Block Countries Mod**

Looking for a MOD? Have a MOD request? Post here for help. (Note: This forum is community supported; phpBB does not have official MOD authors)
Scam Warning
Locked
marcmantha
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:50 pm

Block Countries Mod**

Post by marcmantha » Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:14 pm

It's time for a Country Block Mod.

The Q&A at registration is no longer effective nor has it been for sometime now. After viewing a number of topics in the forums, the recommendations always require some kind manual daily follow up and maintenance.

A mod needs to developed to ban by county IP. It's possible, it can be done.

The question is, who will be the genius to come up with an easy to use mod that works with out having to do things like update the htaccsess because not everyone knows how to do that.

Best regards,
Marc

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68322
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by KevC » Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:26 pm

marcmantha wrote: The Q&A at registration is no longer effective nor has it been for sometime now.
Yes it is. You just have to use the right kind of question.

What question are you currently using?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

marcmantha
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by marcmantha » Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:34 pm

What is the second number from the right?

8 - 2 - 5 - 9- 0 - 1

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68322
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by KevC » Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:39 pm

The bots are quite good at those and your answer is only a single digit.

You need something more complicated that you can't search for the answer for.

Such as something in your logo, a word on a page on the site, etc.
Q&A works fine with the right question.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65045
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Jul 14, 2013 8:09 pm

and blocking country IPs is not very efficent.

you block millions of people to just block a few.

spammers do not care about IPs they can get new ones at will, they use proxies etc. etc.

the whole ban by IP thing is simply a waste of your time and the server resources.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

marcmantha
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by marcmantha » Sun Jul 14, 2013 8:53 pm

Myself and many others would be quite happy to block countries as a whole.
Some of these topics came up two years ago and still persist.

I'll try a more complex Q&A as suggested.

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by Goztow » Sun Sep 22, 2013 7:20 pm

Do you still wish this? I have it running but not yet with a convenient interface. Is it worth finishing?

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by leschek » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:15 am

I also would like to block IPs or some countries. But in slightly different way. If user come from blocked IP he/she/it would have to solve captcha to see forum. It would stop spammers from loading scripts, but if user is real person, they still would have chance to read forum.

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by Goztow » Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:20 pm

Except that most captcha's are cracked. I currently send an error message to these people that they need to contact the board admin.

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by leschek » Tue Sep 24, 2013 8:50 pm

Goztow wrote:Except that most captcha's are cracked.
I meant Q&A.

Goztow
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by Goztow » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:00 pm

I understand what you mean. there could be an increasing "difficulty" to register depending on country of origin.

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by leschek » Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:48 am

Yes, especially if user use more than one Q&A. It also would block spammers from reading forum, so there would be less web traffic (if spammers generate web traffic - I'm not sure about it).

Danielx64
Registered User
Posts: 1369
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:51 am
Location: In a server room in Australia
Name: Daniel
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by Danielx64 » Sat Sep 28, 2013 4:42 am

Take a look at http://www.blocked.com/ and see if it what your after. Please note that the free plan will only do country blocking, more info here: http://www.blocked.com/pricing.php
Please note that I will not be porting any of my mods to phpBB 3.1. Sorry for the inconvenience this may cause.
Image

beiley
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:55 am
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: Block Countries Mod**

Post by beiley » Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:16 pm

I wrote this mod for my own use, and published the steps to do it yourself. See my other post here for a link:

viewtopic.php?f=72&t=2092563&p=13922921#p13922921
Beiley Software, using phpBB 3.0.x

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests