[RC][1.1.0-r2] FIND

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
Locked
User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:50 pm

@wadie

Post or PM me the feed url and I'll get useful info to identify what's wrong ;)

wadie
Registered User
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 5:05 am
Location: Your ACP
Name: Wadie

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by wadie » Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:35 pm

Hey all..

I have a problem with the Champions League URL...it's not valid

Code: Select all

http://www.feedvalidator.org/check.cgi?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.uefa.com%2Frssfeed%2Fuefachampionsleague%2Frss.xml
So just asking if anyone have a good feed URL for Champions League/Europa League news ?!?

Thanks.
Need a custom style made ? want me to install a MOD for you ? Contact me here.

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Scotty501 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:56 pm

Love the sound of this mod - but getting stuck. I have the lastest version, 3.0.7-PL1 - and I installed via AutoMod - it all seems to go well and runs SQL etc.

I then go to ACP create a new Bot, no problem.
You can manage your feeds from GENERAL - BOARD CONFIGURATION -> RSS Import Settings by now
I cant seem to find it anywhere??? What I am doing wrong? Or is this not suitable for Automod?
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

User avatar
Sshadow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:54 pm
Name: Chris C.
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Sshadow » Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:33 am

Scotty501 wrote:Love the sound of this mod - but getting stuck. I have the lastest version, 3.0.7-PL1 - and I installed via AutoMod - it all seems to go well and runs SQL etc.

I then go to ACP create a new Bot, no problem.
You can manage your feeds from GENERAL - BOARD CONFIGURATION -> RSS Import Settings by now
I cant seem to find it anywhere??? What I am doing wrong? Or is this not suitable for Automod?
I used Automod when i installed mine. It sounds like the modules did not get added to the ACP.

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Scotty501 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:54 am

OK I tried it again with AutoMod - and I am getting one error message

It could not find the following in

includes/constants.php

Code: Select all

Find

define('FIND_CJK', 'big5, big5-hkscs');	// for setting the parser CJK flag
//define('FIND_STRIP', '');	// comma delimited string to strip from item contents
Im very confused!!

I did find the second line from the above string - which I replaced with

Code: Select all

//define('FIND_STRIP', '');	// comma delimited string to strip from item contents
//define('FIND_ICON', 6);	// this is the find post icon_id
Still no luck in it showing in my MODS list (although AutoMod shows it installed, and nowhere can I find RSS Input to play with the settings.....
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Scotty501 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:04 pm

OK - I have solved the above - I forgot to add the group in ACP - my bad :(

All looks well - Tables are in place, no errors - but more importantly no posts coming through. I have read through the entire forum with no success - I must be doing soemthing wrong.

I have edited my post as I made curl work....but these errors on email....

Code: Select all

% Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed

100   910  100   910    0     0   1352      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--  1352
100   910  100   910    0     0   1352      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0
<b>[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice</b>: in file <b>/includes/functions_find.php</b> on line <b>35</b>: <b>include(./includes/rss_parser.php) [<a href='function.include'>function.include</a>]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory</b><br />
<b>[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice</b>: in file <b>/includes/functions_find.php</b> on line <b>35</b>: <b>include(./includes/rss_parser.php) [<a href='function.include'>function.include</a>]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory</b><br />
<b>[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice</b>: in file <b>/includes/functions_find.php</b> on line <b>35</b>: <b>include() [<a href='function.include'>function.include</a>]: Failed opening './includes/rss_parser.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php')</b><br />
<br />
<b>Fatal error</b>:  Class 'rss_parser' not found in <b>/home/broker/public_html/includes/functions_find.php</b> on line <b>94</b><br />
As a reminder I used AutoMod.

EDIT = Sorted - Automod did not copy rss_parser.php over - done and working
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

Mindscape81
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:42 am

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Mindscape81 » Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:54 am

i have a problem with a feed.

Feed Url is: (Valid)
http://www.mmo-champion.com/external.ph ... 0&count=10

When i want to import it shows :
[MMO-Champion] XML error: Invalid document end at line 1 column 2 byte 0. URI: http://www.mmo-champion.com/external.ph ... 2&count=10

What puts the & into the url on import ?

Thanks in advance.

wadie
Registered User
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 5:05 am
Location: Your ACP
Name: Wadie

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by wadie » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:22 pm

Mindscape81 wrote:i have a problem with a feed.

Feed Url is: (Valid)
http://www.mmo-champion.com/external.ph ... 0&count=10

When i want to import it shows :
[MMO-Champion] XML error: Invalid document end at line 1 column 2 byte 0. URI: http://www.mmo-champion.com/external.ph ... 2&count=10

What puts the & into the url on import ?

Thanks in advance.
This is a valid RSS feed.
Might be a temporary issue. I've had such an issue before,after one day I tried again and it worked.
Try again later.
Need a custom style made ? want me to install a MOD for you ? Contact me here.

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Scotty501 » Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:33 pm

http://blog.epn-online.com/distiblog/atom.xml
or also tried
http://blog.epn-online.com/distiblog/rss.xml

I checked my erros and I am getting

Code: Select all

/bin/sh:
http://www.brokerwise.org/rss_import?feed-4: No such file or directory
I have three other feeds which seem to work OK.

I am struggling to make this one work - am I missing something obvious? It validates OK on validator,

Edit - Again my bad - I did not set the Curl in cron jobs. By the way - even with the open base directory error it all works fine - great MOD.
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

wadie
Registered User
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 5:05 am
Location: Your ACP
Name: Wadie

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by wadie » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:25 pm

How to make the "Read more" link open in a new tab/window and not in the current one. ?!
Need a custom style made ? want me to install a MOD for you ? Contact me here.

John T. Folden
Registered User
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:16 am

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by John T. Folden » Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:02 am

Hello,

I've just installed this mod and it seems to be working okay.

However, I see a problem with the "Characters to post" feature. I have it set to 0 but it is not pulling in all the content from the feed. PLEASE NOTE: I'm pulling in an RSS Feed from my own site and I have the Wordpress blog set to output "Full Text" into the rss feed. However, the amount I'm seeing posted in the forum does NOT match the amount I'm seeing when looking at the RSS feed directly.

Even if I set Characters To Post to 1000 it gets cut off early. In case it makes a difference I have post mode set to "Item".

Edit To add... I was looking at the bare xml of the rss feed. Are you pulling from the "Description" rather than the "Content"?

Here is a feed location: http://being-human.tv/News/category/articles/feed/
The Blue Whale Pub - SPN/SF/F TV Discussion Forum
ZOMBIE ALERT: The Walking Dead are coming to AMC!

John T. Folden
Registered User
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:16 am

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by John T. Folden » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:05 am

I found that by editing rss_parser.php, I could change:
case 'SUMMARY': // Atom
case 'CONTENT': // Atom
case 'DESCRIPTION':
$this->_item['description'] .= $data;
to this
case 'SUMMARY': // Atom
case 'CONTENT': // Atom
case 'CONTENT:ENCODED':
$this->_item['description'] .= $data;
...and it now works as intended. This works on all of my WordPress 3.0 RSS2 feeds. I think it might break some other feeds, however and don't know how to modify the code so it would NOT use 'description' if 'content:encoded' is present (otherwise it's duplicated the first several lines of the content via the description when it imports the item as a post).
The Blue Whale Pub - SPN/SF/F TV Discussion Forum
ZOMBIE ALERT: The Walking Dead are coming to AMC!

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:49 am

@wadie, The URL handled by phpBB code. To make click open new window, you have to look for another mod.

@John T. Folden, current code only handles simple XML tags, and your mod breaks other feeds for sure. If this mod goes official, I can start fixing the parser code with some help. ;)

John T. Folden
Registered User
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:16 am

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by John T. Folden » Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:03 am

PoPoutdoor wrote:@John T. Folden, current code only handles simple XML tags, and your mod breaks other feeds for sure. If this mod goes official, I can start fixing the parser code with some help. ;)
Thanks, that's what I figured. Since the new WordPress 3+ seems to use 'content:encoded' in its feeds by default, I imagine more people will begin to find this issue cropping up.
The Blue Whale Pub - SPN/SF/F TV Discussion Forum
ZOMBIE ALERT: The Walking Dead are coming to AMC!

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Scotty501 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:12 am

This is working great apart from I am getting duplicate posts - I have it set to update every 24 hours, and it is duplicating the posts (maybe only if there are no new stories from that feed).

Any suggestions on preventing duplicate posts?
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”