[ALPHA] Talk 0.2.0 - a phpBB microblogging service

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
iankent

[ALPHA] Talk 0.2.0 - a phpBB microblogging service

Post by iankent » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:05 pm

Hi everyone

This is my first attempt at modding so hopefully I'm getting this right! Not all of the code is currently compliant with the coding guidelines, but a large part of it is and I'm working on the rest!

Modification Name: Talk
Author: Ian Kent

Modification Description:: A microblogging service integrated with phpBB3, offering similar functionality to Twitter/Status.Net
Modification Version:: 0.2.0

Modification features::
  • Supports @tags and #tags
  • Users can receive PMs when tagged or when a message is favourited
  • AJAX support for timelines and sidebar
  • Supports new >tags (very short links - example on demo site)
Demo URL: http://www.iankent.co.uk/mod_talk/demo/index.php
Demo Username/Password: demo / demouser
Demo Moderator Username/Password: demomod / demomod
Demo Admin Username/Password: demoadmin / demoadmin
Or alternatively: You can register on the demo site, no activation needed

Modification Download: http://www.iankent.co.uk/mod_talk/mod_talk_0.2.0.zip

Any feedback greatly appreciated :) this started off as a 'small' project for another site I was working on, and eventually decided it would be better done as a proper phpBB3 mod, so here it is!

Looking forward to hearing what you think :)
Ian

Change log:
  • Fixed timeline SQL (favourited posts disappearing from timeline)
  • Fixed bug in ajax.php (favourite buttons not appearing on ajax retrieved posts)
  • Fixed UTF8 support (request_var handling incorrect and mysql table column not set to utf8)
  • Added 'view user timeline'
  • Fixed earlier/later links to include userid and view (was reverting to public)