Page 1 of 8

[REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 2:55 pm
by T50
I would love to see a spell check feature. I would prefer it to use Ispell software(I believe that is the name), since that is what my last forum needed to use it.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 6:51 pm
by smitjel
Just use Firefox2. Done. :D

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 7:31 pm
by T50
Can't use firefox2 only IE 6 or 7
Also, I want it available to all users on ANY browser.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 7:38 pm
by christhatsme
Nutzzy and spellingcow, whci hcould actually be used on any form, there was a specific phpbb2 version, but search spellingcow on google, and it will probably be quite easy to intregate into phpBB3

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 7:39 pm
by T50
the purpose of this request is so I don't have to do it!

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 7:40 pm
by christhatsme
Neither does anyone else ;)

I was just referencing so if anyone wanted to pick this up, their life wold be made easy.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 1:50 am
by oldlock
I too would really like to see a spell checking MOD ..

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:03 pm
by Veskit
Using the ACP, click on the styles tab, click on templates, for your favorite style click edit.

Scroll down and select overall header...

FIND
<script type="text/javascript">

BEFORE ADD
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.jacuba.com/service/checker/-/-/" defer="defer"></script>

For prosilver
FIND
<body id="phpbb" class="section-{SCRIPT_NAME} {S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}">

REPLACE WITH
<body id="phpbb" class="section-{SCRIPT_NAME} {S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}" onload="if (window.Jacuba) Jacuba.applyTo('element: TEXTAREA')">

For subsilver2
FIND
<body class="{S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}">

REPLACE WITH
<body class="{S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}" onload="if (window.Jacuba) Jacuba.applyTo('element: TEXTAREA')">


Click on submit at the bottom. You're done!!!! :D

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:16 pm
by christhatsme
with the spellingcow, you just include the file, thats it.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:25 pm
by Veskit
for phpBB2 sure, these people wanted something for phpBB3 right? I would rather have them add 2 lines of code then write a whole new php file for people too lazy to add 2 lines of code.

I was offering a solution, if you have a more elegant one, then go ahead and post it rather than criticize mine.

EDIT: Oh, BTW, mine has no ads ;)

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:04 pm
by ChaosBurnt
Is jacuba secure, I was concerned by the fact that their site states it takes over the input area, is this a security risk?
I would like to get a spellcheck sorted for one of my communites but spellingcow is definitely not suitable, ad-galore, total nightmare.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:38 pm
by jab843
Thankyou very much excellent modification.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:38 pm
by T50
I want it to be a button for speel check not automatic.

Also, I don't think editing EVERY style with a different service is the best.

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:00 pm
by MattJG77
i use phpspell on my phpBB2 forum. its been fantastic.

can some one convert this for phpBB3 please?

Re: [REQUEST] Spell Check Feature

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:07 pm
by vargo911
Veskit wrote:SNIP.....

Click on submit at the bottom. You're done!!!! :D
It works great, but one problem, some how it disabled my BCC codes,

Any suggestions???

Thanks