[MODDB] simple syndication

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
polle
Registered User
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:18 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by polle »

Hi, can someone point me in how to call it to make it display just the topics that have a new reply and not always the last X number of topics that have or not replies ?

Thanks.
User avatar
pussaya
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by pussaya »

polle wrote:Hi, can someone point me in how to call it to make it display just the topics that have a new reply and not always the last X number of topics that have or not replies ?

Thanks.
Well, i thin it is not possible. Than you would need a own feed for every user and you would need the last log in time of him/her....

It is a pity but I think we have to accept it!
polle
Registered User
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:18 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by polle »

pussaya wrote:
polle wrote:Hi, can someone point me in how to call it to make it display just the topics that have a new reply and not always the last X number of topics that have or not replies ?

Thanks.
Well, i thin it is not possible. Than you would need a own feed for every user and you would need the last log in time of him/her....

It is a pity but I think we have to accept it!
Cant the feed just feed when it has a reply ?

Just as all feeds work, if it has something new it shows up, if not it doesnt.

Because having the same feed always no matter if it has replies or not doesnt have sense.

The feed reads what its new, not the same 10 last topics all the time as if they are new when they are not.

Or am I mising something ?

Thanks.
Drakkim
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:48 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by Drakkim »

polle wrote:Cant the feed just feed when it has a reply ?

Just as all feeds work, if it has something new it shows up, if not it doesnt.

Because having the same feed always no matter if it has replies or not doesnt have sense.

The feed reads what its new, not the same 10 last topics all the time as if they are new when they are not.

Or am I mising something ?

Thanks.
The feed is generated when it is requested. There's no way to tell when something was replied to... it just grabs the last X posts and sticks them into the feed... I guess you could make sure they are nor from the same topic... but then if two people post you're going to miss one in the feed. To determine if something is "new" you have to be logged in... and the feed doesn't have any way to do that... (although it does register if you are already logged in...) It probably is possible... but outside of the scope of simple syndication.

-Drakkim
User avatar
pussaya
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by pussaya »

What's about increasing the chart/letter limit for the message? Can we do it or is it something in realation with the used DB?
Mainstay55
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 6:06 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by Mainstay55 »

How would I make it so that each forum has it's own unique RSS feed?

For example on viewforum_body.html I have added:

Code: Select all

	<div align="center"><a href="http://www.website.com/forum/syndication.php?t=1&fid=4&count=50" target="_blank"><img src="/images/icons/icon_feed.gif" alt="" width="16" height="16" border="0" align="absmiddle"></a><br /><br>
</div>
How would I make the fid = to whatever forum id I am actually in...?

so it looks like (I don't know):

syndication.php?t=1&fid={forum_id}&count=50

I know it's simply php but I'm starting to flounder...

thanks!

--matt
polle
Registered User
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:18 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by polle »

Drakkim wrote:
polle wrote:Cant the feed just feed when it has a reply ?

Just as all feeds work, if it has something new it shows up, if not it doesnt.

Because having the same feed always no matter if it has replies or not doesnt have sense.

The feed reads what its new, not the same 10 last topics all the time as if they are new when they are not.

Or am I mising something ?

Thanks.
The feed is generated when it is requested. There's no way to tell when something was replied to... it just grabs the last X posts and sticks them into the feed... I guess you could make sure they are nor from the same topic... but then if two people post you're going to miss one in the feed. To determine if something is "new" you have to be logged in... and the feed doesn't have any way to do that... (although it does register if you are already logged in...) It probably is possible... but outside of the scope of simple syndication.

-Drakkim
Hmm, I assume then all websites in the world with feeds make magic just showing the feed when it has something new ?

Actually I had it that way in phpbb2, the correct way for a feed to work is show the feed when it has something new, lets hope someone knows how to fix this.

Thanks.
User avatar
mrTablet
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:59 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by mrTablet »

Hmm, I assume then all websites in the world with feeds make magic just showing the feed when it has something new ?

Actually I had it that way in phpbb2, the correct way for a feed to work is show the feed when it has something new, lets hope someone knows how to fix this.
Agree!
negative-entropy
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 6:42 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by negative-entropy »

Hello, good mod, it is however slightly buggy, as building the identification using append_sid WILL result in a different item identification at each call for aggregators, thus breaking feeders that count on it to avoid duplicates, as it makes identification, guid and like absolutely useless. most systems try to identify on the link also, but then, same piece of code in this mod, resulting in the same problem.

syndication.php mofified to:

Code: Select all

        
$template->assign_block_vars('item', array(
                'AUTHOR'                => $row['username'],
                'TIME'                  => format_date($row['post_time']),
                'LINK'                  => "$board_url/viewtopic.$phpEx". '?f=' . $row['forum_id'] . '
&t=' . $row['topic_id'],
                'IDENTIFIER'    => "$board_url/viewtopic.$phpEx". '?f=' . $row['forum_id'] . '&t='
 . $row['topic_id'],
                'TITLE'                 => $row['post_subject'],
                'TEXT'                  => parse_message($row['post_text'], $row['forum_desc_options']
, $row['bbcode_uid'], $row['bbcode_bitfield']),
 
hope this helps,
ciao,
/JM
ndss
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:13 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by ndss »

pussaya wrote:
polle wrote:Hi, can someone point me in how to call it to make it display just the topics that have a new reply and not always the last X number of topics that have or not replies ?

Thanks.
Well, i thin it is not possible. Than you would need a own feed for every user and you would need the last log in time of him/her....

It is a pity but I think we have to accept it!
Sure it´s possble.... Just change the ´1´ ot ´0´ in syndication.php, like this:

Code: Select all

// only topic first post
if ($topics_only == 0) 
{
:o
User avatar
mrTablet
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:59 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by mrTablet »

negative-entropy wrote:Hello, good mod, it is however slightly buggy, as building the identification using append_sid WILL result in a different item identification at each call for aggregators, thus breaking feeders that count on it to avoid duplicates, as it makes identification, guid and like absolutely useless. most systems try to identify on the link also, but then, same piece of code in this mod, resulting in the same problem.

syndication.php mofified to:

Code: Select all

        
$template->assign_block_vars('item', array(
                'AUTHOR'                => $row['username'],
                'TIME'                  => format_date($row['post_time']),
                'LINK'                  => "$board_url/viewtopic.$phpEx". '?f=' . $row['forum_id'] . '
&t=' . $row['topic_id'],
                'IDENTIFIER'    => "$board_url/viewtopic.$phpEx". '?f=' . $row['forum_id'] . '&t='
 . $row['topic_id'],
                'TITLE'                 => $row['post_subject'],
                'TEXT'                  => parse_message($row['post_text'], $row['forum_desc_options']
, $row['bbcode_uid'], $row['bbcode_bitfield']),
 
hope this helps,
ciao,
/JM
Dont work for me.
polle
Registered User
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:18 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by polle »

ndss wrote:
pussaya wrote:
polle wrote:Hi, can someone point me in how to call it to make it display just the topics that have a new reply and not always the last X number of topics that have or not replies ?

Thanks.
Well, i thin it is not possible. Than you would need a own feed for every user and you would need the last log in time of him/her....

It is a pity but I think we have to accept it!
Sure it´s possble.... Just change the ´1´ ot ´0´ in syndication.php, like this:

Code: Select all

// only topic first post
if ($topics_only == 0) 
{
:o
This does not work for me, it shows just the first post of each topic, not the reply itself and also just when the topics have a reply as it should work. But Thanks.

If someone else know how to fix this, please share with us the solution.
User avatar
mrTablet
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:59 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by mrTablet »

Code: Select all

        
$template->assign_block_vars('item', array(
                'AUTHOR'                => $row['username'],
                'TIME'                  => format_date($row['post_time']),
                'LINK'                  => "$board_url/viewtopic.$phpEx". '?f=' . $row['forum_id'] . '
&t=' . $row['topic_id'],
                'IDENTIFIER'    => "$board_url/viewtopic.$phpEx". '?f=' . $row['forum_id'] . '&t='
. $row['topic_id'],
                'TITLE'                 => $row['post_subject'],
                'TEXT'                  => parse_message($row['post_text'], $row['forum_desc_options']
, $row['bbcode_uid'], $row['bbcode_bitfield']),
I tryed this because I have a lots of duplicates in my feeds when its updated. But i dont work for me. I got a feed error. My feed.
User avatar
mrTablet
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:59 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by mrTablet »

Looks like it works after all :D
greyforum
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by greyforum »

Hello,

Not sure posted right. I downloaded the simple RSS mod:
The package comes with a XSL style sheet: where shouldI upload it, please? :oops:

Thanks very much for a kind help :)

Sincerely
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”