[ABD] Hide bots 1.0.4

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

[ABD] Hide bots 1.0.4

Post by Liquix » Tue May 29, 2007 10:39 pm

MOD Title: Hide Bots
MOD Description: Makes the bots show as hidden users and will only be visible by those who got the permissions to see hidden users
MOD Version: 1.0.4

MOD Download: Download
Last Stable version: 1.0.4

Screenshots:
Screenshot 1 - Admin panel
Screenshot 2 - Online list as user (v1.0.0, in v1.0.4 the hidden user counter would be higher)
Screenshot 3 - Online list as admin (v1.1.0, in v1.0.4 bots are shown in italic, and the hidden user counter would be higher)
Last edited by DavidIQ on Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:46 am, edited 21 times in total.
Reason: Marked as abandoned
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

User avatar
ac_roma
Registered User
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: egypt,alexandria
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by ac_roma » Tue May 29, 2007 11:32 pm

simple , good & nice

thank you ;)

User avatar
Da Undead
Registered User
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:24 am
Location: USA, Texas
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by Da Undead » Wed May 30, 2007 12:27 am

I don't see why you would want to hide bots. I think it actually makes it look cooler to have an "Google [Bot]" on your 'Whos online list'.

They don't do any harm =x.
Image
Create your very own MMORPG, click picture above!

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Wed May 30, 2007 4:56 am

My members started to whine about the forum getting hacked by google and stuff. So, to stop the whining, I found out that I could hide the bots. I created it as a mod too, if any one else wanted to hide for some reason
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Wed May 30, 2007 6:02 am

Added a button under "Board settings" now that will let you turn of this mod! The updated mod is in my first post
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

User avatar
ac_roma
Registered User
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: egypt,alexandria
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by ac_roma » Wed May 30, 2007 6:53 am

Da Undead its great to know u only the bots which hits your site ;)

WheelGuy
Registered User
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by WheelGuy » Wed May 30, 2007 7:13 am

I'm not currently using this mod myself, because I like to know there is a "bot" instead of like in phpBB2 they just showed as guest. However, like Liquix, if my users begin to get "paranoid" and questioning, I will add this to hide the bots from them..

geoffreak
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:39 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by geoffreak » Wed May 30, 2007 7:26 am

smithy_dll wrote:You must not post your MOD Template as plain text inside your topic, rather it must be made available as a download, either from your site or by registering for some kind of free file hosting (I recommend using Yahoo Drive or FilePub. For images, I'd recommend ,Yoxio or Pixya)
;)
Anime Revolution - Your new #1 source for All things anime and manga!
READ MY BLOG ALREADY!

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Wed May 30, 2007 10:42 am

WheelGuy wrote:I'm not currently using this mod myself, because I like to know there is a "bot" instead of like in phpBB2 they just showed as guest. However, like Liquix, if my users begin to get "paranoid" and questioning, I will add this to hide the bots from them..
The bots wont be showed at all, not as guests even. You, as admin can still see them, but users don't.

And, Ill upload the mod as a file and use the standard mod template. Anyone tested this mod BTW?
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Wed May 30, 2007 4:28 pm

Added some screenshots and converted the install file to MODX.
Maybe Ill set it as RC? It seems to be working =)
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

drewtscott
Registered User
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:51 pm

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by drewtscott » Wed May 30, 2007 7:15 pm

WheelGuy wrote:I'm not currently using this mod myself, because I like to know there is a "bot" instead of like in phpBB2 they just showed as guest. However, like Liquix, if my users begin to get "paranoid" and questioning, I will add this to hide the bots from them..
Even if they aren't paranoid, we have users at our forum asking what the bots are constantly.

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Wed May 30, 2007 9:20 pm

Definitely, so instead of telling everyone about them, why not just hide them =P
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Thu May 31, 2007 6:23 am

Updated to RC1 and hopes that MOD-team will accept.

(Hope they do accept at all when phpBB still is a RC)
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

User avatar
rainbowz
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2001 12:24 am
Location: Depths of Hell

A couple of small glitches found

Post by rainbowz » Mon Jul 09, 2007 9:44 pm

Errors:

Files to Edit

* languages/en/acp/board.php,
* functions.php,

should be
* includes/functions.php,

as well as
Open: functions.php
should obviously be
Open: includes/functions.php

In the "Save all files; End of Mod" area, you should let the user know that this new button is located over in the General>Board Settings section. Having to hunt for newly added funtions in the 2845 possible tabs now in phpBB3 ;) is a bit annoying.

Other than these not insurmountable glitches, this Mod works like a charm. Installed in RC3, btw. Thank you!! :D :D

And you may also want to note that this function hides the bots from your forum Mods, too.

User avatar
Liquix
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Hide bots

Post by Liquix » Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:25 pm

Fixed those small glitches with the install file. Everything seems to be right now.

Hope people like this mod and are willing to come with sugestions. Im planning to make so the admin can select between three actions in the admin. Everyone, Mods and Admins. So the admin can open for the mods to see the bots too.

Hope this mod is added to the MODDB some time
--------------
Made so that the bots are set as hidden users instead =P
HabboPalace

My Mods(For PhpBB3):

Hide Bots, My VIP Code

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron