming Portal
Community bedeutet Gleichgesinnte finden - MMOG-Heaven ist Deine Community! Von Spielern für Spieler bietet Dir dieses Portal genau das, was ein Spieler braucht. Bleibe ständig informiert, finde die neuesten MMORPGs, oder suche die frischesten News aus der Welt des Online Gamings - dieses und vieles mehr erwartet Dich auf MMOG-Heaven.

just_guy
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 5:46 am

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by just_guy » Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:50 pm

jimcarrel wrote:Just installed this mod, it works well, simple install too.

For my tastes, it seems finished ( I know, others always want more) just polish it and get it in the ModDB. ;)

( I know, others always want more)

The only other thing I would ask for is , instructions for getting it on the Board3 Portal
Here's my gwheather on the portal....I've put it at the bottom since i have the random pictures at the top.

http://hmongidealmodel.com/

Instructions on putting on board portal

Portal.php
find:
// Start session management
$user->session_begin();
$auth->acl($user->data);
$user->setup('mods/lang_portal');

After add:
include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/classes/weather_location.' . $phpEx);
weather_location::user_location();

template/portal/portal_body.html (you can insert anywhere you want). To input it the beneath the overall header
Find:
<!-- INCLUDE overall_header.html -->

After add:
<!-- INCLUDE mods/weather/block.html -->

To put it where the Footer is at.
Find:
<!-- INCLUDE overall_footer.html -->

Before add:
<!-- INCLUDE mods/weather/block.html -->

To put in the center block. NOTE..might stretch your site if your site is not 100% wide.
Find:
<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_WELCOME -->
<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_WELCOME_GUEST and S_USER_LOGGED_IN -->
<!-- ELSE -->

After Add:
<!-- INCLUDE mods/weather/block.html -->


jimcarrel
Registered User
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by jimcarrel » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:48 pm

just_guy ,
I tried and tried to get time to put this on the portal. Your post on how to do it was much appreciated! :D
Grace--Getting what I don't deserve
Mercy--Not getting what I do deserve

User avatar
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 2315
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by keith10456 » Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:16 pm

Not sure if you have this or not but here are a few recommendations for the next release:


* Have the default location configurable via the ACP (that displays on weather.php).

* Have the number of days 1, 3, 7, etc. to display on index.php file configurable via the ACP.

* Not sure if this one is possible but if so... The ability to decrease the size of the weather display (that shows on index.php) via the ACP.

User avatar
topdown
Registered User
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:16 pm
Location: NE Wisconsin
Name: Jeff Behnke
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by topdown » Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:26 pm

The amount of days is Google's deal, they only support what you see now.
I can make it so there is only the current if needed.

Size can be reduced by lowering the image size. I can make some of these changes editable.
Default location is also on the list. ;)

User avatar
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 2315
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by keith10456 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 4:01 pm

topdown wrote:The amount of days is Google's deal, they only support what you see now.
I can make it so there is only the current if needed.

Size can be reduced by lowering the image size. I can make some of these changes editable.
Default location is also on the list. ;)
Thanks for the update...

Having only the current as an option via the ACP would be great 8-)

apnaitaly
Registered User
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by apnaitaly » Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:27 pm

waoooo Realy nice mod

how much time to need for relasing this mod ?

Mantybug
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 11:15 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mantybug » Wed Sep 23, 2009 11:34 pm

Hi,

I'm receiving the following error after installing the mod...

Fatal error: Call to undefined function curl_init() in *******/includes/classes/google_weather.php on line 138

Any idea as to what the problem could be? Perhaps a missing feature in my php?

User avatar
topdown
Registered User
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:16 pm
Location: NE Wisconsin
Name: Jeff Behnke
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by topdown » Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:01 am

First thing is this mod requires PHP 5 and up
It also requires curl support enabled on the server.

You can find out these details in the forum ACP under the System tab > PHP information

My guess is that your host is not providing curl support.

User avatar
djchrisnet
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by djchrisnet » Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:45 am

without a caching system, the server ip is blocked in a few days from google api.

i have run an own system on non-phpbb site, i was blocked after 60 hours with 2 IP´s.

and please note, thats this api has no offizial documentation!!!

The API is only for iGoogle Gadgets. The Gadgets works with client-IP´s. They are very diffrent, server ip is normaly static!!!

Also, it gives no infos from google or Weather Underground, Inc. (Owner of the Weather data!!!) that the data can used from all people without spending money!

PS: it gives a anaother way to get the xml-file.

Code: Select all

$weather = simplexml_load_string(utf8_encode(file_get_contents('http://www.google.com/ig/api?weather=Berlin&hl=en')))

User avatar
topdown
Registered User
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:16 pm
Location: NE Wisconsin
Name: Jeff Behnke
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by topdown » Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:29 pm

I have not had any IP's blocked and have a live version running for demo.
I also have not finished the cache system for the weather yet, but know it needs to be done for the mod.
Also Note on the first page here for this mod it says
"Remember, this is a Beta version and first release and should not be run on a live site."

Thanks You

User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by noob5 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:52 pm

lol i think i might have screwed some code up.. but since you're the developer.. could u assist me with this issue


on the yoursite/phpbb3/weather.php.. the date is fine..

but on the index.php this is what it shows "Date: 1255009601" any idea? lol :?:

olilesp
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 12:11 pm
Location: Mons (Bergen), Belgium

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by olilesp » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:42 pm

Test this :
in root/includes/classes/build_weather.php, search

Code: Select all

'TIME'		=> $date_time,
and replace by

Code: Select all

'TIME'		=> $user->format_date($date_time),
:?:
PhpBB Forums.. what else ?

User avatar
noob5
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by noob5 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:08 pm

olilesp wrote:Test this :
in root/includes/classes/build_weather.php, search

Code: Select all

'TIME'		=> $date_time,
and replace by

Code: Select all

'TIME'		=> $user->format_date($date_time),
:?:

nope that has no affect on it..

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”