Add a top navigation menu bar

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Get Involved
teotrad
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:19 pm

Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by teotrad » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:07 am

Hi,

I just upgraded my 3.0.1 to 3.0.2. I want to know how do I add a top navigation menu bar such as the one similar to this forum? example......home about us downloads

User avatar
McMahon
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:54 pm

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by McMahon » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:38 am


teotrad
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:19 pm

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by teotrad » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:31 pm

Thanks,

Do you know is there any installation guide? I have no idea how to install. :(

User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 12088
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Raimon Meuldijk
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by Raimon » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:35 pm

Need phpBB installation, extenstions, Styles or integrate phpBB with you website?
Contact me for fair prices and good service!

N!pples
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:06 am

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by N!pples » Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:04 pm

Will this mod work with 3.0.8???

Thanks,
N!ps

connie0426
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:39 am

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by connie0426 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:19 pm

I tried to install the buttons_menu_mod2.2.0. when functions.php was installed, I get this messsage. what have I done wrong?


General Error2

SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Table 'lamkamto_php3.phpbb_menu_colors' doesn't exist [1146]

SQL

SELECT * FROM phpbb_menu_colors WHERE color_style_id = 1

BACKTRACE


FILE: [ROOT]/includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 175
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: [ROOT]/includes/functions.php
LINE: 4527
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

FILE: [ROOT]/index.php
LINE: 139
CALL: page_header()

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66492
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:40 pm

you did not do the database part of the MOD.
go back and read the instructions again and make sure you do everything that it tells you to.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

connie0426
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:39 am

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by connie0426 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:41 pm

I tried everything again and then tried to uninstall (actually I could choose the install button) the mod before I repeat the installation. However, the following message appears.


General Error

SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Table 'lamkamto_php3.phpbb_menu_buttons' doesn't exist [1146]

SQL

SHOW COLUMNS FROM phpbb_menu_buttons

BACKTRACE


FILE: [ROOT]/includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 175
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: [ROOT]/includes/db/db_tools.php
LINE: 1160
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

FILE: [ROOT]/includes/db/db_tools.php
LINE: 1182
CALL: phpbb_db_tools->sql_list_columns()

FILE: [ROOT]/umil/umil.php
LINE: 2206
CALL: phpbb_db_tools->sql_column_exists()

FILE: [ROOT]/umil/umil.php
LINE: 2289
CALL: umil_frontend->table_column_exists()

FILE: (not given by php)
LINE: (not given by php)
CALL: umil_frontend->table_column_remove()

FILE: [ROOT]/umil/umil.php
LINE: 547
CALL: call_user_func_array()

FILE: [ROOT]/umil/umil.php
LINE: 2280
CALL: umil_frontend->multicall()

FILE: (not given by php)
LINE: (not given by php)
CALL: umil_frontend->table_column_remove()

FILE: [ROOT]/umil/umil.php
LINE: 456
CALL: call_user_func()

FILE: [ROOT]/umil/umil_auto.php
LINE: 179
CALL: umil_frontend->run_actions()

FILE: [ROOT]/install_buttons_menu.php
LINE: 150
CALL: include('[ROOT]/umil/umil_auto.php')

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66492
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:46 pm

THis line in the error message:
Table 'lamkamto_php3.phpbb_menu_buttons' doesn't exist [1146]
means that you did not do this from the install instructions:
When the edits above are done browse to http://www.yoursite.com/install_buttons_menu.php . After running the installation remove install_buttons_menu.php file from your FTP. Then refresh the template, skin and imageset and purge the cache.Install script has created 5 different colors of menu. Blue color was assigned to your default style. If you have more then one active style or you dont want to use Blue color, you need to go to ACP - MODs - Buttons menu MOD and assign colors to all your styles.
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by WWu777 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:47 am

But how was the menu bar at the top of this phpbb support forum created? Using this mod too?

http://phpbbmodders.net/board/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=2910

It looks great. Is there any easy way to create it?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by WWu777 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:51 am

The download link to the mod to add menu bars is broken. Is there an updated downloaded link? I'm referring to this link:

http://www.phpbb3hacks.com/viewtopic.php?t=527

It was posted on the page given in this thread:

http://phpbbmodders.net/board/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=2910

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66492
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:31 pm

not clear what you are asking for. that menu MOD listed on that page is the same one that you get from here.

the menu that is on that page is not the same one you get from here or the same one that the topic on that page is about.

which menu do you want, the one that topic is about or the actual menu that the page there is using?


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by WWu777 » Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:00 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:not clear what you are asking for. that menu MOD listed on that page is the same one that you get from here.

the menu that is on that page is not the same one you get from here or the same one that the topic on that page is about.

which menu do you want, the one that topic is about or the actual menu that the page there is using?


robert
I mean the menu that the OP asked for. The menu bar similar to the one that phpbb support forum uses. The next person posted a link that contains a broken download link. So you cannot download that mod anymore. I mean this one:

http://phpbbmodders.net/board/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=2910

It contains a broken download link so you cannot download the mod anymore that creates a menu bar like this site uses. What to do? Why are so many basic links broken here?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66492
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:34 am

phpbbmodders and phpbb3hacks have nothing to do with this site.

if you want the menu button MOD for a 3.0 board, it is right here:
viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2330071

It is not validated but it does work just fine. it is not responsive but your 3.0 board is not responsive anyway.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a top navigation menu bar

Post by WWu777 » Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:07 pm

Dear Support,
I found this simple HTML code for creating a horizontal navigation menu with colors. Will it work with my phpbb forum? It looks like part of the code goes into the header tags and the other part with the links goes into the body tags. Will there be any conflict with the coding of the prosilver template if I put this code into the overall header file? Also, do I need to include that "DOCTYPE html" part at the beginning?

http://www.w3schools.com/css/tryit.asp? ... l_dividers

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<style>
ul {
    list-style-type: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    overflow: hidden;
    background-color: #336699;
}

li {
    float: left;
    border-right:1px solid #bbb;
}

li:last-child {
    border-right: none;
}

li a {
    display: block;
    color: white;
    text-align: center;
    padding: 12px 13px;
    text-decoration: none;
}

li a:hover:not(.active) {
    background-color: #FF9933;
}

.active {
    background-color: #336699;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<ul>
  <li><a href="#home">Home</a></li>
  <li><a href="#news">Articles</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Blog</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Ebooks</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Podcasts</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Photos</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Videos</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Forum</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">Personals</a></li>
  <li><a href="#contact">About Us</a></li>
</ul>

</body>
</html>

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”