[Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
olilesp
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 12:11 pm
Location: Mons (Bergen), Belgium

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by olilesp » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:31 pm

sorry.. :|
PhpBB Forums.. what else ?

Mr_makaveli
Registered User
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mr_makaveli » Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:48 pm

this looks nice why would you not recommend on live board - seems working :)
www.tgzforum.com, a new forum for all types of people

Mr_makaveli
Registered User
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mr_makaveli » Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:46 pm

// application/xhtml+xml not used because of IE
header('Content-type: text/html; charset=UTF-8');

header('Cache-Control: private, no-cache="set-cookie"');
header('Expires: 0');
header('Pragma: no-cache');

I was getting a header error i had too remove this! too get it too work :cry: will this affect it!

curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, true);

I also had too set that too false too remove all errors, will any of this be bad?

I USE 5.21 PHP Curl is enabled - should safe mode be on or off? would that affect it?

EDIT AGAIN :lol: : i think i have too find a way too turn open_basedir off or on?

EDIT: fore open_basedir the error i got my host said: To change it you must take a dedicated server or a VPS.
www.tgzforum.com, a new forum for all types of people

User avatar
djchrisnet
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by djchrisnet » Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:41 am

in open_basedir says the config, that files in system you can read, wenn it´s not your own

Example:

open_basedir = none;

You have no access to files where under your website

Your ftp client has acces to /home/www/web2/
in html/ is your website

When you can not acces files in /etc oder /usr or /root only /home/www/web2/ are readable

open_basedir = /proc/uptime;

The same thing, but now you have access to /proc/uptime
/etc or /root are still unreadable

Mr_makaveli
Registered User
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mr_makaveli » Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:06 pm

i dont understand a word your saying where are instructions so i dont get the error!
www.tgzforum.com, a new forum for all types of people

Mr_makaveli
Registered User
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mr_makaveli » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:41 am

has support stopped for this?
www.tgzforum.com, a new forum for all types of people

User avatar
topdown
Registered User
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:16 pm
Location: NE Wisconsin
Name: Jeff Behnke
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by topdown » Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:35 pm

What are the errors that you are receiving?

Mr_makaveli
Registered User
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mr_makaveli » Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:32 am

open_basedir error up the top in the header! and something about safe mode
www.tgzforum.com, a new forum for all types of people

bubo
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 10:02 am

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by bubo » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:41 am

how do I go to the temperature in Celsius ?

Mr_makaveli
Registered User
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:34 pm

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Mr_makaveli » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:08 am

support for this mod is pretty bad!
www.tgzforum.com, a new forum for all types of people

User avatar
Doctor Love
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:20 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Doctor Love » Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:52 am

Okay, apparently the Google Weather site is NOT always available, and for this reason only the "gWeather" mod causes the phpBB3 index to be unavailable. In other words the "gWeather" mod has not been given the ability to fall through(default) in case the Google Weather site becomes unavailable. Therefore, WE (yes, WE) get the message "site does not exist". Well, "site does not exist" is very ambiguous, and does not state which site; for all WE know our forum has been deleted by some hacker. So why not just insert the code that releases the gWeather fetch, and allows (defaults) the php to follow through to the index. Also, change the wording from "site does not exist" to "gWeather is currently unavailable".
Aleichem Shalom,

Doctor Love

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by muggins » Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:16 pm

Exactly why I removed it.
Muggins

User avatar
Doctor Love
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:20 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Doctor Love » Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:42 pm

muggins wrote:Exactly why I removed it. (the gWeather mod)
I actually like gWeather mod (so do my members), BUT rather than remove the mod completely a simple IF - THEN - ELSE statement should suffice. Unfortunately I don't fully understand php enough to write it.

I know it could be something like this:

Code: Select all

<span class="posthilit">if</span> (condition) {
 include ('page_a');
 
}
 
else {
 include ('page_b');
 
}
Aleichem Shalom,

Doctor Love

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by muggins » Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:08 pm

Nor I, but I think it should be a "try, throw, catch" exception handler dependent on a time-out on the fetch from Google. :?
Muggins

User avatar
Doctor Love
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:20 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: [Beta]phpBB3 gWeather 0.0.1

Post by Doctor Love » Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:19 pm

Here is where the problem occurs: (notice I changed the "proper error" statement to an actual useful one).

includes/classes/google_weather.php

Code: Select all

/**
			 * Lets give them a proper error and shut it down
			 * if there is invalid input and send them home
			 * @var string
			 */
			if ($xml->weather->problem_cause['data'])
			{
				//We wont keep them here to long, maybe 3 seconds, then send them back
				meta_refresh(3, append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}weather.$phpEx"));
				trigger_error('Google Weather is currently unavailable!');			
			}
		}
Aleichem Shalom,

Doctor Love

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”