[REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Looking for a MOD? Have a MOD request? Post here for help. (Note: This forum is community supported; phpBB does not have official MOD authors)
Anti-Spam Guide
User avatar
VPWanda
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:08 am

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by VPWanda »

I just installed this spell checker on my forum.
It mostly works, but it doesn't give any "suggestions" for correct words like it does in the demo.
Can someone please help me with this.

----
Figured it out.
There is a coding mistake in spell_phpbb3.php (line 101 - variable i).
User avatar
golab
Registered User
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2001 11:33 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by golab »

Hi when i try to install it and run the install i get this

Code: Select all

Processed: 55691... (28%)

Fatal error: SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Illegal mix of collations (latin1_bin,IMPLICIT) and (utf8_general_ci,COERCIBLE) for operation '=' [1267]

An sql error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact an administrator if this problem persists. in /home/naturall/public_html/forum/includes/db/dbal.php on line 602
Not sure why
Slav
kott
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Cleveleys, UK

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by kott »

When I'm installing I get this:
Installing ENGLISH.DIC (English)...
No valid SQL to create your database type.
kott
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Cleveleys, UK

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by kott »

By following the instructions in this post I got it installed and working fine on my phpbb 3.0.1 board. The default instructions that came with phpspell (to install phpspell on a phpbb3 board) did not work but the instructions in the post I just linked to worked fine.
jules_nz
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 3:57 am

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by jules_nz »

golab wrote:Hi when i try to install it and run the install i get this

Code: Select all

Processed: 55691... (28%)

Fatal error: SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Illegal mix of collations (latin1_bin,IMPLICIT) and (utf8_general_ci,COERCIBLE) for operation '=' [1267]

An sql error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact an administrator if this problem persists. in /home/naturall/public_html/forum/includes/db/dbal.php on line 602
Not sure why
Slav
I had this same issue, I believe its due to our version of mysql

Anyway, the issue is with any funny characters
remove ç, ô, ñ, é from the english.dic file

There may be a better way to solve this, but at least it fixed it
User avatar
dantegc
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 4:57 am

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by dantegc »

I got the program installed fine, but I can't get the .dic file to install. Everytime I go into the spell_admin.php and try to install it I get this error:

Code: Select all

Existing Table & data has been removed from your database.

Installing ENGLISH.DIC (English)...
Processed: 1... (0%)

Fatal error: SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Data too long for column 'sound' at row 1 [1406]

An sql error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact an administrator if this problem persists. in /home/piedmont/public_html/forums/includes/db/dbal.php on line 602
Any suggestions?
User avatar
Stitch625
Registered User
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Stitch625 »

Can anyone tell me what this means?
Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_backtrace() in /home1/*****/public_html/messageboard/includes/db/dbal.php on line 561
User avatar
VPWanda
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:08 am

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by VPWanda »

It seems like something is really messed up with your files.
Check the include directory of your forum files and see if there is a "functions.php" in there.
This file should have the get_backtrace() method defined (line 2706).
Stitch625 wrote:Can anyone tell me what this means?
Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_backtrace() in /home1/*****/public_html/messageboard/includes/db/dbal.php on line 561
User avatar
Stitch625
Registered User
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Stitch625 »

There is a Functions.php file there. My board wouldn't even come up if it was missing. There is nothing wrong with my files. This I know. I really think that it's because I am running Mysql 5.4. I believe this mod is only mysql 4 compatible.
User avatar
Stitch625
Registered User
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Stitch625 »

Ok, so I tried the Native install and it installed just fine, got the dictionary loaded up, did all the template edits, refreshed the cache directory and when I click the Spell check button absolutely nothing happens. Any ideas?
Roadtrekeur
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Roadtrekeur »

When running spell_admin.php to select either the french or english dictionary, I get a code 1046 response with the following:
Installing french.dic (French)...
Unable to create dictionary database table: Code: 1046
Message: No database selected
Result: Link: Resource id #4
DB: spelling User: Bernard Server: localhostUnable to perform spell check at this time.

The two spell_MySQL functions concerned by this message are : DB_Create_Table() and DB_Check_Word($Word_To_Check)

Can someone tell me what might be the problem?

Thanks in advance.
Roadtrekeur
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Roadtrekeur »

I finally found the cause of the problem. When installing phpBB3, the basic user I created ("root", as suggested by one tutorial), did not have all the privileges granted. In addition to that, any external user running an install script such as "spell_admin.php" would be blocked without me knowing it or being warned of. By giving temporary privileges, everything went well. Now, all I have to do is getting the button to appear while writing a message!
User avatar
Bard
Registered User
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 9:49 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Bard »

I can't get this dang thing to work. I changed the spellmessage.js like in maudib's post. I made all the other changes as well. The button shows up just fine but absolutely nothing happens when you click on it. And yes, the .js is in the overall_header just before /head tag.help

From my overall_header

Code: Select all

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.ico">
<script type="text/javascript" src="spelling/spellmessage.js"></script>
</head>
From my posting_body

Code: Select all

			<!-- IF S_HAS_DRAFTS -->&nbsp; <input class="btnlite" type="submit" accesskey="d" tabindex="8" name="load" value="{L_LOAD}" /><!-- ENDIF -->
			&nbsp; <input type="button" class="btnlite" value="Spell Check" name="button" onclick="openspell();" title="Run Spell Checker" />
		</td>
and from spellmessage.js

Code: Select all

        var ie4 = (document.all) ? 1:0;
        var gecko=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Gecko') > -1) ? 1:0;
        var op6=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Opera/6') > -1) ? 1:0;
        var op7=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Opera/7') > -1) ? 1 : (navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Opera 7') > -1) ? 1:0;
        var ns4=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Mozilla/4.7') > -1) ? 1:0;
        var sf=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Safari') > -1) ? 1:0;
        if (op7) ie4 = 0;
        if (sf) {
          ie4 = 0;
          gecko = 1;
        }


        var LinkToField = "";

function openspell()
        {
          height = 391;
          width = 555;
          if (ie4) LinkToField = self.document.getElementById("postform").message;
          if (gecko) {
            LinkToField = parent.document.getElementById("postform").message;
            height = height + 6;
          }
          if (op6) {
             LinkToField = document.getElementById("postform").message;
             height = height + 10;
             width = width + 10;
          }
          if (op7) LinkToField = document.getElementById("postform").message;

          if (!(op6 || gecko || ie4 || op7)) {
            alert("phpSpell only supports one of the following browsers:\nOpera 6+, Netscape 6+, Mozilla 1+, Internet Explorer 4+, Safari");
          } else {
            if (LinkToField.value.length == 0) return;
            directory = "spelling/";
            k = openspell.arguments.length;
            if (k == 1) directory = "";
            win1=window.open(directory+"phpSpell.html","spellcheckwin",'resizable=no,width='+width+',height='+height);
            if (win1.opener == null) win1.opener = self;
          }
          return (false);
        }

        function Opera_Get_Link() {
          return (LinkToField);
        }
Whats wrong here? And the dictionary appeared to install fine
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
Old Time Radio Talk | Visit OTR Talk Town
User avatar
Bard
Registered User
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 9:49 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Bard »

Bump gently
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
Old Time Radio Talk | Visit OTR Talk Town
User avatar
Muad''Dib
Registered User
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Post by Muad''Dib »

I have a feeling its not seeing the "spelling" folder. Are you sure you uploaded the spelling folder to the root of the forum directory?

Can you access the spelling folder and get the phpspell file to load with your browser?

You can test it by going to:

Code: Select all

http://<your domain name>/<forum directory name>/spelling/phpSpell.html
And are you sure you cleared / purged all the forum cache and template cache?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Requests”