[BETA] Where's Waldo

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by dellsystem »

WascallyWabbit wrote:I set the url to open the points page in the UCP.
I wasn't able to replicate your problem. You shouldn't be able to click Waldo more than once - once you've clicked him, you're taken to another page, so you won't be able to click him again unless he happens to appear on that new page as well. If he does, then you'll get points for both times he showed up. Is that perhaps what's happening for you? If not, could you PM me your website URL and details of a test account? Thanks :)
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)
jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by jmjm003 »

As it is. Can Waldo only appear in the header section of the board? Or, can he appear anywhere on the page?
WascallyWabbit
Registered User
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by WascallyWabbit »

dellsystem wrote:
WascallyWabbit wrote:I set the url to open the points page in the UCP.
I wasn't able to replicate your problem. You shouldn't be able to click Waldo more than once - once you've clicked him, you're taken to another page, so you won't be able to click him again unless he happens to appear on that new page as well. If he does, then you'll get points for both times he showed up. Is that perhaps what's happening for you? If not, could you PM me your website URL and details of a test account? Thanks :)
I apologize for making you check something that apparently doesn't exist. I have a bad habit of believing people too much when they say something isn't working right. After making my original post, I have been fiddling with it on my test server and I couldn't reproduce the problem myself........So, I guess I need to put a little less faith in bug reports that end up not existing. Again, sorry for the trouble.
User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by dellsystem »

jmjm003 wrote:As it is. Can Waldo only appear in the header section of the board? Or, can he appear anywhere on the page?
He can appear anywhere within a window that you can set within the ACP.
Let's say you set the horizontal maximum at 1000 pixels, and the vertical maximum at 500 pixels. The image can then appear anywhere from the left side of the page to 1000 pixels to the right of that, and from the top of the page to 500 pixels below that.

Take a look at the demo board to see what I mean - http://www.dev.ulmb.com/phpbb/
WascallyWabbit wrote:I apologize for making you check something that apparently doesn't exist. I have a bad habit of believing people too much when they say something isn't working right. After making my original post, I have been fiddling with it on my test server and I couldn't reproduce the problem myself........So, I guess I need to put a little less faith in bug reports that end up not existing. Again, sorry for the trouble.
No worries :) Please do let me know if you encounter other problems.
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)
jmjm003
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by jmjm003 »

If I were to make multiple images to use instead of waldo. Would it be possible to use a wildcard and let different images appear at random?

Code: Select all

$waldo_link = "images/myimages/*.png";
User avatar
callumacrae
Former Team Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: London, UK
Name: Callum Macrae
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by callumacrae »

LOL

This is wonderful, I wish you the best of luck!

~Callum
macr.ae = my website. you probably won't like it.
Proud user ofProud user of
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by sitwi »

Hi, I get a problem when trying to install mine - any ideas? All of my folders are the standard phpBB names, except for the theme I'm using??
Where's Waldo MOD
PHP Version: 5.2.13
DBMS: MySQL 5.0.81-log
phpBB3 Version: 3.0.7-PL1

Adding acp module: Where's Waldo MOD
ERROR: The parent category specified for this module does not exist.

Adding acp module: General configuration
ERROR: The parent category specified for this module does not exist.
Thanks for any help!
sitwi
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by sitwi »

Solved already - I had an out-of-date version of UMIL.

Thanks for a great MOD!
User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by dellsystem »

jmjm003 wrote:If I were to make multiple images to use instead of waldo. Would it be possible to use a wildcard and let different images appear at random?

Code: Select all

$waldo_link = "images/myimages/*.png";
It is indeed possible, only not with a wildcard. For example, if you had 4 different png images, you would:
  1. Copy the images you want to use to the directory images/blahblah/. Name them 1.png, 2.png, 3.png and 4.png.
  2. In the line before $waldo_link, add:

    Code: Select all

    $waldo_number = mt_rand(1,4);
  3. Change the $waldo_link line to read:

    Code: Select all

    $waldo_link = 'images/blahblah/' . $waldo_number . '.png;
  4. Upload functions.php
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)
User avatar
darkonia
Registered User
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:10 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by darkonia »

dellsystem wrote:First version (0.0.1) complete, first post updated with the download. (For reference: http://dev.ulmb.com/waldo_mod_0.0.1.zip
wonderful, thx for your work :mrgreen:
MMOG-Heaven - Das Gaming Portal
Community bedeutet Gleichgesinnte finden - MMOG-Heaven ist Deine Community! Von Spielern für Spieler bietet Dir dieses Portal genau das, was ein Spieler braucht. Bleibe ständig informiert, finde die neuesten MMORPGs, oder suche die frischesten News aus der Welt des Online Gamings - dieses und vieles mehr erwartet Dich auf MMOG-Heaven.
dezerter_af
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:39 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by dezerter_af »

Great modification!

I very much like Wally:)

May more of such modifications with Wally!
pcmander
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:43 pm

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by pcmander »

Thanks for this mod...it's great

Hope it will be possible to get point when you click Waldo ;)
Septre
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by Septre »

wow... I've had such a great idea on how to use this for my RP forum.. THANK YOU!!!
lemmingtopias
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:32 pm

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by lemmingtopias »

Hi there.

I am getting this error file when attempting to install:
Where's Waldo MOD
PHP Version: 5.2.17
DBMS: MySQL(i) 5.1.47-community-log
phpBB3 Version: 3.0.8

Adding acp module: Where's Waldo MOD
ERROR: The parent category specified for this module does not exist.

Adding acp module: General configuration
ERROR: The parent category specified for this module does not exist.
I have tried updating to the latest version of UMIL but still the same. Any idea what i could have done wrong?

Thanks :)


EDIT: Ok I have fixed this. If anyone else gets it, look in the Waldo_mod_install.php for the following line:
// Add category Where's Waldo MOD under the .MODs tab
array('acp', 31, 'Where\'s Waldo MOD'),
Change the "31" to the correct Category ID for the .mods category. (It is 503 for me).
User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Where's Waldo

Post by dellsystem »

Updated to version 0.0.2

Cleaned up some code, incorporated use of language constants and added the ability to configure the image URL and mouseover text.

Direct download link

Status, description, screenshots, etc

If there are any problems installing or upgrading please let me know.
lemmingtopias wrote:EDIT: Ok I have fixed this. If anyone else gets it, look in the Waldo_mod_install.php for the following line:
// Add category Where's Waldo MOD under the .MODs tab
array('acp', 31, 'Where\'s Waldo MOD'),
Change the "31" to the correct Category ID for the .mods category. (It is 503 for me).
Thanks for the fix, the problem is fixed in the latest release :)
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”