[RC]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 1.01

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Sun May 25, 2008 5:22 pm

I don't have a clue :-S. Maybe someone else can help? This mod has been installed on a few phpbb3 - forums now and that went perfectly fine :-S.

Could you try deleting the acp_users - file? Then go in the acp and check what it does. If the page is gone, then put the new one in.

You could also try adding a new rank manually in phpmyadmin and check if it works on your viewtopic page.

elwey
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:55 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by elwey » Tue May 27, 2008 1:01 am

---edited out----
[we wasted a lot of "paper" beating around the bush with my problem so lets clean that topic a bit]

---delete this post---
Last edited by elwey on Wed May 28, 2008 4:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
blkjack-21
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by blkjack-21 » Tue May 27, 2008 4:13 am

Hey pendeja

Can you post your entire modded includes/acp/acp_users.php and adm/style/acp_users.html within

Code: Select all

 tags.

Not the [quote]here's the tweaked part of "adm/style/acp_users.html" [/quote]. It seems that your problem lies in either of these files.

One other question..Do you have any Special ranks defined within your ACP? If you don't have any Special Ranks defined, this mod won't work. ;)

elwey
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:55 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by elwey » Tue May 27, 2008 4:17 am

---edited out----
[we wasted a lot of "paper" beating around the bush with my problem so lets clean that topic a bit]

---delete this post---
Last edited by elwey on Wed May 28, 2008 4:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

elwey
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:55 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by elwey » Tue May 27, 2008 4:20 am

---edited out----
[we wasted a lot of "paper" beating around the bush with my problem so lets clean that topic a bit]

---delete this post---
Last edited by elwey on Wed May 28, 2008 4:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
blkjack-21
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by blkjack-21 » Tue May 27, 2008 4:29 am

yeah

Highlight the text in each file and put them between

User avatar
blkjack-21
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by blkjack-21 » Tue May 27, 2008 4:37 am

I found one problem in your acp_users.html file

Code: Select all

<fieldset>
<legend>{L_ACP_USER_RANK}</legend>
<dl>
<dt><label for="user_rank">{L_USER_RANK}:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank" id="user_rank">{S_RANK_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
<dt><label for="user_rank2">User rank 2:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank2" id="user_rank2">{S_RANK2_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
<dt><label for="user_rank3">User rank 3:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank3" id="user_rank3">{S_RANK3_OPTIONS}</select></dd>

</dl>
<dl>
<dt><label for="user_rank">{L_USER_RANK}:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank" id="user_rank">{S_RANK_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
<dt><label for="user_rank2">User rank 2:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank2" id="user_rank2">{S_RANK2_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
<dt><label for="user_rank3">User rank 3:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank3" id="user_rank3">{S_RANK3_OPTIONS}</select></dd>

</dl>
</fieldset>
You have his edit in there twice.

Change it to this:

Code: Select all

	<fieldset>
		<legend>{L_ACP_USER_RANK}</legend>
	<dl>
		<dt><label for="user_rank">{L_USER_RANK}:</label></dt>
		<dd><select name="user_rank" id="user_rank">{S_RANK_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
<dt><label for="user_rank2">User rank 2:</label></dt>
<dd><select name="user_rank2" id="user_rank2">{S_RANK2_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
<dt><label for="user_rank3">User rank 3:</label></dt>
	</dl>
	</fieldset>
and though hard to tell based on the way you have it posted...there might be a added space in the last line of acp_users.php -> Between "$s_rank3_options" and ")"

Code: Select all

//multiple ranks mod by Goz
'S_RANK2' => true,
'S_RANK2_OPTIONS' => $s_rank2_options,
'S_RANK3' => true,
'S_RANK3_OPTIONS' => $s_rank3_options
)
It should be: 'S_RANK3_OPTIONS' => $s_rank3_options)

The space may not make a difference...but a missing comma can cause havoc in the code.

User avatar
blkjack-21
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by blkjack-21 » Tue May 27, 2008 5:09 am

looked and looked , can't find any mistake in my install!?!?!?!

the rank still don't show in my ACP....but it's on the acp_user.html file as seem in the post above!
I think the double entry in your acp_user.html is the culprit.
pendeja wrote: 3- my although it says:
***ALTER TABLE `phpbb_users` ADD `user_rank2` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) UNSIGNED DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL ;***
i had to do
***ALTER TABLE `phpbb3_users` ADD `user_rank2` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) UNSIGNED DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL ;***
as my database use the prefix "phpbb3" not "phpbb"...
with other mod i had to adapt the prefix in the DB to fit the mods need...could it be the case?
-------------------------------------------------------------------?????

in the event of number 3 being the problem does any one knows if i can change all the database prefix and go back to "phpbb_blablabla" as it seems to create trouble sometimes!?

thanks again for listening to my never ending post!
Yeah the sql update you would need to modify it to match your table prefix.

As long as you have the following in your config.php file you should be ok with the table prefixes.

Code: Select all

$table_prefix = 'phpbb3_';

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Tue May 27, 2008 7:30 am

The "double entry" in memberlist.php is not a problem.

I have the feeling the problem may not be code-related. Thought the double entry in acp_users.html should be corrected ofcourse :).

The phpbb3_ prefix should not be a problem, don't worry about it. I just edited existing sql queries, so if the rest of your forum works, then this will work as well :).

Did anyone else install the last version of the mod and got it working? It's always nice to get feedback, even if nothing's wrong ;).

elwey
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:55 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by elwey » Tue May 27, 2008 4:03 pm

---edited out----
[we wasted a lot of "paper" beating around the bush with my problem so lets clean that topic a bit]

---delete this post---
Last edited by elwey on Wed May 28, 2008 4:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Tue May 27, 2008 6:55 pm

I'm not sure if u can but I'd say: try on another server...

elwey
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:55 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by elwey » Tue May 27, 2008 7:01 pm

but it's on my local host?

User avatar
blkjack-21
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by blkjack-21 » Tue May 27, 2008 10:40 pm

Not that this helps any...

But I tried your acp_users.html file on my test forum and it worked.

I cannot get your acp_users.php file to work..is there another mod added to it?
Last edited by blkjack-21 on Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
blkjack-21
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by blkjack-21 » Tue May 27, 2008 10:45 pm

Goztow wrote:...Did anyone else install the last version of the mod and got it working? It's always nice to get feedback, even if nothing's wrong ;).
I have installed it 3 different times.

Ver 0.9.0 twice and worked both times.

And once from scratch with ver 0.9.1. it also worked the first time.

elwey
Registered User
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:55 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by elwey » Wed May 28, 2008 1:05 am

blkjack-21 wrote:Not that this helps any...

But I tried your acp_users.html file on my test forum and it worked.
I know as i posted before you can see that the html code is there on the picture...
which make me rule that code problem out.
blkjack-21 wrote:I cannot get your acp_users.php file to work..is there another mod added to it?
and yeah i have many mod....like 5 major usual ones nothing special but i don have some??

how can one goes to find the bug when one has many mods??

if that can help i have...
  • Avatar_in_Who_is_online_1_0_0
    acp_add_user_mod
    avatar_memberlist
    ChangeUsersPostCount
    FAQ Manager
    Manage_attachments_module_phpBB3
    top_posters_1_0_0a
    mod_ads_0_2_0
    who_posted_1_0_0a
    multiple_ranks_install

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”