Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Looking for a MOD? Have a MOD request? Post here for help. (Note: This forum is community supported; phpBB does not have official MOD authors)
Suggested Hosts
Locked
asavage
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:50 pm
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Name: Al Savage
Contact:

Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Post by asavage » Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:39 am

(My previous request)

My board uses the Anchor BBcode MOD extensively.

The MOD allows one to use these add'l BBCodes:

Code: Select all

[anchor]
[goto]
[gotopost]
From the FAQ section that the MOD installs:
Anchor BBCode MOD wrote:
This board has anchoring and linking within posts enabled.
  • To make anchors within your posts, just specify [ anchor]anchorname [ /anchor].
  • To link to that anchor:
    1. From within that post, use [ goto=anchorname]text[ /goto].
    2. From another post on the same page, use [ goto=postnum,anchorname]text[ /goto].
    3. From another post on a different page, use [gotopost=postnum,anchorname]text[/gotopost].
  • You can also use goto and gotopost to link to the top of any post:
    1. [ goto=postnum]text[ /goto] if the other post is on the same page,
    2. Otherwise use [gotopost=postnum]text[/gotopost]
I use the [gotopost=postnum,anchorname]text[/gotopost] mode most, though in a couple of forum FAQs we use [ goto] as well.

The [gotopost=postnum] allows one to specify a specific post (not necessarily within the same topic) without resorting to the [ url] tag, and using [gotopost=postnum], the MOD will take one to exactly the correct post, not just the top of the topic. I am unaware of similar functionality in PHPBB3 as-shipped.

I am unable to install PHPBB3 until I can install a MOD that will preserve the functionality of the older PHPBB2 Anchor BBCode MOD, and allow my already-trained users to continue using the [gotopost] tag to link to other posts.
Regards,
Al S.

asavage
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:50 pm
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Name: Al Savage
Contact:

Re: Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Post by asavage » Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:38 pm

Does anybody have a suggestion as to how I can hire someone to translate the Anchor MOD 1.04 to phpBB3?
Regards,
Al S.

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51760
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Post by Brf » Sat Feb 08, 2014 8:32 pm

Have you looked in the BBcodes database? Phpbb3 already allows you to create your wn BBcodes, so no mod is needed.

asavage
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:50 pm
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Name: Al Savage
Contact:

Re: Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Post by asavage » Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:10 pm

The [goto] and [anchor] bbcodes can be added via ACP->Posts->Add a new bbcode.

The [gotopost] bbcode, AFAICT, cannot. That's why I need a MOD.
Regards,
Al S.

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Post by leschek » Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:26 am

For [gotopost] you can try something like this:

BBCode usage:

Code: Select all

[gotopost={NUMBER}]{INTTEXT}[/gotopost]
HTML replacement:

Code: Select all

<a href="http://www.your_forum/viewtopic.php?p={NUMBER}#p{NUMBER}">{INTTEXT}</a>
Help line:

Code: Select all

[gotopost=Post ID]Some text[/gotopost]
I didn't test it much, because I'm using url BBCode to go to specific anchor in specific post, but it seems to work.

asavage
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:50 pm
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Name: Al Savage
Contact:

Re: Anchor BBCode MOD ([gotopost])

Post by asavage » Sun Feb 09, 2014 1:24 am

I tried that on the phpbb3 demo site (http://www.try-phpbb.com/30x/) and the markup looks good! It doesn't actually perform, due to the sitename vs configuration difference, but it sure looks as if it would do what I need it to do.

I'll install a full phpBB3 testing site and test it in a live local environment.

Thanks for taking the time to investigate this and provide a suggestion!
Regards,
Al S.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Requests”