[Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
Locked
MzVette
Registered User
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:54 am
Location: California Dreaming!
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by MzVette » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:17 pm

Great tutorial!

I have a problem. I attempted to install a portal mod, but received errors. I tried to reinstall where I thought the errors would be fixed, but I got a error that the db entry had already been created.

Is it safe enough to drop the db entries, then remove the portal files so that I an attempt a clean re-install?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 13686
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by 3Di » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:45 pm

MzVette wrote:Great tutorial!

I have a problem. I attempted to install a portal mod, but received errors. I tried to reinstall where I thought the errors would be fixed, but I got a error that the db entry had already been created.

Is it safe enough to drop the db entries, then remove the portal files so that I an attempt a clean re-install?

Thanks in advance!
simply do not run those SQL queries again and go ahead.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

fimo
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Sweden

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by fimo » Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:49 pm

Hi,

i was wondering if its possible to use phpMyadmin to take a backup of my phpbb3 board,
but ONLY backup the member list,all of their posts.

the idea is that i would like to install a fresh phpbb3 board and then "copy" alle my users,their posts
and then restore them via phpMyadmin, but i dont know if thats possible / how ?

:roll:

sathsara
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:33 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by sathsara » Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:53 pm

I have a live board and I wanna use it offline at home. Every time I tried to export the sql using phpmyadmin the browser get stacked and stops responding. I download the sql backup file from the host but it gave me errors. Any idea?

sathsara
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:33 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by sathsara » Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:06 pm

fimo wrote:Hi,

i was wondering if its possible to use phpMyadmin to take a backup of my phpbb3 board,
but ONLY backup the member list,all of their posts.

the idea is that i would like to install a fresh phpbb3 board and then "copy" alle my users,their posts
and then restore them via phpMyadmin, but i dont know if thats possible / how ?

:roll:

It will be really useful,

carlyse_09
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:13 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by carlyse_09 » Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:46 am

Thanks for all the information regarding this matter.I really learn a lot on how to use it..Im glad to find this site.

joker400
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:35 pm
Location: Malaysia
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by joker400 » Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:02 pm

Thanks man it a good tutorial

:D :D :D

User avatar
ThunderCrew
Registered User
Posts: 1438
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:26 pm
Location: Ill, Usa
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by ThunderCrew » Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:55 pm

sathsara wrote:
fimo wrote:Hi,

i was wondering if its possible to use phpMyadmin to take a backup of my phpbb3 board,
but ONLY backup the member list,all of their posts.

the idea is that i would like to install a fresh phpbb3 board and then "copy" alle my users,their posts
and then restore them via phpMyadmin, but i dont know if thats possible / how ?

:roll:

It will be really useful,
Um yeah when doing your back up only select those tables
in phpbb3 maintinence area when doing the databse back up you have the option of select all OR just mark the ones you want to back up.

Ooops actualy its not entirley accurate...
You would have to do one and then the other.
You can highlight one back it up then highlight the other then back it up though instead of entire databse.
Or if tables you want are ontop of each other you can highlight both and back them up.
Ugg im a t0tal newb again ...... 2 years off cant remember jack ... time to get to it

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by easygo » Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:45 pm

ThunderCrew wrote:
sathsara wrote:
fimo wrote:Hi,

i was wondering if its possible to use phpMyadmin to take a backup of my phpbb3 board,
but ONLY backup the member list,all of their posts.

the idea is that i would like to install a fresh phpbb3 board and then "copy" alle my users,their posts
and then restore them via phpMyadmin, but i dont know if thats possible / how ?

:roll:

It will be really useful,
Um yeah when doing your back up only select those tables
in phpbb3 maintinence area when doing the databse back up you have the option of select all OR just mark the ones you want to back up.

Ooops actualy its not entirley accurate...
You would have to do one and then the other.
You can highlight one back it up then highlight the other then back it up though instead of entire databse.
Or if tables you want are ontop of each other you can highlight both and back them up.
Should be possible all in one go, using phpMyAdmin! Simply press and hold the Strg key on your
keyboard while selecting any tables you want to export from the drop down menu.

Hope this helps.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

obvios
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:34 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by obvios » Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:39 am

hi there...
this is my first time using phpmyadmin..
i've read through the tutorial but i dont understand..
i open phpmyadmin and this window come out...

Image
Image

what i need to do next?

i was planning to insert this

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('reimg_max_width', '640'), ('reimg_max_height', '480'), ('reimg_rel_width', '0'), ('reimg_swap_portrait', '1'), ('reimg_zoom', '_litebox');
where i need to store it?
please help me..
totally dont know and i'm ready to learn right now.. :cry:

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by easygo » Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:42 am

Just click the database name on the left menu and follow the How to in the first post, see ::
battye wrote:What to do once in phpMyAdmin
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

tristaneiseo
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:55 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by tristaneiseo » Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:21 am

thanks for this Tutorial... it is great!

obvios
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:34 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by obvios » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:21 am

easygo wrote:Just click the database name on the left menu and follow the How to in the first post, see ::
that's mean i need to click on Config.php and insert all the code below?

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('reimg_max_width', '640'), ('reimg_max_height', '480'), ('reimg_rel_width', '0'), ('reimg_swap_portrait', '1'), ('reimg_zoom', '_litebox');

User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by easygo » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:10 am

Config.php? No, that means click on the SQL tab and then paste any sql command line you want to run.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)

obvios
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:34 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by obvios » Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:18 pm

easygo wrote:Config.php? No, that means click on the SQL tab and then paste any sql command line you want to run.
sorry.. i really dont know.. that's why i'm asking :cry:
u mean this one?

Image

then i need to paste all of these?

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('reimg_max_width', '640'), ('reimg_max_height', '480'), ('reimg_rel_width', '0'), ('reimg_swap_portrait', '1'), ('reimg_zoom', '_litebox');
sorry again.. i really donno..

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”