[BETA]Installed Modfication List (9/29/2008)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
MydnyteSyn
Registered User
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:02 am

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/12/08) Updated

Post by MydnyteSyn »

I encountered 3 errors in the instructions for installing this updated version as well as 1 error in trying to add a mod to this via the admin cp:

First error: includes/functions.php

Code: Select all

'U_IML_INDEX'           => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}modlist/index.$phpEx
This should look like:

Code: Select all

'U_IML_INDEX'           => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}modlist/index.$phpEx"),
For the template/overall_header.html

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-faq"><a href="{U_IML_INDEX}">{L_IML_INDEX}</a></li>
When viewing the drop down menu (that I use) or the overall header after adding this code, the link appears as { L_IML_INDEX }. (Unsure where to correct this myself)

Also: Install directions at the end of the mod

Code: Select all

After you have copied all the files into the right directories by uploaded all the files in the ROOT folder into the main phpbb3 directory. go to http://www.youriste.com/forum/iml_install.phpbb?mode=install and follow the instruction.
This should read:

Code: Select all

After you have copied all the files into the right directories by uploaded all the files in the ROOT folder into the main phpbb3 directory. go to http://www.youriste.com/forum/iml_install.php?mode=install and follow the instruction.
Also, there aren't any instructions on how to add this to the admin cp. (I got it installed on mine, but people who are new to this or not really sure might appreciate having these instructions included, too) :)

I get an SQL error when trying to add a mod:
General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Unknown column 'stage' in 'field list' [1054]

SQL

INSERT INTO phpbb_mod_list (name, version, link, pos, stage) VALUES ('Prime BBCode Note', '1.0.2', '', '1', 'Beta')

BACKTRACE

FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 158
CALL: dbal->sql_error()

FILE: includes/acp/acp_iml.php
LINE: 83
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

FILE: includes/functions_module.php
LINE: 471
CALL: acp_iml->main()

FILE: adm/index.php
LINE: 75
CALL: p_master->load_active()
Silverdown
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:31 pm
Location: USA

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/12/08) Updated

Post by Silverdown »

That why this is still in beta stage, I have updated the package (in first post to 1.0.4b2) it contains all the fixes that "MydnyteSyn" has found.

For MydnyteSyn here is the solution to fix your problem.

1) first error you self solved :D
2)
Open language/en/common.php
Find

Code: Select all

'IMAGE_FILETYPE_MISMATCH'	=> 'Image file type mismatch: expected extension %1$s but extension %2$s given.',
On the next line ADD

Code: Select all

'IML_INDEX'                  => 'Installed Modification List',
3) looks self fixed as well, also updated in XML install file in a better way.

4) added Instructions on how to, had written them up, however forgotten to add them for some reason.
5) Once again my fault, if you know how to use phpmyadmin use this following SQL.
NOTE : Change YOUR_TABLE_PREFIX to your phpbb table prefix default is "phpbb_"

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE YOUR_TABLE_PREFIX_mod_list ADD stage VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL AFTER pos ;
----------------------------- NEW PACKAGE
New download Link ( Also included in first post alone with screenshots and more info )
Installed Modification List 1.0.4 B2
My Extentions: None
PHPBB Fan since: 2.0.6 Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
Dev Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
MydnyteSyn
Registered User
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:02 am

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by MydnyteSyn »

Great, thanks! I'll do those fixes and give it a try :)

Okay, did as instructed and discovered this:
  • When adding a mod to the list via the admin cp, after hitting the submit button, it just clears the information you entered. Apparently the information was saved, but I didn't know that until I went to the forum index and clicked the link to see if it had or not. I thought the information had just been cleared when I clicked the submit button.

    I had purposely entered the wrong version information so I could test the deletion of an entry. It didn't seem to work, the deleting of an entry, I mean. When I tried to re-add the entry with the correct version information in place, I got an error notice saying that the entry was a duplicate.
    General Error
    SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

    Duplicate entry 'Prime BBCode Note' for key 1 [1062]

    SQL

    INSERT INTO phpbb_mod_list (name, version, link, pos, stage) VALUES ('Prime BBCode Note', '1.0.2', '', '1', 'RC')

    BACKTRACE

    FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
    LINE: 158
    CALL: dbal->sql_error()

    FILE: includes/acp/acp_iml.php
    LINE: 83
    CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

    FILE: includes/functions_module.php
    LINE: 471
    CALL: acp_iml->main()

    FILE: adm/index.php
    LINE: 75
    CALL: p_master->load_active()
    The deleted entry does appear to be removed when viewing the modlist.php page, but the GO button for the removed entry remains. So there's a blank line with the GO button at the end.

    When mousing over my banner, my members are suppose to be able to click the banner and return to the portal.php page. However, when they are viewing the modlist/index.php page, if you mouse over the banner and click it, you are not taken back to the portal page, but are instead taken to modlist/portal.php which does not exist.
Hope this is helping! I should mention that the forum I'm testing this one and hope to use it on is using phpBB 3.0.2 :)
Silverdown
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:31 pm
Location: USA

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by Silverdown »

You can't add more the one of the same name to the name area because it set as a prime key, the duplicate errors means you tried to add more then 1 "Prime BBCode Note" entries and you must delete the one in the database for it to add it again.

The deleted entry does appear to be removed when viewing the modlist.php page, but the GO button for the removed entry remains. So there's a blank line with the GO button at the end.

You must have accidentally added a entire blank entry, I was able to reproduce it. try looking in the dropdown menu for a blank spot , if there is one delete it.

When mousing over my banner, my members are suppose to be able to click the banner and return to the portal.php page. However, when they are viewing the modlist/index.php page, if you mouse over the banner and click it, you are not taken back to the portal page, but are instead taken to modlist/portal.php which does not exist.

I don't know what portal system your using to even help, but this has nothing to do with my mod, looks like to me the link is hardcoded

Code: Select all

portal.php
and not set to

Code: Select all

{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx
in the functions.php file. Like that no matter what directory you are in it would think there is a portal.php in it.
My Extentions: None
PHPBB Fan since: 2.0.6 Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
Dev Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
MydnyteSyn
Registered User
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:02 am

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by MydnyteSyn »

Thank you :) I'm using Canver Portal 1.2.2 if that helps at all.
MydnyteSyn
Registered User
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:02 am

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by MydnyteSyn »

OKay. Got the rest of the stuff corrected, but I'm still unable to correct the issue of proper re-direct when clicking the banner to return to the portal page. In my functions.php file, I have this:

Code: Select all

   //-- [+] MOD: phpBB3 Portal ---------------------------------------------
          //-- add
          //
          'U_PORTAL'             => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx"),
          'S_PORTAL_COPY'       => $user->lang['PORTAL_COPY'],
          //
          //-- [-] MOD: phpBB3 Portal ---------------------------------------------
So now I'm really confused on what to do now because the banner link is still trying to redirect a url that doesn't exist, lol.

Also, one quick question. If you view Test Gallery ... is there a way I can make the menu, my album, manage albums, etc tabs stretch the full width?

Oops, one more. How do set the max file size allowed so that it will allow images up to 3MB in size? It's only allowing kb's and when I enter the number of kb's in 3 MB, it doesn't allow it.
Silverdown
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:31 pm
Location: USA

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by Silverdown »

I looked at the view source code in firefox I got this

Code: Select all

		<tr>
			<td align="center"><a href="portal.php"><img src="http://sim.evolution-rpg.com/images/swe_banners/rotator.php"></a></td>
		  </tr>
If the mod was suppose to tell it to return to the purtal page it would be like

Code: Select all

<a href="../portal.php">
My page is set to return to the main phpbb dir to grab file info from phpbb.

Code: Select all

// Specify the path to you phpBB3 installation directory.
$phpbb_root_path = (defined('PHPBB_ROOT_PATH')) ? PHPBB_ROOT_PATH : '../';
Some Where your style is not using the {U_PORTAL} variable to return instead look like it just using "portal.php " which since I only think to look where it's programmed it thinks and will always think its in any directory if you leave the main phpbb dir. I would find the main file for the style and change

Code: Select all

<a href="portal.php"
to

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_PORTAL}"
like that no matter what it will alway think no matter what directory the file is in that portal.php is in site.tld/portal.php


These two questions
Also, one quick question. If you view Test Gallery ... is there a way I can make the menu, my album, manage albums, etc tabs stretch the full width?

Oops, one more. How do set the max file size allowed so that it will allow images up to 3MB in size? It's only allowing kb's and when I enter the number of kb's in 3 MB, it doesn't allow it.
I have no idea what your talking about nor know the software/mods you are using. more input needed
My Extentions: None
PHPBB Fan since: 2.0.6 Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
Dev Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
MydnyteSyn
Registered User
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:02 am

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by MydnyteSyn »

Ack! Sorry for those last two questions. I had two mods on my mind at once! But, thank you sincerely for helping me correct the redirect issue I was having. I fixed it and it's working splendidly now. Plus, I really like this mod you did, so thank you for that!
teman
Registered User
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 5:50 pm

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by teman »

cant find installation for subsilver 2 nor cant find on prosilver/template/overall_header

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-faq"><a href="{U_FAQ}" title="{L_FAQ_EXPLAIN}">{L_FAQ}</a></li>
never pleased become the leader!!!
ask me for any symbian issues at
http://gsmvolt.com and see our rank here
Silverdown
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:31 pm
Location: USA

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by Silverdown »

teman wrote:cant find installation for subsilver 2 nor cant find on prosilver/template/overall_header

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-faq"><a href="{U_FAQ}" title="{L_FAQ_EXPLAIN}">{L_FAQ}</a></li>

Subsilver2 for 1.0.4b is not created yet (since everyone seem to use prosilver based styles), I will do so now since I have nothing to due and you need it :) it wont take long! :lol:

That snipet code is located right under or at least it should be since it default for phpbb3

Code: Select all

<ul class="linklist rightside">
My Extentions: None
PHPBB Fan since: 2.0.6 Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
Dev Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18323
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by david63 »

Whilst I think that this is an excellent idea, in fact it was something that I was considering doing myself, I could not possibly install it until it at least starts to complies with the mod writers definitions at http://www.phpbb.com/mods/documentation/. I can, without any fear of contradiction, state that there is no way that this mod, in its current state, will ever be accepted into the mods database.

Some basic examples - you do not use constants for your table definition, the spacing and layout of your code is not correct, your install file only caters for mysql databases, the install.xml file is incorrect.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
Silverdown
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:31 pm
Location: USA

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by Silverdown »

david63 wrote:Whilst I think that this is an excellent idea, in fact it was something that I was considering doing myself, I could not possibly install it until it at least starts to complies with the mod writers definitions at http://www.phpbb.com/mods/documentation/. I can, without any fear of contradiction, state that there is no way that this mod, in its current state, will ever be accepted into the mods database.

Some basic examples - you do not use constants for your table definition, the spacing and layout of your code is not correct, your install file only caters for mysql databases, the install.xml file is incorrect.
I learn as I go, I just don't magically know how to do all of the coding as great as you. I also don't plan on submitting this modification for a very long time. that why it's still on BETA. I just learned how to setup a ACP panel, I do however take your post seriously and do plan on using constants as soon I as learn what they are and how they work.

I also thank you for giving me example to work on to make me be a better modder

To "teman"
I am almost done getting out all the bugs from the template "Subsilver2" for this modification
My Extentions: None
PHPBB Fan since: 2.0.6 Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
Dev Version Using: phpBB 3.2.3
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18323
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by david63 »

Silverdown wrote:do plan on using constants as soon I as learn what they are and how they work.
If you have problems with anything like that then ask on the mod writers form - there are plenty there who will be able to guide you through your problems.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
^[GS]^
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:59 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by ^[GS]^ »

:O! Very Nice ^^
User avatar
dravekx
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Memphis, TN.
Contact:

Re: [BETA]Installed Modfication List (7/15/08) Fixed Errors

Post by dravekx »

Do we have a subsilver version yet?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”