[RC] mChat New version

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Locked
User avatar
zkaraca
Registered User
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by zkaraca »

On custom page, if you will make chat large.. input box at bottom.. message shows at top :) not very handy. You have to scroll back and forth to see the messages.
Asira.nl * Zeki.nl Just having some fun!

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Then move the input box to the top of the chat...problem solved.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

Anyasha
Registered User
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:02 am
Name: Anyasha

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by Anyasha »

stokerpiller wrote:
Anyasha wrote:I still have the issue of chats not being inserted into the database and I don't have the same problem as the one above. :?
I believe I asked you to try disabling the ultimate point system just to check.

Link to your board?
Did you upgrade from previous version or fresh install?
I did disable UP, with no change. And the chat stopped working out of nowhere before the upgrade, but even with the upgrade it still refuses to work. I hadn't modified any of the mchat files inbetween it working and dying. My board is disabled at the moment, so for now I'm just going to uninstall mChat as I want UP more. Strangely I have the mChat in the MODDB working just fine on another board with UP, so I'll try wiping out this version and installing that one to see if it works.
Last edited by Anyasha on Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Kiss me, I'm Polish!

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by RMcGirr83 »

I can see no reason why it wouldn't work (UP has no js files that I can see)...only if installed incorrectly perhaps or some other mod was done that would cause an issue with the javascript files.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

novice-1
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:22 am

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by novice-1 »

HI, I haven't seen this mentioned so far, and it may prove a dumb question but this is my 2nd attempt at installing this.
In the edits of viewonline.php there is search for the following:

Code: Select all

			$location_url = append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx");
		break;
I have 8 instances of this occurring in the script, does it matter which one I add the following after?

Code: Select all

// BEGIN mChat Mod		
		case 'mchat':
			$location = $user->lang['MCHAT'];
			$location_url = append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}mchat.$phpEx");
		break;		
// END mChat Mod

Gadget27
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:53 am
Location: France (Eure)
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by Gadget27 »

novice-1,
Only the first one
case: index ;)
I learn english with phpbb.com :)

stokerpiller
Registered User
Posts: 1934
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:06 pm

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by stokerpiller »

You should always use the first finding.
I am done with phpBB

novice-1
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:22 am

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by novice-1 »

Thanks guys.... the clue is in my name ;) I'll know for future now though :)

novice-1
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:22 am

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by novice-1 »

Thanks... chat up and running now, ty for the help :)
Not spamming...just letting you know all is good thanks.

merge post :P

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by muggins »

You should have said:

Code: Select all

i=$merge_post(); 
:lol:

(Sorry, just having fun!)
Muggins

novice-1
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:22 am

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by novice-1 »

lol muggins.....

just a small point.... on occasion the chat seems to freeze the browser now... only intermittently and on diff browsers, IE8, FF etc.... also an odd instance since installing of user being 'booted' from the site when sending their chat.

Wondering if it's a poss conflict with autorefresh installed on the forum (set at every 5 mins) with the auto update of the chat?

Another 'subtle' oddity would be the forum has a little 'shake' of sorts .... nothing major and all is working ok, just thought I'd mention it as these have only happened since the mchat install.

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by muggins »

As to the autorefresh, Lord, yes! I tried that in a few different ways, and it always ends up as troublesome for me. Turn it off! :shock:

Laughing again, but really, if you must, change some of the time-outs, but don't force a refresh. It can screw up a lot of things. I know. :evil:
Muggins

RedSunset
Registered User
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by RedSunset »

Hi guys!
I want to add a counter for each user with the number of total chat messages ...
I thought to add a col to the database table users that is a number of the total chat messages ...
so even if you delete the archive you have the total messages of each user ...

How is this possible?
Thanks!

best greetings
RedSunset

lemo147
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:51 pm

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by lemo147 »

hi guys ,,
i want to add Mchat to my portal
i use phpbb3portal.com
any help??

User avatar
napus
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:01 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat New version

Post by napus »

Open: styles\prosilver\template\portal\portal_body.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_GENERAL -->
			<!-- INCLUDE portal/block/general_block.html -->
		<!-- ENDIF -->
Before add:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF U_MCHAT and S_MCHAT_LOCATION --><!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --><!-- ENDIF -->
Find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_ONLINE_PORTAL_LIST and S_DISPLAY_ONLINE_LIST -->
			<!-- INCLUDE portal/block/whois_online.html -->
		<!-- ENDIF -->
After add:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF U_MCHAT and not S_MCHAT_LOCATION --><!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --><!-- ENDIF -->
Open portal.php
Find:

Code: Select all

// output page   
Before add:

Code: Select all

// BEGIN mChat Mod
if(!defined('MCHAT_INCLUDE'))
{
    define('MCHAT_INCLUDE', true);
    $mchat_include_index = true;
    include($phpbb_root_path.'mchat.'.$phpEx);
}
// END mChat Mod  
Pure cache.
Enjoy.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”