[RC]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 1.01

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Locked
Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Sun Jun 08, 2008 4:49 pm

It's really something really repititive: you copy-paste the change in the file for rank3 and change the 3 in a 4. This needs to be done for all changes made + an extra field needs to be made for rank4 in the database.

Nightvice
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 1:33 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Nightvice » Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:47 pm

thank you.. i have done the multiple edits to add a total of 9 ranks but now getting error

Code: Select all

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING, expecting ')' in /home/emperor/public_html/forum/includes/acp/acp_users.php on line 1572
my 1572 looks like this

Code: Select all

				$template->assign_vars(array(
					'S_RANK'			=> true,
					'S_RANK_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank_options,					
                //multiple ranks mod by Goz
                    'S_RANK2'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK2_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank2_options,
                    'S_RANK3'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK3_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank3_options
                    'S_RANK4'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK4_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank4_options					
                    'S_RANK5'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK5_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank5_options					
                    'S_RANK6'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK6_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank6_options					
                    'S_RANK7'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK7_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank7_options					
                    'S_RANK8'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK8_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank8_options										
		    'S_RANK9'			=> true,
                    'S_RANK9_OPTIONS'	=> $s_rank9_options)
				);

Nightvice
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 1:33 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Nightvice » Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:51 pm

sorry for my hasty problem.. i was able to fix it by adding "," that was missing in the ending codes :oops:

cyb0rg
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:03 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by cyb0rg » Sun Jun 08, 2008 10:18 pm

Will this eventually be group linked?

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:55 am

No, it will not become group linked as someone already made a mod to link it to groups. It's in beta test or RC at the moment, I think. the whole point in this mod is that it's not related to usergroups. It also makes it much easier to determine yourself where exactly you want a rank to appear and which rank you want to add.

This version seems ot be stable and will become RC soon.

cyb0rg
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:03 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by cyb0rg » Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:32 am

Goztow wrote:someone already made a mod to link it to groups.
Can you please point me in that direction, I really need that mod. Then I might add this one later for other special ranks.

Thanks.

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:07 am

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... t=multiple

There it is. Next time use the search function, like i did ;).

cyb0rg
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:03 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by cyb0rg » Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:18 pm

Thank you, I always do, just couldn't find it. 8-)

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Goztow » Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:28 am

I'm very busy at the moment, as I'm starting my own business. So I haven't had the time to double check the RC1 release yet and I'm not sure when I'll be able to do it. The beta version works correctly, though, and there have been no code changes for RC1 but it had to be converted to the new modx package.

So consider the beta as stable and tested and hopefully I'll find the time for a proper RC1 during the coming weeks.

User avatar
reddevilmeuk
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by reddevilmeuk » Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:23 pm

thanks for the mod, tested on my live forum and it works a charm.....

bloodjelly
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 11:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by bloodjelly » Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:46 pm

Just wanted to say thanks for an excellent mod. Very easy to use and add on to. Works great! :D

User avatar
Jaga
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:10 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Jaga » Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:37 am

Just read through the thread here and I have a couple of questions before I go and try the install:
  1. Does the poster's normal post-rank still show on the viewtopic display along with the rest of their special ranks? I have a mod installed called "Special and Normal Rank Images" that lets me assign 1 special rank and have it display just above their posting rank, which also displays.
  2. Do you think the two mods would play nicely together? The one I mentioned simply forces the display of their posting rank under whatever special rank they have. If they have no special rank, only their posting rank is shown.
I really could use this mod, as I have tons of different and special ranks to hand out, but I would really like to keep the display of the post rank as well.

Cheers.

bloodjelly
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 11:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by bloodjelly » Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:46 am

Jaga wrote:I really could use this mod, as I have tons of different and special ranks to hand out, but I would really like to keep the display of the post rank as well.
Yes, it keeps the post rank/normal rank.

User avatar
Jaga
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:10 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Jaga » Tue Jul 01, 2008 2:44 am

Thanks bloodjelly. I was actually asking about the display of the post rank, but after trying a dual install of the two mods, I found that integrating them wasn't that difficult after all. You simply have to be very careful with your edits and make sure your template stuff is setup right.

I currently have it working, displaying up to 3 custom ranks, and always displaying the posting rank at the bottom. Now to try and expand it to 5 or more custom ranks as someone else did here, and I should be set permanently. :)

User avatar
Jaga
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:10 am

Re: [beta]Multiple ranks (not linked to usergroups) - 0.91

Post by Jaga » Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:34 am

Some post-install feedback after raising the limit to 5 ranks:

I am getting a strange layout in the user ranks selection part of the ACP:
Image

Note that the misalignment started happening before I upped the limit to 5 ranks, as it happens on 2 and 3 already. Here's the code for that part of the acp_users.html file:

Code: Select all

<!-- ELSEIF S_RANK -->

	<form id="user_prefs" method="post" action="{U_ACTION}">

	<fieldset>
		<legend>{L_ACP_USER_RANK}</legend>
	<dl>
		<dt><label for="user_rank">{L_USER_RANK}:</label></dt>
		<dd><select name="user_rank" id="user_rank">{S_RANK_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
        <dt><label for="user_rank2">User rank 2:</label></dt>
		<dd><select name="user_rank2" id="user_rank2">{S_RANK2_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
        <dt><label for="user_rank3">User rank 3:</label></dt>
		<dd><select name="user_rank3" id="user_rank3">{S_RANK3_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
        <dt><label for="user_rank4">User rank 4:</label></dt>
		<dd><select name="user_rank4" id="user_rank4">{S_RANK4_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
        <dt><label for="user_rank5">User rank 5:</label></dt>
		<dd><select name="user_rank5" id="user_rank5">{S_RANK5_OPTIONS}</select></dd>
	</dl>
	</fieldset>

	<fieldset class="quick">
		<input class="button1" type="submit" name="update" value="{L_SUBMIT}" />
		{S_FORM_TOKEN}
	</fieldset>
	</form>
I can't see any errors, but perhaps someone has keener php eyes than I do. And other than this slight cosmetic issue, the mod itself is working great. 8-)

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”