back ground image not working need help on logo [resolved]

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Anti-Spam Guide
User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

back ground image not working need help on logo [resolved]

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:57 pm

please help me on changing the logo for the new posts no new posts ect
Last edited by spyro567 on Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by Tom » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:28 pm

Try this instead:

Code: Select all

body {
/* Text-Sizing with ems: http://www.clagnut.com/blog/348/ */
font-family: "Lucida Grande", Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
color: #000;
background: #476686 url(http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/spyrothedragon/images/7/73/Spyro.jpg);
font-size: 10px;
margin: 0;
padding: 0 5px;
}
As for the "new post" and "no new post" icons, upload your desired replacement images to the styles/etech/imageset/ folder. Then, open the file styles/etech/imageset/imageset.cfg and find this:

Code: Select all

img_topic_read = topic_read.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_mine = topic_read_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_hot = topic_read_hot.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_hot_mine = topic_read_hot_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_locked = topic_read_locked.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_locked_mine = topic_read_locked_mine.gif*27*27

img_topic_unread = topic_unread.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_mine = topic_unread_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_hot = topic_unread_hot.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_hot_mine = topic_unread_hot_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_locked = topic_unread_locked.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_locked_mine = topic_unread_locked_mine.gif*27*27
Edit the respective details above for each image you replaced with the proper filename and image dimensions. The filenames are listed first in each, followed by the width and the height of the image separated by asterisks ( * ).

So, for example, if you want to replace the "no new posts" icon, upload your replacement image to the styles/etech/imageset/ directory; then find where it says img_topic_unread = topic_unread.gif*27*27 in the imageset.cfg file (as shown above) and change the original details to the correct details for the image you are replacing it with. Hopefully my instructions are clear. ;)
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:41 pm

no this did not work

body {
/* Text-Sizing with ems: http://www.clagnut.com/blog/348/ */
font-family: "Lucida Grande", Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
color: #000;
background: #476686 url(http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/spyro ... /Spyro.jpg);
font-size: 10px;
margin: 0;
padding: 0 5px;
}

User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:46 pm

as for the logo for the new posts no new posts i dont follow

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by Tom » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:51 pm

spyro567 wrote:no this did not work
Oh really? That's funny, because I'm looking at your forum right now and I see that background displayed clearly. It's just mostly hidden because the eTech style you're using doesn't have much margin space around the page where a background can be visible.
spyro567 wrote:as for the logo for the new posts no new posts i dont follow
I don't know how else to explain it to you. Do you have the images ready with which you want to replace the current "new posts", etc. icons?
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:55 pm

ok i dont expect the background to behind the fourm

yes i have the logos ready to be upload to the fourm

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by Tom » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:03 pm

spyro567 wrote:ok i dont expect the background to behind the fourm
Then you're trying to change the wrong background. I think you meant to change the background here in stylesheet.css:

Code: Select all

#contentrow {
	padding: 5px;
	background-color: #EDF0F5;
}
Replace that with:

Code: Select all

#contentrow {
	padding: 5px;
	background: #476686 url(http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/spyrothedragon/images/7/73/Spyro.jpg);
}
I think that's what you meant.
spyro567 wrote:yes i have the logos ready to be upload to the fourm
Did you name them the same as the images that they are going to replace? For example, for the replacement image that you have for "no new posts", did you name it topic_read.gif or did you name it something else?
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:07 pm

i dont know where to go in imageset or if you meant something else

As for the "new post" and "no new post" icons, upload your desired replacement images to the styles/etech/imageset/ folder. Then, open the file styles/etech/imageset/imageset.cfg and find this:

CODE: SELECT ALL
img_topic_read = topic_read.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_mine = topic_read_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_hot = topic_read_hot.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_hot_mine = topic_read_hot_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_locked = topic_read_locked.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_locked_mine = topic_read_locked_mine.gif*27*27

img_topic_unread = topic_unread.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_mine = topic_unread_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_hot = topic_unread_hot.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_hot_mine = topic_unread_hot_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_locked = topic_unread_locked.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_locked_mine = topic_unread_locked_mine.gif*27*27

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by Tom » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:13 pm

spyro567 wrote:i dont know where to go in imageset or if you meant something else
Just upload your replacement images to the following directory: styles/etech/imageset/

In the imageset.cfg file, I quoted a list of all the images that are used as topic icons (the ones you want to replace). After you upload the replacement images to the directory, like I said above, then you just have to edit the information in the imageset.cfg file for each image that you replaced. So, upload the images to the specified directory, then edit imageset.cfg and look for the images that you want to replace, then change the file name for each image to the file name of the image that you just uploaded as the replacement.
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:15 pm

ok my fourm has just gone wired when i uploaded that back ground

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working

Post by Tom » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:20 pm

spyro567 wrote:ok my fourm has just gone wired when i uploaded that back ground
In your CSS you have this:

Code: Select all

}#contentrow {
   padding: 5px;
   background: #476686 url(http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/spyrothedragon/images/7/73/Spyro.jpg);

}
There is an extra } bracket in there that is causing a problem. Replace that with this:

Code: Select all

#contentrow {
   padding: 5px;
   background: #476686 url("http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/spyrothedragon/images/7/73/Spyro.jpg");
}
Try that and tell me how it goes.
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
spyro567
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working [resolved] need help on lo

Post by spyro567 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:42 pm

back ground working thanks

i just cant find this what so ever

CODE: SELECT ALL
img_topic_read = topic_read.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_mine = topic_read_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_hot = topic_read_hot.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_hot_mine = topic_read_hot_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_locked = topic_read_locked.gif*27*27
img_topic_read_locked_mine = topic_read_locked_mine.gif*27*27

img_topic_unread = topic_unread.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_mine = topic_unread_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_hot = topic_unread_hot.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_hot_mine = topic_unread_hot_mine.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_locked = topic_unread_locked.gif*27*27
img_topic_unread_locked_mine = topic_unread_locked_mine.gif*27*27

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working [resolved] need help on lo

Post by Tom » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:47 pm

spyro567 wrote:i just cant find this what so ever
Did you look for it in the styles/etech/imageset/imageset.cfg file? By the way, the 27's should actually be 18's because of the eTech style, so look for this instead:

Code: Select all

img_topic_read = topic_read.gif*18*18
img_topic_read_mine = topic_read_mine.gif*18*18
img_topic_read_hot = topic_read.gif*18*18
img_topic_read_hot_mine = topic_read_mine.gif*18*18
img_topic_read_locked = topic_read_locked.gif*18*18
img_topic_read_locked_mine = topic_read_locked_mine.gif*18*18

img_topic_unread = topic_unread.gif*18*18
img_topic_unread_mine = topic_unread_mine.gif*18*18
img_topic_unread_hot = topic_unread.gif*18*18
img_topic_unread_hot_mine = topic_unread_mine.gif*18*18
img_topic_unread_locked = topic_unread_locked.gif*18*18
img_topic_unread_locked_mine = topic_unread_locked_mine.gif*18*18
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66565
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working [resolved] need help on lo

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:48 pm

that is in a file named "imageset.cfg" inside the imageset folder for your style.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
SeeinStripes
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Name: Shawn
Contact:

Re: back ground image not working need help on logo [resolve

Post by SeeinStripes » Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:28 am

Dusting off an old one, I know. I am having a somewhat similar issue with my etech format. I was able to edit the images fine in subsilver2 using the admin panel styles>imageset, but in etech, it doesn't seem to carry some of the post icons to edit their size. If I pull up the .cfg file in filezilla/notepad and look at it, everything is set at the default size although I have made changes through the admin panel that are working fine on the icons that were available to change in the dropdown. I guess my question is how to change the size of the icons that aren't available in the admin panel when it seems as though the .cfg file remains unchanged even after changes are made and tested working through admin panel? I'm pretty retarded, so go slow on me. Thanks, Shawn.
Shawn McNew

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”