[MODDB] simple syndication

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Anti-Spam Guide

[MODDB] simple syndication

Postby angelside » Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:39 pm

MOD Title: simple syndication
MOD Description: phpBB 3.0 rss/atom content syndicator
MOD Version: 1.1.1b

MOD Download: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/canver ... .1b.tar.gz

Demo Board: http://www.phpbbturkiye.net/syndication.php?fid=20&t=1


changelog from 1.0.0b
* fix minor error
* add new parameter for show topic only first post


Updated on: 2007-06-20 - Version 1.1.1b
Last edited by angelside on Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:43 am, edited 3 times in total.
phpBB Türkiye | Turkish phpBB3 support and develop
phpBB3 Portal | simple portal for phpBB3 Olympus
User avatar
angelside
Registered User
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Türkiye

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby spartanandjohn117 » Sat Jun 09, 2007 7:16 pm

You should have instructions to put a small "RSS" or "Atom" button on the template file(s) so that users can easily subscribe to it.
spartanandjohn117
Registered User
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:40 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby Volunteer Forum » Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:45 pm

Is it possibly to create something like the RSS on this forum:
http://www.volunteerforum.se/index.php
(As you can see each category has its own feed)

Also:
http://www.google.com/webmasters/tools

Cant use this as the old version, this new version generates an error, the old did not...
Volunteer Community - Everything that is not perfect is a flaw [",] - Vapen Forum

Image
User avatar
Volunteer Forum
Registered User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby rawk » Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:24 am

This mod is great and I have installed it, but I insist to say that in my opinion link URLs should go to the same post as shown in the RSS entry, and not to the first page of the topic, because user want to read the same post.

Now all links in RSS entries are of the form viewtopic.php?f=5&t=71 eg they link to a topic, but they should be of the form viewtopic.php?p=814#p814 eg link to a post.

Could you please consider to modify it this way?
Thank you :-)

[EDIT: It seems there are errors in the rss output since many posts get merged in a single item, I'll revert to the previous version for now]
rawk
Registered User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:23 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby REVELAT10N » Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:38 am

How would you get this to only post topics but not list the replies? It works great as I am using an RSS reader in Flash that pulls the feed into Flash but I need to limit this to only the topics and have it ignore the replies.

A version of this mod that worked with phpbb2 had a code that looked like this:

Code: Select all
    $topics_only = (isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['t'])) ? intval($HTTP_GET_VARS['t']) : 1;
    $sql_topics_only_where = '';
    if ($topics_only == 1) {
        $sql_topics_only_where = 'AND p.post_id = t.topic_first_post_id';
    }


That would strip the replies. I have tried using this in this mod but it fails.

Anyone?
REVELAT10N
Registered User
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:53 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby angelside » Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:11 am

It's easy, but you not use standard code !

First:

$HTTP_GET_VARS['t'] is old style for phpBB2, phpBB3 use this: $topics_only = request_var('t', '');

Second:

Your $sql_topics_only_where variable is not use my mods, I use: $sql_where

Third:

t.topic_first_post_id it's correct, but main SQL code don't have t.

FIX: Use newest version, I updated first post.


I test localhost and phpbbturkiye.net, and work. Thanks for this feedback, I added you idea main mod. Thanks.
phpBB Türkiye | Turkish phpBB3 support and develop
phpBB3 Portal | simple portal for phpBB3 Olympus
User avatar
angelside
Registered User
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Türkiye

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby cillinz » Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:44 am

stotis.net <- Lithuanian the best.
cillinz
Registered User
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:29 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby ylcncn » Wed Jun 20, 2007 2:13 pm

works perfect for me. thanks ;)
Last edited by ylcncn on Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ylcncn
Registered User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 7:59 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby REVELAT10N » Thu Jun 21, 2007 2:17 am

Excellent fix! I very much appreciate the quick response. It worked for me but now there is something I noticed this new code is missing and is subsequently messing up my RSS feed:

This code was in your old version
Code: Select all
$post_text = str_replace("\n", '<br />', $post_text);

From the look of it this would help the feed recognize line breaks. Your new code will only post the subjects if a line break appears in the topic. If there is no line break, the entire text is fed into the feed. Below is my test URL so you can see:

http://www.legionoftheapocalypse.com/forum/rss.php

Anyone have a quick fix for this?

EDIT:
Nevermind... seems to be an issue with Firefox. IE can view it as it is suppose to and my Flash file is pulling the info correctly. Excellent work!!!
REVELAT10N
Registered User
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:53 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby ascensions » Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:30 am

Great Mod! It does have a hard time with parsing embed and object codes I've noticed, but other then that it's brilliant!

I do however notice it's appending sids to the url when ran from third party software. This could be problematic as it's creating alot of alternate urls. Can this SIDs be shut off?
User avatar
ascensions
Registered User
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby spartanandjohn117 » Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:35 am

I have successfully integrated this MOD with the SEO URL from Handyman. I can make you a list of changes to be made if you want.
spartanandjohn117
Registered User
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:40 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby pappfer » Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:25 pm

I tried to apply this mod but all I get is a blank page while I'm trying to read it.
My forum is in a subdomain. I copied syndication.php into the root of my forum and the other 2 files to the styles/prosilver/template/ folder.
Any idea for this?

By the way If I want to do that for subsilver2, all I need to do is to put these lines inside the <head> in overall_header.html in the templates directory of subsilver2, or do I have to add something else?

Code: Select all
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="{SITENAME}" href="syndication.php?type=rss" />
<link rel="alternate" type="application/atom+xml" title="{SITENAME}" href="syndication.php?type=atom" />
pappfer
Registered User
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby Jhong » Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:52 pm

I installed this, works great...

BUT.. (and I think this could also be the problem the poster above is having)....

FireFox doesn't seem to support the atom feed natively. You get a blank live bookmark page. Unfortunately, when you click on the RSS icon in the address bar, FireFox chooses the atom over the RSS2 feed (I tried reversing the order in the template: same result).

So I ended up just removing the atom feed from the template.

If you can look into FireFox live bookmark compatibility, that would be great.

I use FireFox 2.0.0.4-ubuntu, Noia theme (if it helps any).
phpBB<->WordPress Integration: www.wp-united.com
User avatar
Jhong
Registered User
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: In a theme sandwich

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby pappfer » Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:07 pm

Jhong wrote:...

That's right, I'm using Firefox 2.0.0.4, too.
But I also tried to give the address like this: http://forum.pappfer.hu/syndication.php?type=rss and also like this: http://forum.pappfer.hu/syndication.php?type=rss2 but always blank page as you can see.
pappfer
Registered User
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Postby tanrek » Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:33 pm

ascensions wrote:I do however notice it's appending sids to the url when ran from third party software. This could be problematic as it's creating alot of alternate urls. Can this SIDs be shut off?

Right. RSSOwl marks all items as unread after each reload since the posts have different URLs each time. The SIDs should be removed.
User avatar
tanrek
Registered User
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Germany, Offenbach

Next

Return to [3.0.x] MODs in Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 27 guests