[RC][1.1.0-r2] FIND

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:36 am

Nawid wrote:hmmm, I installed this and it's not working...
I don't know what's wrong or even what did I do wrong ? :)
Just say "not working" doesn't help... please check your edited code and read the mod instructions first. Post the error message if any, or provide more info like the feed source url, etc.

phes
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by phes » Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:38 pm

I have tried this but get the following error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1 [1064]

SQL

UPDATE phpbb_topics SET topic_replies_real = topic_replies_real + 1, topic_bumped = 0, topic_bumper = 0, topic_replies = topic_replies + 1, topic_last_post_id = 788, topic_last_poster_id = 122, topic_last_poster_name = 'RSS', topic_last_poster_colour = '', topic_last_post_subject = 'MMA-Videos', topic_last_post_time = 1259425639 WHERE topic_id =

BACKTRACE

FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 174
CALL: dbal->sql_error()

FILE: includes/functions_find.php
LINE: 442
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

FILE: includes/functions_find.php
LINE: 201
CALL: rss_autopost()

FILE: includes/acp/acp_find.php
LINE: 84
CALL: get_rss_content()

FILE: includes/functions_module.php
LINE: 507
CALL: acp_find->main()

FILE: adm/index.php
LINE: 74
CALL: p_master->load_active()


Thanks

Vaneska
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:50 pm

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Vaneska » Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:14 pm

Thanks for your work :)

Installing worked fine. But when i try to fetch a RSS i always get:
RSS fetch succefully: None.
RSS without updates: None.

RSS with error: [MMO] Failed to fetch data from http://www.mmo-champion.com/news-2/?typ ... ml;sa=news
[BBC] Failed to fetch data from http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline ... ge/rss.xml
Hope you can help.

phes
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by phes » Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:41 pm

Hi
OK I tried linking to a different feed and it worked fine

How can I get it to work with the feed from here
http://mma-videos.co.uk/rss/rss.xml

Thanks

phes
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: [DEV] RSS Input [SOLVED]

Post by phes » Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:45 pm

ok sorted this the problem was down to rss feed

This problem is solved - The code is working great the only problems I had were rss feed incorrectly formatted

Thanks
Last edited by phes on Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Nawid
Registered User
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Nawid » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:48 pm

PoPoutdoor wrote:
Nawid wrote:hmmm, I installed this and it's not working...
I don't know what's wrong or even what did I do wrong ? :)
Just say "not working" doesn't help... please check your edited code and read the mod instructions first. Post the error message if any, or provide more info like the feed source url, etc.

I have double checked all my edits and uploaded files.

I have tried all kinds of feeds, rss and xml
please take a look at my test forum: http://schoollife.host22.com/index.php I made several forums and categories just for testing, each categorie has got a different rss/xml

some examples I'm using

Code: Select all

http://www.nu.nl/feeds/rss/sport.rss
http://www.nytimes.com/services/xml/rss/nyt/GlobalSports.xml
http://www.nu.nl/feeds/rss/opmerkelijk.rss
http://www.schoollife.nl/forum/rss.php?f=48
I'm not getting any error. I get nothing. Nothing happens...
Image
Check SuperNova Orange style on:
SchoolLife.nl
phpBB.com

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:55 am

Nawid wrote:I have double checked all my edits and uploaded files.

I have tried all kinds of feeds, rss and xml
......
I'm not getting any error. I get nothing. Nothing happens...
Can you take a look in the webserver error log? Post last few lines of log entries AFTER you import one feed from ACP.

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:59 am

phes wrote:I have tried this but get the following error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1 [1064]
Does the SQL error gone now?

If everything alright, please edit related post as "[Solved]".

Thanks!
phes wrote:ok sorted this the problem was down to rss feed
Maybe I can add code to detect source link down(timeout) and generate proper messages about this. :)

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:13 am

Vaneska wrote:Thanks for your work :)

Installing worked fine. But when i try to fetch a RSS i always get:
RSS fetch succefully: None.
RSS without updates: None.

RSS with error: [MMO] Failed to fetch data from http://www.mmo-champion.com/news-2/?typ ... ml;sa=news
[BBC] Failed to fetch data from http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline ... ge/rss.xml
Hope you can help.
My test site does not have the code right now...

The BBC source works fine on my last test, and the MMO source should be fine too.
I think the problem may be in the web server settings, check phpinfo from ACP, look for entry:

Code: Select all

allow_url_fopen = on

Vaneska
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:50 pm

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by Vaneska » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Working now, thanks :)

Some suggestions for the future:
- Maybe having the Option that the "Title" from the News itselfe is going to be the Topic Title, and not the "Title" from the Site. Because else you will have alot of Topics with the same Title. (BBC World News, BBC World News, BBC World News, etc.) Not sure if this is possible :)
- An option in the ACP to change the color of the Title/Heading/Description
- Integrate Youtube Videos

Just some Ideas.
Vaneska

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:29 am

Vaneska wrote:Working now, thanks :)

Some suggestions for the future:
- Maybe having the Option that the "Title" from the News itselfe is going to be the Topic Title, and not the "Title" from the Site. Because else you will have alot of Topics with the same Title. (BBC World News, BBC World News, BBC World News, etc.) Not sure if this is possible :)
- An option in the ACP to change the color of the Title/Heading/Description
- Integrate Youtube Videos
1. Topic Title

Current code import more than one entries from the source's <item> tag, so it is logical to pick the source name as the topic title.

I can add a check box to use the ACP feed name instead of the source name as the topic title, after the current code functions as designed.

2. Change the color of the Title/Heading/Description

I think this can be done by using methods like phpbb style, this approach may support multi-scheme but I think ACP global options will be in the next version.

3. Integrate Youtube Videos

When the Youtube Video BBcode goes to official, this can be added later. Don't expect this will come soon ;)

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:26 am

PoPoutdoor wrote:
Sajaki wrote:i installed it fine but once i tried to import a feed i ran into this error message :
...
Google feed not working in the 2.x FIND mod too!

If the sources not follows standards, we just can't fix in the code :cry:
BTW, I have to look in the code to find out why the "No encoding" error not detect this.
Just test with http://code.google.com/feeds/p/support/svnchanges/basic, the code catch the missing encoding info:

Code: Select all

RSS fetch succefully: None.

RSS without updates: None.



RSS with error: [Google [Test]] No encoding info! URL: http://code.google.com/feeds/p/support/svnchanges/basic

User avatar
JasonD2
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:01 pm
Location: Brisbane QLD
Name: Jason Dawson
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by JasonD2 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:06 pm

This is probably a dumb questions, i have installed the MOD as per instructions edited the relevant files... But i have no idea what to do with the SQL code you show in the install file there is no instructions other than the code itself.

Could you advise whats to be done here?

Thanks

Jason
Australian Financial Planning phpBB
JDFP Note Pad

User avatar
PoPoutdoor
Registered User
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by PoPoutdoor » Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:17 am

JasonD2 wrote:This is probably a dumb questions, i have installed the MOD as per instructions edited the relevant files... But i have no idea what to do with the SQL code you show in the install file there is no instructions other than the code itself.

Could you advise whats to be done here?

Thanks

Jason
If you doesn't know much about server, I don't see this is dumb :)

My only database server experience is using mysql command line, if you don't have terminal access, you have to look elsewhere for using other tools to manage your database.

1. Login to your server
2. Type: mysql phpbb3 -u username -p
3. enter password
4. copy the code form database sections, pasted there and press "Enter'

Hope this can help :)

User avatar
JasonD2
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:01 pm
Location: Brisbane QLD
Name: Jason Dawson
Contact:

Re: [DEV] RSS Input

Post by JasonD2 » Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:30 am

Thanks for the reply

Its my own website so i have cpanel access that has a whole host of options etc on it, i only have experience with about half of them and apart from the standard/automated install of new software i have had no other invovlement with the mysql options

I have jsut gone into the mysql option and found a form based method for altering the database

I will have a play with that

maybe, confidence not high
Australian Financial Planning phpBB
JDFP Note Pad

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”