[MODDB] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Locked
iBotPeaches
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:38 am
Location: Vahalla
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by iBotPeaches » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:35 pm

I'm getting this. 100% sure fsockopen is enabled

Code: Select all

Powered by
Unable to open connection to phpBB Smartfeed site, reported error is:
The operation could not be completed because the fsockopen function has been disabled or the server being queried could not be found.
I purged cache, no change.
Image

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by MarkDHamill » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:58 pm

I just call the phpBB get_remote_file function. My domain phpbbservices.com might have been temporarily down. Try again.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Archive Repacked

Post by MarkDHamill » Sat Jun 21, 2008 8:46 pm

I repacked the archive to make it compliant with MODX 1.2.0. Not code changes were made.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

Pezzoni
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Pezzoni » Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:51 pm

I am having the exact same problem with the blank page (also affects everything from 'Board Settings' down to 'Smartfeed Settings'. I've definately run the SQL, and I'm 99% sure I've applied the code changes properly.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by MarkDHamill » Mon Jun 30, 2008 4:45 pm

I would doublecheck that you applied the changes to functions.php correctly, since if the problem effects more than one page then it is due to editing mistakes on the other files. It's usually something stupid like leaving off a semicolon. Some syntax error somewhere is causing the problem.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

Pezzoni
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Pezzoni » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:25 pm

Both functions.php and acp_board.php are as they should be (and the problem occours even when reverting to the backed-up versions of those files).

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by MarkDHamill » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:01 pm

I created an account on your forum. smartfeed_url.php and smartfeed.php work fine for me. Board preferences come up fine. How do I invoke the blank screen problem?
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

Pezzoni
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Pezzoni » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:17 pm

Only happens in the ACP: in the General > Board Configuration all the links (except for 'Attatchment Settings') link to a blank page. I tried setting error reporting on and to E_ALL in php.ini, but still nothing was appearing.

I'm pretty sure that this only happened once I'd applied the mod, but I also only upgraded to 3.0.1 today, so I'll go back to 3.0.1 default, just to ensure that this mod is actually where the problem is occuring.

Thanks,

Mickey14
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 10:45 am

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Mickey14 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:24 pm

Just in case: Pezzoni, did your empty your cache folder after having applied the mod ?

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by MarkDHamill » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:36 pm

I would definitely check to make sure all the $config variables were applied. In phpMyAdmin, you can check with the following SQL, then compare with what's in the .xml file.

Code: Select all

select * from phpbb_config where config_name like 'sf_%';
If your board table prefix is not phpbb then that may be the problem and you need to do some editing.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

Pezzoni
Registered User
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Pezzoni » Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:13 pm

Just in case: Pezzoni, did your empty your cache folder after having applied the mod ?
Did it as described in the installation though the ACP, and just did it manually through FTP; same result.
MarkDHamill wrote:I would definitely check to make sure all the $config variables were applied. In phpMyAdmin, you can check with the following SQL, then compare with what's in the .xml file.

Code: Select all

select * from phpbb_config where config_name like 'sf_%';
If your board table prefix is not phpbb then that may be the problem and you need to do some editing.
All the config values that should be there are, and I'm using the standard phpbb_ prefix.

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it :)

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

When is an upgrade not an upgrade

Post by MarkDHamill » Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:22 pm

So I created version 2.2.0 and it is functionally identical to 2.1.1. Why? Because the phpBB Mod Team won't review odd numbered versions, assuming they are development quality.

So if you have 2.1.1 installed, don't bother to upgrade. I have not even changed my update version logic to show that 2.2.0 is the latest version, because it will cause confusion.

If the mod team approves this version then I will update the latest version.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Ratmaster » Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:01 pm

Umm, I can't get any of the download files on your site, they all say the files don't exist... :?

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3876
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by MarkDHamill » Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:31 pm

Whoops, sorry. Problem fixed. I had to lowercase the file name.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: [RC5] Smartfeed for phpBB 3

Post by Ratmaster » Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:09 pm

I see you included subsilver2 files, but you didn't include a subsilver2 install file? :(

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”