[MODDB] Board3 Portal 1.0.2

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Locked
Saint_hh
Registered User
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Name: Kevin
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Saint_hh »

camikazi2k wrote:Now is there a way to display some of the text all all the announcement, and not just a link?
You should get familiar with phpBB3 and the portal, before asking for every little detail. :roll:
Why don't you take a closer look in the ACP? That will answer your question.
jasonf1
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by jasonf1 »

I recently installed the Board3 Portal and I think it's great, but I'm having a hard time figuring out how I can have the portal outside of the directory that my phpBB 3 installation is in. More specifically, I have phpBB 3 in a directory called /forum, but I want to have my Board3 Portal installed directly under the document root and outside of the /forum directory.

Is this possible or am I pretty much screwed on doing that?
Saint_hh
Registered User
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Name: Kevin
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Saint_hh »

Hi Jason,

take a look at this topic: http://www.board3.de/viewtopic.php?p=4905#p4905
jasonf1
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by jasonf1 »

Thanks Saint, that did the trick! The only thing that doesn't work after changing the $phpbb_root_path variable is the member rank images in the random member block and user menu block ... the rank images don't show. Will it be a simple fix dealing with a path to the images or will it require something more difficult?
jasonf1
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by jasonf1 »

I figured out how to get around the rank images issue as mentioned in my post above. I modified RANK_IMG_SRC in user_menu.php and random_member.php to specify the path to the rank images, and used these in their respective templates instead of RANK_IMG.

Lovin' this portal ... it's awesome!
DualDier12
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:03 am

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by DualDier12 »

Hey uh, when I installed this mod and went to the portal page..I got a few errors at the top of my portal page..

take a look: http://ugforums.vndv.com/forum/portal.php

can you tell me why I get these errors? I even went back and reinstalled it..I still get the same errors >.<
Please help those errors frighten and annoy me!
Saint_hh
Registered User
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Name: Kevin
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Saint_hh »

Erm - i don't see any errors. Fixed it yourself?
ham1299
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:12 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by ham1299 »

Saint_hh wrote:Should be this section in ucp.php:

Code: Select all

	case 'logout':
		if ($user->data['user_id'] != ANONYMOUS && isset($_GET['sid']) && !is_array($_GET['sid']) && $_GET['sid'] === $user->session_id)
		{
			$user->session_kill();
			$user->session_begin();
			$message = $user->lang['LOGOUT_REDIRECT'];
		}
		else
		{
			$message = ($user->data['user_id'] == ANONYMOUS) ? $user->lang['LOGOUT_REDIRECT'] : $user->lang['LOGOUT_FAILED'];
		}
		meta_refresh(3, append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx"));
	
		$message = $message . '<br /><br />' . sprintf($user->lang['RETURN_INDEX'], '<a href="' . append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx") . '">', '</a> ');
		trigger_error($message);

	break;
In special:

Code: Select all

		meta_refresh(3, append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx"));
	
		$message = $message . '<br /><br />' . sprintf($user->lang['RETURN_INDEX'], '<a href="' . append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx") . '">', '</a> ');
		trigger_error($message);

	break;
change index.$phpEx to portal.$phpEx
THis is great! :grin: One question, though. When a user logs out, there is a line that says "click here to return to the index" or something along those lines. How can I change that to say portal instead?
Heather
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Seraphic »

Is this "safe" to use on a live forum running phpBB 3.0.2?
Mr_HaZaRd
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:06 pm

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Mr_HaZaRd »

I been using it for a while now with no apparent problems ;)
Saint_hh
Registered User
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Name: Kevin
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Saint_hh »

ham1299 wrote:THis is great! :grin: One question, though. When a user logs out, there is a line that says "click here to return to the index" or something along those lines. How can I change that to say portal instead?
Good morning Heather, ;)

i've made a FAQ, now including the how to change the message "Return to the index page":
[EN] How to ... Redirect to the portal after login / logout

Have fun & a nice weekend
Seraphic wrote:Is this "safe" to use on a live forum running phpBB 3.0.2?
There are no security issues known yet.
User avatar
simple12
Registered User
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:39 am
Location: Varanasi, India

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by simple12 »

I am not able to see the Moderator control panel on my menu link. I replaced the MCP code link to the user_menu.html but still no luck. The code i am using for showing the MCP is below.

Code: Select all

        <!-- IF U_MCP -->
            <a href="{U_MCP}">{L_MCP}</a>   
        <!-- ENDIF -->
What may be wrong.
Saint_hh
Registered User
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Name: Kevin
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Saint_hh »

Hmm, why have you removed our credits at the bottom of the portal?
User avatar
simple12
Registered User
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:39 am
Location: Varanasi, India

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by simple12 »

Oops!! i was playing with codes and may in that i forgot to put it back. Anyway i will put it back. But your backlink is already in links.
Saint_hh
Registered User
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Name: Kevin
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Board3 Portal 1.0.0

Post by Saint_hh »

Thank you! :)
Regarding your question: could you please post the (parsed) source code of the main menu as moderator, including your changes?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”