Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Get Involved
Locked
dreamgrowers
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:54 am

Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by dreamgrowers » Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:07 am

How would I create a banner/header and menu like this site?

I've installed the software and browsed the Admin Control Panel, but cannot seem to find a place to create a menu system and pages that are about the forum....but not the forum. Similar to this site for example. ;)

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:15 pm

This is done using this:
http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/add-a-n ... -to-phpbb/
luck,
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

dreamgrowers
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:54 am

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by dreamgrowers » Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:51 am

Well, I've read through this and what I'd like to do is have the same logo banner (although substituting my own) and menu system with search to the right.

Basically from About | to | Hosting | to Search and above.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:41 pm

I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by WWu777 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:23 am

The mod linked from phpbb3hacks doesn't work. And phpbb3hacks seems to be done. Is there another link for that mod or a similar one?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:06 pm

If you want the buttons menu MOD for phpbb 3.0 I have a copy of it here:
http://phpbbace.com/support/buttons_menu_MOD_2.3.0.zip

this MOD will create a menu like the one here at phpbb.com.
it only works on phpbb 3.0 boards.
not on 3.1 boards


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by WWu777 » Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:08 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:If you want the buttons menu MOD for phpbb 3.0 I have a copy of it here:
http://phpbbace.com/support/buttons_menu_MOD_2.3.0.zip

this MOD will create a menu like the one here at phpbb.com.
it only works on phpbb 3.0 boards.
not on 3.1 boards


robert
Thanks. But what if I install that and then use the automatic upgrade tool to upgrade to phpbb 3.1? Will the mod automatically carry over and work with phpbb 3.1?

What about all the other mods on my forum? Will they work too or break after upgrading to phpbb 3.1? That's what I'm worried about. If mods from phpbb 3.0 don't work with 3.1, then I will have many problems that I don't know how to fix. Or I'd have to remove the mods.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:36 am

none of the MODs for 3.0 will work in 3.1. the upgrade process normally requires all new files except for the config.php file so you will not have any of the old 3.0 files left anyway. you also have to remove all the old MODs from the database prior to running the 3.1 upgrade.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by WWu777 » Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:04 am

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:If you want the buttons menu MOD for phpbb 3.0 I have a copy of it here:
http://phpbbace.com/support/buttons_menu_MOD_2.3.0.zip

this MOD will create a menu like the one here at phpbb.com.
it only works on phpbb 3.0 boards.
not on 3.1 boards

robert
Hi Robert,
I finished installing your mod above. But when I ran the installation file, as instructed, here:

http://www.happierabroad.com/forum/inst ... s_menu.php

I got this error message:

Code: Select all

General Error
Please download the latest UMIL (Unified MOD Install Library) from: phpBB.com/mods/umil

BACKTRACE

FILE: (not given by php)
LINE: (not given by php)
CALL: msg_handler()

FILE: [ROOT]/install_buttons_menu.php
LINE: 29
CALL: trigger_error()
You can click on the link above and see. What does it mean? What went wrong? I followed everything to the T.

Here are the instructions I followed if you want to see them:

http://www.happierabroad.com/forum/install_mod.xml

Any idea? Thanks.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Jul 08, 2016 10:06 pm

the error tells you what to do. download that zip file, unzip it. upload the umil folder to the board root.
run that install file again.


currently, I am getting a strange error at your site, not the one you showed here.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by WWu777 » Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:04 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:the error tells you what to do. download that zip file, unzip it. upload the umil folder to the board root.
run that install file again.


currently, I am getting a strange error at your site, not the one you showed here.


robert
I removed that file from my forum server. That link didn't tell me much. So I just download some package from it and upload it and my mods will work? What is that? I don't want to install too much stuff. It might slow down my forum.

WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by WWu777 » Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:05 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:none of the MODs for 3.0 will work in 3.1. the upgrade process normally requires all new files except for the config.php file so you will not have any of the old 3.0 files left anyway. you also have to remove all the old MODs from the database prior to running the 3.1 upgrade.


robert
What if I don't remember which mods I installed? Do "mods" include hacks I made to the coding script? Or do you mean mods that involve adding new files? Is there way for me to find all mods that I installed?

Do you mean only the mods that involved changing the database?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:24 pm

the old files will not matter because you will not be using them at all.

the database changes/additions for different MODs is what will need to be undone.

you can use the Support Toolkit and run the database cleaner to remove any and all changes that have been made by MODs to the database.

you should do that before you upgrade.

best way to upgrade to 3.1:


Upgrading from phpbb 3.0.x to phpbb 3.1.x
  • Your server must be running at least PHP 5.3.3 and less than PHP 7
  • Most MODs for 3.0.x are incompatible with 3.1.x and their functionality will be removed in the update process.
  • Styles for 3.0.x cannot be installed or used on 3.1.x.
  1. Backup up your board's files and database
  2. Download the Support Toolkit. Install it and run the database cleaner to remove all old MODs from the database.
  3. Deactivate all styles except for prosilver
  4. Ensure that the activated spambot countermeasure is one of the standard phpBB plugins (Simple image, GD image, GD 3D image, Q&A, reCaptacha).
  5. Set British English as the only language pack
  6. Delete all of your phpBB 3.0.x files EXCEPT for the following:
    • The config.php file
    • The /images/ directory
    • The /files/ directory
  7. Upload the contents of the phpBB3 directory from the uncompressed 3.1.x Full Package (EXCEPT for config.php) into your forum's directory (Note: you don't want to overwrite your original config.php file)
  8. Browse to yourdomain.com/yourphpbb/install/database_update.php and keep clicking the continue button until it says it is finished. This will take a long time on a large board, maybe hours. Dont give up.
  9. Delete the folder named /install/
  10. Hold one foot in the air and spin around in a circle three times saying "I am a phpbb guru".
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating a banner/header and menu like this site

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:29 pm

double post....oops
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”